We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great - Service without much finesse”
Review of Roly's Bistro

Roly's Bistro
Ranked #82 of 2,591 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Roly's Bistro opened in Dublin in November 1992 and quickly became one of the city's busiest and best loved restaurants. Its reasonably-priced menu and wine list together with a casual, light-hearted atmosphere made it an instant hit with everybody from romantic couples to families, from business executives to local and visiting celebrities. Today, a team of 27 chefs serve freshly-cooked food to over three thousand people a week without compromising on quality and standards. Fresh heated bread is baked daily in the bakery.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great - Service without much finesse”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Great family lunch at Roly's. Good atmosphere, friendly staff although lacking any sophistication in service (slid my plate of food to me, leaning across table to hand over cutlery). Towards the expensive side but good food so every chance I'll go back.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank deGalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rolysbistro, General Manager at Roly's Bistro, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
DearDegahen thank you for your mainly very positive review.I regret you did not feel the service professional enough and the matter has been brought to the attention of those involved paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,211
    592
    215
    86
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
451 reviews
358 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“very nice food”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

went here as a group of 7 at late notice - they managed to fit us in thankfully.

food was very very good. Had the terrine to start and the beef pie for main course. It was incredibly tasty. Clearly prepared with great ingredients as there was plenty of meat and veg in the pie, very tender and very tasty.

Didn't have dessert, but overall was pretty impressed with the place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thefrequenttraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rolysbistro, General Manager at Roly's Bistro, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Frequent traveller Thank you for very positive review very much appreciated by all here paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Still as good as ever ! Less noise than previous visit.”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I like Roly's a lot. Great food and Dublin bay prawns. Great fish soup BUT very noisy when busy. Why why do restaurants not build restaurants with noise reduction ? This time mid-week is wa not unbearable . I like it lots if NOT so noisy .

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank biggestjohn22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“2 out of 3 were happy here”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Very popular and on a Tuesday night! service was reasonable and the staff personable.
my starter duck confit dumplings was excellent, my main of deep fried Haddock and "hand cut" chips most definately was not!
my dining partners had the Fillet steak and they were happy - I'm hoping my fish was a one-off, The batter was quite possibly the worst in living memory.
Would I eat here again - at this stage I'm really not sure. It was over priced as well considering the overall experience.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Revbev69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rolysbistro, General Manager at Roly's Bistro, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Revbew I am sorry you seemed to be the unhappy one of the 3 .i can only apologise if the batter was not up to our usual high standard A s regards the chips we are one of the few restaurants who use only FRESH. potatoes for our French fries If you are in Dublin again please allow us make up for your experience my mob is 0868135655 paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Normally Food is really good- lunch can be only ok , service poor”
Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Dropped in here for lunch recently and was sent upstairs as downstairs was really busy. so ordered a fish pie and coffee .. 30 min later a cereal sized bowl fish pie arrived (cost15 euro) with a burnt top.. as i was in a hurry I did not complain .. but it was very average quality.. not as good as Avoca.. next I asked again for my coffee .. and again .... and again .. it turns out the waiters upstairs dont take coffee orders , they request a guy to come up from down stairs .. whom works on the coffee m/c ... of course this fails .. so makes a bad service even worse.. the problem with the service is that the guys behave in a old stale fashon of pretenting to offer formal dining service.. but by doing so are so rigid the dont engage with the customer, taking a coffee order is beneath them and end up fustrating the experiance.... its a shame, cause aside from my experiance sbove with the food, its normally really good..!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gromit t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roly's Bistro also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Roly's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing