We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You will not be disappointed”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chapter One

Chapter One
Ranked #2 of 2,545 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $147
Cuisines: Irish, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dublin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“You will not be disappointed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

It's fantastic. Lovely attention to detail in an atmospheric setting; excellent service and the food never disappoints. You need to book way in advance but it is worth trying for a cancellation. A place to go for celebrations. I have been there about 5 times over the years.

Helpful?
1 Thank Trapanitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,768 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,362
    245
    104
    35
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
IRELAND
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Amazing meal! WOW!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

My mother and I went here for a pre-theatre meal before going to a play in the Gate. It's is perfectly situated just around the corner from the theatre.
From the moment we entered the restaurant to the moment we exited we were treated like VIPs. A very warm thank you to all the really lovely staff who helped to make this night so special for us.
We had a fabulous menu to choose from, if I am not mistaken there is a choice of four starters, mains and desserts. Each one sounded delicious and what we chose certainly was! The food is incredible! There were two things we really liked about it: there wasn't a fussiness about the food/descriptions on the menu and we did not have that awful 'full' feeling after the three courses. The portions are perfectly sized.
There is a lovely vibe in the restaurant. It is very relaxing and comfortable.
I really hope I get to dine here again as it was one of the most fantastic meals either of us ever had.
I would highly, highly recommend Chapter One to anyone.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PIPTYPIBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
206 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Okay dining experience but much better value to get had elsewhere. Chose this restaurant for a graduation largely based on the good reviews this place has received. However, it was generally a little disappointing experience. We were kept waiting over 30 minutes for our table which was very disappointing. The day before we were told that our reservation was being moved to 8.45 which was later than we had originally booked. However, after we said we were not too happy about this, they told us that they could accommodate us at 8.15. However, when we arrived we were kept waiting until 8.45 which I thought was extremely unprofessional and very unsatisfactory. However, the pluses include nice welcoming hosts and waiter. Liked the tour of the restaurant at the end. Food was generally nice, with dessert being great. However, there were a number of things which was disappointing for the standard of restaurant. They ran out of bread at the start and said that they would come back with more. However, they never did until we had to ask for more. Also, it was disappointing to have to ask for more water a number of times as well as more butter, etc. Service was pretty slow. For example, they brought the milk and sugar for the tea about 15 minutes before they brought the actual tea. Also, one or two of their staff didn’t seem to have sufficient training. For example, when pouring drinks at the bar on a number of occasions they grabbed the glass by the top i.e. placed their fingers from where you drink. On another occasion, when making coffee, I saw them blowing on the coffee in order to get the decoration/powder right. For a restaurant of this standard, I was very disappointed by this- couldn’t have been very hygienic to say the least! Also, we were overcharged with the bill (we got two vegetarian meals which were €10 cheaper than the standard dinner menu but we were charged the normal dinner menu price). As it was embarrassing to ask them to correct this, we let it slide. All the above aside, it is a reasonably nice dining experience but I would recommend you to save your money and go elsewhere.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank theirishleprechaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great 52 wedding anniversary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had the chiefs table...great people, wonderful food and wine, super surroundings. It was our anniversary, our son and daughter-in-law gave this to us for Christmas and were with us...what a treat! Multi courses and wonderful wine parreings...not over done or pretentious. It's worth the money...a real splurge and treat.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bobanddalebates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Omg. What a great night.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Food fantastic, what a great night the place was buzzing.it was a bit pricey, but worth it.Then again I wasn't paying, best 2nd date ever.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank June5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chapter One also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Chapter One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing