We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chameleon Restaurant

Chameleon Restaurant
Ranked #100 of 2,527 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Description: Chameleon in Temple Bar is an intimate, ambient restaurant that specialises in Indonesian rice-table. Rice table (or rijst-tafel) is when the diner is served an array of sumptuous different dishes, at the same time, from confit of pork belly with star anise to free range chicken satay to our delicious desserts, all made in-house! Its almost like Indonesian tapas!Since opening in 1994, its owners, husband and wife team, Carol & Kevin have made a point in using as much locally sourced Irish produce as possible, including only using free range Irish chicken and locally caught, seasonal Irish fish.Chameleon is ideal for a romantic get together or indeed, for your birthday party or Christmas party, as they can cater for groups of up to 40 in our private dining rooms.Winning may awards over the years in 2013 the Chameleon was voted Best World Cuisine in Ireland by the highly acclaimed Restaurants Association of Ireland
Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Went here last night. Wow, the meal,service and surroundings were all fantastic. Staff are extremely knowledgeable on all the menus (including drinks). Great night out! Very reasonable for the standard of food and service. Highly recommended

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rianie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    433
    147
    52
    25
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food & Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

We were a group of 14 & had pre booked. The great service started before we even arrived in Dublin, as we were proactively contacted a few times by the restaurant to sort out the menu's & seating requirements.

We were given a private room & were seated on low level tables with Cushions, which really added to the atmosphere.

The food was beautiful, and such a wide choice. We left it up to the restaurant to choose what we ate & this was a really good idea. The atmosphere was lovely & really cosy. The staff were very friendly & accommodating.

If we're ever back in Dublin we will definitely go again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Biggs_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Had a really nice meal and experience here. The food is so fresh and tasty and the staff more than willing to guide you through the menu. Would recommend it and will be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Denis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munster
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A unique experience - we'll be back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

This restaurant is just around the corner from the well known Quays pub in Templebar. Several family members and I ate here last Sunday evening. We all really liked the food. It’s a different concept. They don’t distinguish between starters and mains. There are around 5 different set menus e.g. Komodo, Balti, Java, Sumatra, etc. (these Menu names may not be exactly correct), can’t remember them all, along with one fish only menu and one vegetarian one. Between the 5 of us, we chose 4 menus. They range from €20 to €35 per menu. The fish one was the most expensive I think. Per menu, there are approx 5 to 7 dishes. Then they bring all the food out together along with 1 bowl with Indonesian style veg, 1 with noodles and 1 with rice and condiments e.g. soya sauce, coconut & lemongrass shavings, chilli sauce, etc. The 5 of us really enjoyed the meal. It’s great when you want to try new dishes. Bill came to €150 approx. That included ½ carafe of red wine, 1 glass of white, 1 x Irish coffee, 1 x Kalypso coffee and 1 x cappuccino. We had no desserts.

I liked the idea of sitting round a large table on cushions even though we didn’t do this on this occassion. It’s a small restaurant but there are lots of mirrors on the walls so this makes the dining room upstairs look bigger.

Overall, my family and I would give Chameleon a thumbs up and we all agreed we'd go back again for sure! :-)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nigriofa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
377 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Rijsttafel in Ireland - Cool place, good service, good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

If you're looking for Rijsttafel in Dublin, this place is worth a stop. My wife and I dined here and enjoyed the Rijstaffel. We had a beef dish, a few chicken dishes, a fish item, vegetables, chicken satay, rice, yellow curry vegetables, and a few others. The portions were generous and the atmosphere was hip and comfortable. There were two or three levels of this restaurant and the floor we were on had big fluffy pillows in the booths and music playing. Seemed like a good place for drinks and gathering with friends. The food was made fresh to order and the prices were consistent with the rest of Dublin fine dining. I think we paid around 60 Euro for the whole meal ($80 or so). Reservations preferred. We got there at 5pm on a Friday and it was packed before we left.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Danield528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chameleon Restaurant also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Chameleon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing