We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Superb in every way!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chapter One

Chapter One
Ranked #3 of 2,385 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $147
Cuisines: Irish, European, Vegetarian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Superb in every way!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

A somewhat delayed review - took my Wife to Chapter One as part of a surprise weekend to Dublin for her Birthday. From start to finish, it was a wonderful experience. The staff were attentive and friendly, the service excellent, the food out of this world!!! I could not fault this restaurant - and our weekend got off to a wonderful start - (and don't miss the Irish Coffee which is the best you will EVER have!!!) A big thank you !!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,085
    203
    87
    32
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Really intriguing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We picked Chapter One with the help of the Michelin Guide and weren't disappointed at all. On the contrary, both service and dinner were excellent. We we warmheartedly welcomed and felt at home from the beginning to the end. At Chapter One they do know what a Michelin-starred restaurant is about and obviously they're not resting on their laurels. Especially the warm and friendly service at this restaurant made us fall in love with Ireland and the Irish. We're coming back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Denis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What a treat for foodies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Our meal was Sooo good and special.salad of salted cherries was so fresh. Poached smoked haddock to follow. Smoked loin of pork was succulent and warm chocolate mousse was to die for.
All served with Penfold wines specially selected. We were expertly served by wonderful staff.
Well worth getting a booking . You may have to be patient as always busy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
385 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Good place for a dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This restaurant is located at the top of O'Connell street away from Dublin "Centre" though it is only 20 minutes walk from the Trinity College. I chose it for a reasonable (for Michelin starred restaurant) price for pre-theatre dinner (EUR 36.50 per person) which they serve from the moment they open (5:30pm) until 7:40pm.

When we arrived we were promptly ushered to our table, menus were produced and drinks order was taken. I had smoked salmon with crab meat, Cushion of veal and the Raspberries with merengue, sorbet and panacotta for the desert.
What can I say - quality food very well presented, on par with other one star restaurants. The highlight of the dinner was actually a dessert which was fantastic. Salmon starter was very good. Veal was cooked like a steak, was at the dry side of the range and was quite bland - hence rating one notch below excellent.
Service was expedient and we were done in about an hour.

They have quite nice service for people having reservations to the nearby theatre - during the dinner they collect reservations, go to box office to get tickets and bring them back to the table - nice gesture.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank avsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“This place is very special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Set in an unlikely part of Dublin for such a quality restaurant, Chapter One is really something special and well worth the trip across the Liffey.

I was there with a group of customers for a business dinner recently - my first time - and found the experience to be first class. I was the last of my group to enter the restaurant, and as I did I heard a booming voice welcome everyone. It was rather like the welcome from a character at a theme park greeting a group of eager children. The co-owner Martin Corbett is your guide for the evening and leaves you in no doubt that you can leave your worries at the door, for you are in very good hands.

Every item on the menu is explained and recommendations made, and while the menu is straight forward to understand, our group hung on Martin's every descriptive word. He told stories about the building, once the home of the Jameson family, the ballroom of romance next door and the writer's museum above us. He also took some time to explain to me the painting of the Queen of England's visit to Ireland which hangs on the wall. Chapter One were the 'caterers' for that state meal.

It goes without saying that the food and service are impeccable, the staff are knowledgeable and friendly and attention to detail is just what it should be in a fine restaurant.

For a business dinner, costs were at least comparable with other high end restaurants and I felt we got good value for money.

I would highly recommend Chapter One. It's a special place, with great food. But perhaps because of Martin, it's a great experience too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Conor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chapter One also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Chapter One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing