We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”
Review of Chapter One

Chapter One
Ranked #2 of 2,574 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $147
Cuisines: European, French, Irish, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Wow! This was one of,the best meals we have ever had. We had the 4 course dinner which was delicious and creative. The host Declan was very friendly and the whole experience lovely. The lamb dish was a highlight.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,823 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,405
    254
    106
    36
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Exquisite Experience”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

When I was looking for a place to host a monumental birthday celebration for my husband while we were in Dublin, I decided on the Chef's Table at Chapter One and I have to say, it was nothing short of superb in all ways!!

From the moment we were greeted by the wonderful Martin at the front door and led to the table, we knew that we were in for something special. Chef Ross Lewis, Chef Andy and their team of fabulous artisans work together in a kitchen ballet that is a sight to behold. Their presentation of the tasting menu is fine artwork on a plate canvas. Each course was expertly explained and questions patiently answered. Katerina, our server, was equally versed in the food courses and wines.

Needless to say, my husband and our friends were thrilled. It was one of the best meals we have ever had.

This is a must on your agenda when you are traveling to Dublin. GO! You won't be sorry!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tinker349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lunch - Best Bargin in Town!!”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We enjoyed a two-course lunch for 29.99euro at this One-Star Michelin Restaurant that will not be forgotten for a long time!!! We arrived just before 2pm but still had a relaxed, delicious lunch - never being rushed!! Husband was thrilled with his Rabbit Terrine and Hot Pot of Pork while I completely enjoyed my White Asparagus soup and Roast Salt Marsh Duck. Our bottle of Bordeaux wine was carefully decanted and truly enjoyed!!! A true hidden gem in Dublin!!!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank FotoPeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“If you visit Dublin, you have to eat here”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

This was our best dining experience in Ireland, and one of the best anywhere. Best advice is to order the tasting menu -- perfectly paced and perfectly proportioned -- and get the wine parings. Every course was superb, and the service was outstanding. The bill was quite reasonable for a Michelin-starred restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TrainTraveler91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

We ate here recently while on holiday in Dublin. We booked in advance for a pre-theatre dinner, and on arrival were glad that we had done so as it was already filling up at 6pm. The staff were all very friendly and attentive; one in particular thanked us for choosing to eat there and also thanked other diners. We were seated next to a larger group with a Trinity College graduate, and overheard him congratulating the graduate and telling her it was an honour that she had chosen to celebrate there; a nice touch. A range of three different breads was provided to start with, which meant you were trying new things before even starting the meal. We both enjoyed all our courses, and found them to be a really interesting combination of flavours. My husband is a big eater and sometimes finds the portions a bit small when we go to fine dining restaurants, but he commented that the portion sizes at Chapter One were just right; you got to the end of three courses feeling satisfied but not uncomfortably full. We wouldn't hesitate to go back there if we go back to Dublin, and would recommend it to anyone we knew who was going.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlisonC070877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chapter One also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Chapter One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing