We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“The best restaurant in Ireland.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Patrick Guilbaud

Restaurant Patrick Guilbaud
Ranked #20 of 2,394 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: South City Centre
dublin ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in Ireland.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I had lunch here recently and it's great to eat in a restaurant with such consistency. The food is superb, the service is seamless and the wine list is to die for.
.
RPG is the only two star restaurant in Ireland.

I'm surprised to see it down around thirteen in Dublin on trip advisor, because if you're a visitor to Dublin and you like fine food, look no further.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank degustibusirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    689
    108
    73
    26
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Skibbereen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Superb Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Everything about this restaurant is first class. Expensive but you do get what you pay for, wonderful food , terrific ambience, great service from being greeted to departing. Its an absolute treat.

Helpful?
Thank Valentine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
80 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Special Evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Our compliments to the chef and wait staff for a wonderful evening. One of the best associates we've ever met, Stephane Robin, is the manager, and will bring you to your knees with his smiles and attention.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waddesdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“I can't fault perfection.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The most amazing place ever. The staff were amazing and made me feel so special. The food...you need to go and try it. Everything about this restaurant was simply perfect. Thank you for providing me with a perfect memory?

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
671 reviews
575 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 401 helpful votes
“Food As Art”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Mr. Guilbaud came to Ireland about the same time we took our first vacation in France, 1981. Then, we were in awe of what some of the great chefs accomplished, the splendid staffs they created and the almost theatrical setting of the starred restaurants. Michelin still is highly respected, and they don't hand out many two star rating outside of France. We still admire what extremely talented chefs can do, and now we must add Mr.Guilbaud to the list. The food here is somewhere between superb and sublime. The setting has been created with great care. whether or not the modern art flourishes are to your taste.

I have a slight criticism of the staff. Certainly, they all seem to be very earnest, young and briskly moving about the dining room.. When you encounter them, they seem genuinely interested in providing you with a high level of service. Unfortunately, there is a lot of wasted motion, and even more discouraging, walking about without really seeing what is going on.

After our wine was poured into a carafe to breathe, and our first glass was poured, six or seven of the waiters who played some small role at our table walked by without noting that our glasses were nearly empty. Finally, I had to flag someone down. When we first sat down, we ordered sparkling water. We got still water. When we pointed that out, they apologized, and replaced the water, then the filled glasses, then new glasses in three separate steps. At the end of the evening, we were charged for two bottles of water. A small, but tacky mistake I didn't bother to point out. From where I was sitting, I saw a lot of waiters walking around briskly without accomplishing much.

The real reason for coming here is the food, which is quite excellent and creative. Of course, you had better check with your banker before arriving, especially if you plan to delve into the Oxford English Dictionary (Abridged Version) sized wine list. You could easily spend more on the wine than the meal, but with some care you can find a respectable bottle from one of the less prestigious regions of France for under 100 Euros. If you are coming here, you are likely to be in celebration mode, so I don't mean to quibble. If you are prepared to buy a more expensive wine, more power to you and your helping the local economy. I would rather buy that Grand Cru bottle of Bordeaux or Burgundy for consumption at home, to compliment my wife's fine cooking saving the very substantial markup.

Whether you order a tasting menu or from the a la carte side, there will be many intriguing taste combinations. Not many of us can eat this way very often, but if you appreciate artistry on your plate, with complex and surprising textures, colors and assemblies, it may well be worth the splurge.

The type of professional waiters we experienced in France in the 80s and 90s have retired or died. Their new replacements may be brighter, handsomer (or prettier) but they have a long way to go to make the intricate ballet of a truly leading restaurant work flawlessly. Patrick, you've earned the two stars for food and presentation. When you are on the floor, your staff seem to function better. They should do so all of the time.

It was a nice old touch for Mr.Guilbaud to circulate and greet his patrons towards the end of the meal. As did Bocuse, Verge, Baumaniere and the last generation of great French chefs.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ulysses4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Patrick Guilbaud also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Restaurant Patrick Guilbaud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing