We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious, a must do restaurant in Dublin”

Chameleon Restaurant
Ranked #130 of 2,638 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $36
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Description: Chameleon in Temple Bar is an intimate, ambient restaurant that specialises in Indonesian rice-table (set menus) as well as a large selection of tapas dishes with the flavours of South East Asia, from Javanese short rib to our super tasty steamed bao to free range chicken satay to our delicious desserts, all made in-house! Since opening in 1994, its owners, husband and wife team, Carol & Kevin have made a point in using as much locally sourced Irish produce as possible, including only using free range Irish chicken and locally caught, seasonal Irish fish.Chameleon is ideal for a romantic get together or indeed, for your birthday party or Christmas party, as they can cater for groups of up to 40 in our private dining rooms. 100 Best Restaurants in Ireland 2013 - 2017
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The service was excellent, the staff is absolutely charming and friendly. The small rooms with the sitting areas set a really cozy mood in the all restaurant that makes your meal really feel different. We took 2 menus with 7 dishes and everyone of those dishes was excellent. A great place to relax after a day walking through Dublin, discovering the city.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PAPioch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol W, Owner at Chameleon Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Many thanks for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your meal and service, we hope you visit us again when next in Dublin and please feel free to tell any friends who may visit the City.

Thanks again.
Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (730)
There are newer reviews for Chameleon Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

457 - 461 of 730 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is a small and cozy restaurant. My husband and I came a little early in for our reservation so we sat at the bar and had a cocktail before dinner. The service was outstanding, very friendly and welcoming. We had one of their dinner menus, set menu of 7 courses, which was outstanding altogether.

Thank JensinaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

went here with a lot of friends, the party's size alone made it hard to think that it could be done, but they pulled it off without no problems. We were seated in different arrangements, myself on cushions with low tables (which for a man, can be a challenging thing, I am not that flexible). But I spent 4 hours on those cushions an had a great time (no cramps). The food is really nice and well prepared and close to the indonesian rijstaffel (we had rijstaffel). The condiments makes it possible to spice it up as you wish. Especially the curry and the noodles were really good, but the other dishes were good too. I would recomend the rijstaffel in any form. And certainly if you are in dublin and get tired of the Pub scene, this is a much welcome break from this.
The staff is very helpfull, and serviceminded, and should you consider them for larger events I would certainly recomend them for theese as well.

Thank Havdruptraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol W, Owner at Chameleon Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Many thanks for your kind review and we love to cater for large groups as we can really do our best to make the experience memorable expecially a friendly adventurious group like yours.

Warm regards
Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

The staff were very helpful, the pork belly dish was so good, we ordered a second portion. Overall, food was very good. however, the vegetable selection seemed to be mainly cabbage and the noodles tasted 'Chinese.' True, it was very crowded and cramped, but we enjoyed the whole experience. Would definitely recommend to visitors who want to try food other than pub grub!

Thank crossroadsdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol W, Owner at Chameleon Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Thank you for your review we appreciate that you take the time to write about us. Yes, indeed the building is small, it is a couple hundred years old, and we decided not to gut it and take the personality away. We are delighted you loved the slow cooked pork belly. We are constantly working on dishes and would have more vegetable selection on the vegetarian or vegan Rijst-tafel.
Thanks again.
Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This is for people who are supposed to like sharing yet the portions are not large enough to share. Food is alright. If you are there as a couple at a two seater table good luck!... Almost impossible to fit the numerous plates onto it and you are constantly straining to hand plates over to one another and makes the whole meal really tiresome and annoying. Food goes cold very quickly while you are trying the 5 to 7 options given. Only two will fit on the hot plate taking up the middle of the table. A bit of a gimmick really. Over rated and certainly not value for money. Wine and beer list way over priced. Service was polite but not attentive. Left waiting for things on too many occasions.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank IL_TIPO_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol W, Owner at Chameleon Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

I think you had Rijst-tafel which does consist of 7 or more dishes, we have been making Rijst-tafels for 19 years now, hardly a gimmick, we make everything from scratch all our own pastes and sauces and use only Irish free range and sustainable meats. We also serve the dishes in Tapas style on the ground floor/bar area which are less expensive and you can order one or two dishes.
Apologies, that the service was not attentive I will talk with my team. If you would like to contact me directly to see if we can redeem ourselves.

Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chameleon Restaurant also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Chameleon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing