We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“heavenly food”
Review of Chapter One

Chapter One
Ranked #2 of 2,616 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $147
Cuisines: European, French, Irish, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
dublin
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“heavenly food”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

the food here is exceptional but it does come however with a high price tag unless of course you go for the pre-theatre menu which is good value for exceptional food.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank rusticnote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,876 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,446
    262
    109
    37
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great meal friendly staff”
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Great meal with innovative dishes such as stuffed pigs tail (as well as more conventional dishes). For the calibre of restaurant the meal was very reasonably priced. The matching wine recommendations were great. If I return to Dublin I'll be eating here again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, New Jersey, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing meal in Dublin”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Most people think of fish n chips and Bangers and Mash when they think of Dublin, but Chapter One is a high-end and high quality restaurant with a flare of french mixed in with Irish. The ambiance is very chic with wonderful art work on the walls.

The food was incredible...perfectly cooked and with perfect portions. We opted for the four course meal and every course was better than the first. In particularly, I had stuffed pig tails that was truly memorable.

The managers were also very engaging where we had a long talk about the difference between Irish restaurants and NYC. Great experience.

If you're in Dublin for a visit, don't miss Chapter One. While I was told it was difficult to make reservations, we went on a Wednesday night and I made the reservations about two weeks in advance without any problems.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A-M-A-ZING”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Excellent food at a reasonable price, friendly staff and a nice location which is close to the theatres. Very deserving of its Michelin star. Has unusual dishes (chestnut soup) and twists on classics (buttermilk mash potatoes)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“not impressed at all”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

don't get me wrong, food was good, service was better and the wines were excellent.
the vote is low because given the reputation of the restaurant, the awards it received (and the price you pay), you expect to be impressed.
Well, this did not happen once during a four course dinner.
Maybe I have been unlucky in my selection, but this is the exact point: you should not have wrong courses in a restaurant of this level.
Nowadays you can find better places to eat in Dublin, with less name but more creativity

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank luisianus c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chapter One also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Chapter One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing