We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hopeless customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dublin City Apartments
Ranked #69 of 115 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
London
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Hopeless customer service”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed in Spencer dock apartments. Picked up key from concierge who spent a lot of time telling me he had nothing to do with Dublin City apartments. Should have smelt a rat then. On arrival no heating on, only 50% light bulbs working, wifi not working, no instructions for heating or any of the appliances, 3rd bed (which I didn't need to use) was a put up bed in the living room which collapsed under the weight of my hand baggage. Tea and coffee provided but not a single cup or mug (odd for a self catering appartment). Expected to take all refuse away at end of stay or there is a €30 fine- so not fully serviced then either. Girl arrived to collect the balance, couldn't as wifi not working. ashed her how to turn on heating...she just said "there's a boiler somewhere" and left. 6 hours after my arrival a chap turned up and did sort most of the problems out but a little bit too late...first impressions count

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PBruceA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DublinCityApartments, Owner at Dublin City Apartments, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Hi Bruce,

I'm sorry you had a disappointing stay with us, we had long stay in your particular apartment before your arrival and wasn't informed by house-keeping on lack of cups/mugs or internet not working.
First impressions are very important but unfortunately you got all the issues from start.
The girl who collected payment doesn't remember heating question but instructions are in utility room, I will make them more visible in future.
i feel one star mark is strong given that we had duty manager over few hours later to resolve issues.
I hope you may consider us again, take care.

Johnny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    23
    15
    10
    15
See reviews for
37
12
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malta
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Last week all my family of 5 visited Dublin Ireland for a week's break and stayed at a very exclusive Corporate City apartment block 5 in Lazer Lane near the Grand Canal and I must say it was a beautiful accommodation with all the amenities one would expect to live very comfortable, let alone for a week's holiday. Correspondence and communication was prompt before, during, after booking as well as during our stay. We will certainly recommend without hesitation such accommodation as apart it is wonderful it is also walking distance from the core of the Dublin's city center. We will definately go back to such accommodation should the opportunity come again to visit Dublin. ( Link : www.dublincityapartments.ie )

Many Thanks
Ray Portelli
MALTA EU

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raymarport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The apartment was brand new and well-equipped. Quiet and safe neighborhood, near the centre of Dublin. I would come back, no doubt. Comfortable furnitures, you will find everything you need. I have been in contact with the administration from the very beginning, Very polite people.

Room Tip: Quiet apartment, very comfortable apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adrito248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We had great email communications with the team prior to booking and post booking. It was a bit confusing since each time it was different staff replying but in the end it all worked out. Despite knowing that it would be cheaper to get a taxi from the airport we booked a van through Dublin City Apartments and it definitely helped smooth our journey a bit. The driver picked us up and took us to pick up the keys and then dropped us off at the La Fayette building. We arrived early and they graciously arranged for an early check in for us since we had a baby it was greatly appreciated. We were 6 adults and a baby.
However we had an unfortunate sighting of a bed bug and contacted the team (thank goodness for wifi since the apartment didn't have a phone) and between Ben, Lisa and Linda the team came over just at distressed as we were. They promptly made arrangements to move us to one of the newer Spencer Dock apartments which worked out much better for us. Whilst not in the city centre, there was a LUAS stop across the road we appreciated the upgraded/newer surroundings vs. the old bedding and layout of the La Fayette apartment. We found the La Fayette apartment to be much older, with dirty linen and even the baby’s crib was dusty. Spencer Dock was like night and day in comparison- higher end clean crib and baby chair (Mothercare) with fresh clean linen, better layout (2 bedrooms, living room and plenty of closet space), a washing machine and dryer combo . There were a few glitches like a very high tub where my aunt slipped and fell (and then had to go to the emergency hospital) but that’s a different story. We bathed the little one in the standing shower in the ensuite in our room. One thing the apartment could use is a coffee machine as it was a bit difficult to make a quick trek out to grab coffee early in the morning just to come back and have breakfast at home. There is a supermarket down the street to stock up on groceries and such and the concierge is very helpful (though will only order VIP taxi’s which cost a bit more). Given the chance for a young family, I’d highly recommend the Spencer Dock Apartments over La Fayette any day (infact avoid La Fayette if you can). Ensure you buy your own drinking water as the tap water smelled a bit funny to me (reminded me of when we visited small farming towns ). A big thank you to the Dublin City Apartment’s staff who dealt with our issue promptly and with compassion. I was glad to receive a follow up from Johnny who stated that they sent in a team to effectively deal with the bed bug issue.
p.s - one things we noticed throughout Ireland is that no one has A.C and given that it's a hot summer here it's been difficult to sleep at night without a fan. Keep that in mind when you plan your travels (though Irish weather usually isn't as hot)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YasHKinZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Disappointment and stress being redirected by cell phone to another apt not prepared for our use. Few amenities - not one mixing bowl. Expressed chagrin but no compensation for moving out of downtown and into a furniture only with poor ventilation (suspect mold in the walls). No reflection on Dublin - go on the bike tour!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TayTom-SanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Wichita, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I would not recommend a stay in the apartments at 50 Parnell Square West. When we arrived to drop off our luggage there was no sign of any management or housekeeping in the apartment, even though we had been told otherwise. No one answered at any of the numbers I had been given to call.

When housekeeping finally arrived, they informed us that we had been given the wrong apartment number. They also had no idea that someone had been in the apartment the night before, management had not informed them. They had all the keys and were trying to let us in, but people were still in the room and it had to be cleaned again.

When we finally checked in, we were not pleased with the accommodation in general. It was ill equipped in the kitchen and there were no instructions to use the stove (possibly not working at all). Beds were uncomfortable with very small duvets. The shower in one bathroom was hard to use because the nozzle was not properly mounted to the wall. It was only partially blocked and water sprayed everywhere.

The worst part was the noise level. Even though all windows were shut it sounded like they were wide open at all times. The building is directly across from the Rotunda Hospital and there are several bus stops just outside which means there is a lot of traffic (on the road and on foot at all hours of the day). Curtains were very thin and let in a lot of light, terrible at this time of year.

The location is good in terms of getting to O'Connell Street, but the neighborhood in general was a bit more rough than one would like for a family vacation. On our last morning we had to step over a drunk passed out on a neighboring stoop at 9am.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank El0ise123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed 5 nights at Grand Canal Apts., Blk 5, Laser Lane. Part of the Dublin City Apartment rentals. Billed as luxury accommodation. Our first negative experience developed immediately when there was zero toilet paper in the entire apartment....none. Our second "surprise" was finding that the toilet seat in the second bathroom was broken (this could NOT have been overlooked by cleaning staff) and the toilet was totally unusable.
There was also a smell of sewer gases coming from the unusable second bathroom area.
The kitchen was poorly equipped with no frying pan, no kitchen towels or sponges, no salt, etc.
No DVD. No bathroom ensuite in master bedroom---one located in entrance hallway and the unusable one was located off the "living area".
While this apartment was on a top floor and is within a block of the Grand Canal and also of the Liffey there is no view of either.
Positives: Very nicely furnished. Roomy. Good mattresses. Very nice floor to ceiling windows which could be opened for ventilation. Clean.
Very poor value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yondershiningstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Apartments by theKeyCollection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dublin City Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dublin City Apartments

Property: Dublin City Apartments
Address: Parnell Street | 167 Parnell Street, Dublin Dublin, 1, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 115 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dublin City Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These Apartments offer guests a comfortable alternative to hotel accommodation. Apartments consist of one and two bedrooms units, all of which are self-catering. Each have fully fitted kitchen and livingroom. Facilities include solid wooden floors, fully fitted kitchens with granite work tops, washing machines, dish washers, hob/oven, and microwave ovens. Living rooms are very large by apartment standards. Extra beds and baby cots are available upon request and need to be confirmed prior to arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Dublin City Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dublin City Apartments Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing