We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best food I have ever tasted and amazing friendly staff!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chameleon Restaurant

Chameleon Restaurant
Ranked #106 of 2,529 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Description: Chameleon in Temple Bar is an intimate, ambient restaurant that specialises in Indonesian rice-table. Rice table (or rijst-tafel) is when the diner is served an array of sumptuous different dishes, at the same time, from confit of pork belly with star anise to free range chicken satay to our delicious desserts, all made in-house! Its almost like Indonesian tapas!Since opening in 1994, its owners, husband and wife team, Carol & Kevin have made a point in using as much locally sourced Irish produce as possible, including only using free range Irish chicken and locally caught, seasonal Irish fish.Chameleon is ideal for a romantic get together or indeed, for your birthday party or Christmas party, as they can cater for groups of up to 40 in our private dining rooms.Winning may awards over the years in 2013 the Chameleon was voted Best World Cuisine in Ireland by the highly acclaimed Restaurants Association of Ireland
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best food I have ever tasted and amazing friendly staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

The best vegetarian food I have ever tasted. Super efficient and friendly staff, made us feel warm and fuzzy. I will definitely be going back and I will definitely be recommending!

A birthday surprise from my husband proved to be one of the most memorable I have ever had! After a stressful and long trip to Dublin that lasted over 6 hours in traffic delays and late arrival to the restaurant we were immediately welcomed and made at ease on arrival and treated to 2 glasses of Prosecco on the house! We were even reassured that we could have the table for the whole night! The vegetarian sharing platters were so delicious, wine recommendation so delicious. The manager was so friendly and professional and every ask was catered for, made us feel warm and fuzzy, staff were so friendly and service amazing! Looking forward to another visit to the Chameleon restaurant in the near future.

Helen, Cork

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HelenO114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    433
    147
    52
    25
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Some of the best food I've ever had...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

Visited here after reading some other positive reviews. We were not disappointed.

Sat downstairs and ordered some dishes from the Asian tapas menu 'spicebar' - literally every dish (7 in total) was presented beautifully and tasted amazing.

Would struggle to recommend any single thing because each thing I tried was as good as the last, the meal was just superb, and I can't fault it.

Great friendly atmosphere in here too, staff were pleasant and attentive.

Long story short, best food you'll get in Dublin, don't miss it.

Helpful?
Thank Paula_8181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“So unique!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

My first experience with Indonesian cuisine and I was pleasantly surprised! We got a number of dishes and all split on a casual Thursday night. Would be a great date night! The service was amazing, I would definitely suggests a trip there!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ganserk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kippax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“What a find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

In Dublin for a brief buainess trip and with 2 colleagues headed to the ubiquitous Temple Bar. After a couple of pints if the black stuff, we referred to Trip Advisor for ideas where to eat and located Chameleon just round the corner.

You would never beleive you'd find auch a place in Temple Bar, very compact, but didn't feel crowded, would have loves to teu the 'Opium Table' if they'd been a few more of us.

The concept is great and I've never experienced Asian Tapas, but with the aid from the very friemdly staff we soon figured out the concept and placed our orders.

On arrival, the food was excellent, definitely a place where the bigger the party the more differentr dishes you can try.

Would not hesitate to recommend, and the price at 109 euros for 3 was very reasonable.

Helpful?
Thank AdrianJMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

We found this wonderful little restaurant after a search through the internet for something just a little bit "different" and ate here on a very busy Saturday night. Having neglected to book in advance we did have to wait some time for a table but this is no great hardship with all the pubs in this area and when we did eventually get our table it was well worth waiting for. The Indonesian themed food served in a tapas style is absolutely delicious, with every little dish a masterpiece of preparation and presentation, staff are extremely friendly and service impeccable. We would highly recommend The Chameleon and if in Dublin again will certainly return for another treat.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kendo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chameleon Restaurant also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Chameleon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing