We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must in Dublin”

Chameleon Restaurant
Ranked #99 of 2,595 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Description: Chameleon in Temple Bar is an intimate, ambient restaurant that specialises in Indonesian rice-table (set menus) as well as a large selection of tapas dishes with the flavours of South East Asia, from Javanese short rib to our super tasty steamed bao to free range chicken satay to our delicious desserts, all made in-house! Since opening in 1994, its owners, husband and wife team, Carol & Kevin have made a point in using as much locally sourced Irish produce as possible, including only using free range Irish chicken and locally caught, seasonal Irish fish.Chameleon is ideal for a romantic get together or indeed, for your birthday party or Christmas party, as they can cater for groups of up to 40 in our private dining rooms. 100 Best Restaurants in Ireland 2013 - 2017
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Must in Dublin”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had just finished a tour and we soon noticed most pups stop serving food at 10pm. We asked the hotel (The Morrison) for a good recommendation and they pointed us to Chameleon right across the river.

What an amazing surprise! The staff was top notch and the food was fantastic. Neither of us had ever had Indonesian food before and we turned to each other asking "what have we just discovered and why haven’t we tried this?” Chameleon has us hooked.

The atmosphere is cozy and inviting and the staff make you feel like you just entered their house as an honored guest. It’s a small restaurant so don’t expect big and showy. It is perfect if you aren’t looking for big crowds.

We spent 4 days in Dublin and 7 days in France – this was the best meal of the trip. I recommend it to anyone traveling or living in Dublin. Fantastic!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TruTexn5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    457
    157
    53
    26
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
1 review
“Amazing Experience”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Absolutely amazing food and service. I organised a hen party for 11 people and stumbled across Chameleon Restaurant while looking for a restaurant that catered for many different dietary requirements. Our group consisted of 3 vegetarians and 2 coeliacs and the chefs at Chameleon Restaurant were able to cater for all our needs. We were seated upstairs in our own private room and the atmosphere created by the low tables, beautiful lighting and comfortable surroundings made this one of my best restaurant experiences. The staff were amazing and really made an effort to ensure that we had a wonderful time. It was definitely a night that I will never forget and I would recommend this restaurant whole heartedly to anyone. I will definitely be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annmarie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Dinner for Two”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Had a first class meal in this restaurant last night with my wife. The food was excellent, the service was top class and the place had a really nice warm, cosy feel to it. There was a very good mixture of groups in there last night, Families with kids, couples, mixed parties and everyone seemed to be really enjoying themselves and very relaxed. The owner should be very proud of the food and the staff. Will be back again and will spread the word at work so that we can give them some corporate business.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

One of the best meals we've had in Dublin - a big thumbs up! We had really great service (very friendly manager/owner) and the food was excellent. The place looks great too.

If you go, get the rijsttafel - it's great having lots of little plates of Indonesian food!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank icalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Funky place”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I was in a group of ten and we were seated in the private room upstairs. It was warm and cosy and very luxurious. I love the decor and the whole experience it was like being in a different world for a few hours. The food is very tasty and there were lots of exotic flavors. Great for something a bit different.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank miakav86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chameleon Restaurant also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Chameleon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing