We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room very good, breakfast and customer service just OK...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Parnell Square
Ranked #47 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
155 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
“Room very good, breakfast and customer service just OK...”
Reviewed March 29, 2009

We staid here in January, booked trough Expedia one smoking and one non-smoking room. We arrived early morning and were told the rooms were not ready and to come back around noon wich we did after leaving our luggage at the reception, when coming back (at noon) our rooms were still nog ready, we waited another hour+ orso, precious time of our short break in Dublin !! When rooms were ready we found out that my sister and her boyfriend didn't get the smoking room they requested. We left it as we didn't feel like changing again, loosing time. First morning breakfast was good (the hotel was not that busy) but the second morning it left a lot to be desired (hotel was full). No croissants and a 'heap' of soggy bacon and sausages that were completely cold !! The staff was just standing there chatting, not doing what they were supposed to do. When I told them about the cold bacon and sausages they said they would resolve the problem in a minute. Minutes later the same meat came back from the kitchen, just warmed up in the microwave, you can imagine I left it. Just like everyone else did.
The rooms were very good though, comfy beds, clean and modern. Location is good too, airport bus stops on the corner. A week after arriving home I found out an amount of money was still blocked on my creditcard, while everything was paid at checkout. It took a phonecall to resolve this...
I would stay again at this hotel but would leave the breakfast and NOT give them my credit card details again.

Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Delectatio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,280
    1,204
    359
    84
    47
See reviews for
419
1,316
170
266
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2009

Have arrived since 8am this morning and it is now 4 hours later and my room is not ready. Have seen busloads of people check out but the front desk refuses to make a phone call and ask that my reserved room be cleaned. Not sure how this place has managed to make this far up the list. Guest comfort is not in the hotel nature, they have forgotten they are in the hospitality industry. Only thing they have going is a favorable rate...which now turns out not to be costly.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mauricio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2009

There´s nothing bad to say about our stay in the hotel. Staff was very friendly and our room was great. It was nice and clean and so much more than what we expected. It was worth paying little bit more. And the continental breakfast was great. I would stay here again the next time i'm go Dublin.

Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank HeidiN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2009

We stayed in the Maldron the week between Christmas and New Year's. The rooms were very clean and were decorated with a modern flair. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. Guests should take advantage of the full Irish breakfast.
The only drawback is the location. It is a bit of a walk to the main attractions, but you will able to walk off the fish and chips!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beccaww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2009

The low rating is mostly due to bad service of the staff and location of the rooms.

The room we initially got was across the elevators. After a night of little sleep, we complained about the location, but it was not possible to change rooms. Only after another night of little sleep and again complaining, did they find another room for us.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piranja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2009

This is not a destination hotel -- basic services, but a perfect base for our stay in Dublin. Very nice staff. Modern rooms, comfortable and clean. Bus stop outside takes you just about anywhere. About a 15 min walk (or 6 euro cab ride) from Temple Bar. Great deal online, excellent for what we paid.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AVRLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2009

We have just returned from a stay at the Maldron. It was a great hotel overall, really nice and stylish rooms. The bed was the most comfortable I have slept in.

We had a problem with the window not completly closing which let in a draft and some noise and despite us complaining about this it wasnt fixed but it was no major problem and didnt affect us to much as the hotel is in a great location to go out and explore the great city of Dublin.

Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
0.3 mi away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#46 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,411 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maldron Hotel Smithfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#35 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,836 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cassidys Hotel
Cassidys Hotel
#49 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,486 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Belvedere Hotel
The Belvedere Hotel
#60 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Parnell Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Parnell Square

Property: Maldron Hotel Parnell Square
Address: Parnell Square West, Dublin D1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Dublin
#25 Business Hotel in Dublin
#38 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#42 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Maldron Hotel Parnell Square 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Parnell Square Dublin 1, Maldron Hotel Parnell Square offers guest contemporary and stylish accommodation right in the city centre. Close to all tourist attractions including Hugh Lane Gallery, James Joyce Centre, Trinity College, Christchurch Cathedral, and shopping and entertainment. Nearby business districts at IFSC and Eastpoint Business Park are both a short driving distance. Free internet access, onsite parking (€fee), spacious bedrooms, 3 meeting rooms and Stir Restaurant and Cafe Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Maldron Hotel Parnell Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maldron Hotel Dublin
Comfort Inn Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing