We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious, Not Snobby”

Restaurant Patrick Guilbaud
Ranked #44 of 2,558 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: South City Centre
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
258 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Delicious, Not Snobby”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I love to eat and Guilbaud's was on my radar for a while but as part of my New Year's resolution to eat in all of the Irish Michelin starred restaurants this year I had to get there quick!

We went for the lunch menu, which really is great value. I mean, eating in a two-star restaurant for €50? It's pretty amazing.

Anyway, overall it was really lovely. Very easy-going about being a vegetarian. I was able to order off the a la carte menu for the fixed price and had a great walnut pasta. They even did a special amuse-bouche for us, which was great. I LOVED my basil-corn soup too. I would definitely spring for the three courses because the cheese board (ahem, trolley) is just amazing. You can choose any five cheese - lucky me got six - from France and Ireland. So great!

It's definitely the sort of place you go for a special occasion, but it's totally worth going to. I found it to be very welcoming and friendly as well. My only little complaint would be our table - it felt as though it was in a hallway and I would have liked a bit more natural light. But, no real complaints!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ecojojo81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    764
    124
    84
    32
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A gastronomic feast of world class standards”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

This was an extended lunch for 10. Attentive service, but never fussy. Very professional but also with a touch of humour. They made us feel totally at ease, which a lot of 2 star Michelin's don't get right. This is some of the best food we have eaten anywhere in the world. My wife is a chef who has trained all over the world and she was totally blown away. Well done to the team, we will definitely be back.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank clinton_sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munster, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delighted with first visit”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Lunch for 3 was a real treat. Good choice available. Everything was super-tasty. Service was attentive and friendly. Expensive but worth it. I hope to go again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mullagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent the second time as well as the first.”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Menu is borad enough to please any palate. The preparations are innovative, the presentations are delightful and the taste was spot on. This was our second time to eat at Patrick Guilbaud and we were quite pleased and will return when in Dublin next.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Armstrong56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Nevada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“time warp”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

This restaurant represents an overly rigidly enforced version of classic French cuisine and service. The reservation date was off -- but that can happen. We sat in the ante-[bar]room with the menus, expecting to place our orders. After we asked a few questions, the menus were taken from us by the head waiter, and we were very puzzled. Then we were asked to be seated in the dining room -- not a very good table, but there was that reservation confusion after all. The food started coming -- fortunately only the amuse bouche. I said to the waiters [many waiters . . .] that we had not ordered yet -- much consternation. The head waiter came back and said that we had ordered the 3-course tasting menu. I said, no, we had wanted the 4-course a la carte menu but that we had not been asked for our order. We did get our wish, but the head waiter had by that point decided that we were American bumpkins, and we perceived "attitude." But the food, although beautiful, was so old-time classic in its approach that it was bland and, except for a would-have-been wonderful fish dish that seemed to have been salted twice, nothing stood out for flavor; nothing was "bright" and distinctive. The service was almost overwhelming and theatrical -- had two waiters repeatedly place covered plates in front of us, glance at each other, seem to count to three, and [voila!] removed the covers at the same time.

A plus--the wine list, which was spectacular. The young under-sommelier [Matthieu] was also spectacular -- knowledge and passion. We asked him to match wines with each course, and the wines turned out to be the real treat -- extraordinary.

All of this was more than $600 . . . [for 2 people].

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Stacey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Patrick Guilbaud also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Restaurant Patrick Guilbaud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing