We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Chapter One

Chapter One
Ranked #2 of 2,616 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $147
Cuisines: European, French, Irish, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Great staff and great atmosphere, we were talked through the menu with some real theatre, but the general feeling was the meal came up short. Main courses all round were the saviour of the evening but would we go back the next time we are in Dublin? I am really not sure.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,876 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,446
    262
    109
    37
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Castlebar, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Went for lunch here recently and it was very very good. Its a three course meal with tea and coffee for 36 euro. Great value for such good food and service. The dining rooms are very well appointed, elegant yet reserved and the staff, of which there are plenty are very professional but very pleasant. The food is wonderful too. Although it is a "value" menu, there are plenty of options on each course and everything we ate was of the highest quality. The winner for me was the Foie Gras parfait, while my wife's favourite were the prunes soaked in earl grey tea with orange marscapone cream. It may not be cheap, and its not something you would do every week, but considering the quality of food, the service and the setting, it is well worth a visit. Overall a really good experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank r b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“FAB!”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We went here for lunch on Valentines Day and had a wonderful experience. Food was amazing, service was exceptional and atmosphere was excellent

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CLG98765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb restaurant”
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Visited here before Xmas whilst on a short break and we where treated to a truly outstanding dinner.

Exceptional cooking, wine and service delivered with knowledge and great hospitality all round.

Though expensive we enjoyed value for money and would highly recommend this restaurant, hope to return sometime in the future.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johnnyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An Overall Great Experience”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

For the moment you ring the door bell you feel like a special dinner guest. The food was amazing and the wine list had something for everyone. I will definitely be back. At the end of our dinner we even got a tour of the kitchen.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ksquare8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chapter One also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Chapter One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing