We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Night Out at Les Freres Jacques”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Les Freres Jacques - CLOSED

Les Freres Jacques
Cuisines: French, European, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Description: "Quaint but charming French restaurant in the heart of Dublin. This family-run restaurant has a regular clientele who come for the warm welcome and delicious seafood. All the staff are French and the atmosphere authentically Gallic. What's cooking: Classic French fare. Signature dishes include terrine of foie gras Maison with grilled country loaf bread and a glass of Sauterne, whole black sole meuniere and lots of wonderful fresh seafood and seasonal game."
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A Great Night Out at Les Freres Jacques”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Enjoyed a terrific night at Les Freres Jacques on Saturday evening. A very friendly greeting on arrival was followed by lovely food. A good selection to choose from, and all of it very good, along with a choice of very reasonably priced wines. The beetroot soup was terrific, much to my surprise, as beetroot would not be a favourite of mine. I would have preferred a little more bite to my terrine, as I found the consistency to be a little too jelly-like for my taste, but the flavour was good. My wife's calamari and prawn salad was very good - again, she has had poor experience of calamari in the past, but this was very good. My steak and her salmon were great, and the dark chocolate mousse to finish was excellent. Plenty of atmosphere, and it all added up to a great night out. This restaurant is back on our list of favourites.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    37
    16
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
142 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Nice spot, very good location....good value early bird”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Tried there last week with my wife - first time there. It's smaller than I had imagined - service was very good. A la carte menu is quite expensive but early bird is quite reasonable. We had 4 courses and while the mains were good there others were so so.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brianmcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

The food was excellent and the atmosphere is adorably French. Having seen the list of restaurants claiming to serve French food in Dublin, this is one of maybe three that serves genuinely excellent food that is actually French in style.
I have been twice and the wine we had occasions was excellent, and not very pricey.

I'd thoroughly recommend the place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tasty_times
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sad demise of a classic”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

How sad to see this classic establishment surely hurtling towards an inevitable demise based on what this writer witnessed in the past week. Tired surroundings were matched only by the tired service and outdated menu. The maitre'd couldn't have looked more bored and despite the waiter's authentic French accent and attitude, the food just didn't live up the what one would reasonably expect of an establishment such as this. The entrance (down a laneway) has never been a positive start to one's experience at this restaurant; the sad thing on this occasion is that it was a welcome relief to head for the exit after such a disappointing meal in cold, dated and stale surroundings. There is a reason why one can get a table on a weekend night at Les Freres Jacques .... What a shame to see such an old classic on its knees.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller130603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent French food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I have always been delighted to go to Jacques brothers place.
Food is excellent, the wine is cheaper at the start of the week which is a brilliant idea, and the meats are slow cooked and fall off the bone. Duck and Lamb are brilliantly done. Great Wine list.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gourmand B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Freres Jacques also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing