We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room very good, breakfast and customer service just OK...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Parnell Square
Ranked #46 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 29, 2009

We staid here in January, booked trough Expedia one smoking and one non-smoking room. We arrived early morning and were told the rooms were not ready and to come back around noon wich we did after leaving our luggage at the reception, when coming back (at noon) our rooms were still nog ready, we waited another hour+ orso, precious time of our short break in Dublin !! When rooms were ready we found out that my sister and her boyfriend didn't get the smoking room they requested. We left it as we didn't feel like changing again, loosing time. First morning breakfast was good (the hotel was not that busy) but the second morning it left a lot to be desired (hotel was full). No croissants and a 'heap' of soggy bacon and sausages that were completely cold !! The staff was just standing there chatting, not doing what they were supposed to do. When I told them about the cold bacon and sausages they said they would resolve the problem in a minute. Minutes later the same meat came back from the kitchen, just warmed up in the microwave, you can imagine I left it. Just like everyone else did.
The rooms were very good though, comfy beds, clean and modern. Location is good too, airport bus stops on the corner. A week after arriving home I found out an amount of money was still blocked on my creditcard, while everything was paid at checkout. It took a phonecall to resolve this...
I would stay again at this hotel but would leave the breakfast and NOT give them my credit card details again.

Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank Delectatio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,071)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,251 - 2,257 of 3,071 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2009

Have arrived since 8am this morning and it is now 4 hours later and my room is not ready. Have seen busloads of people check out but the front desk refuses to make a phone call and ask that my reserved room be cleaned. Not sure how this place has managed to make this far up the list. Guest comfort is not in the hotel nature, they have forgotten they are in the hospitality industry. Only thing they have going is a favorable rate...which now turns out not to be costly.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mauricio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2009

There´s nothing bad to say about our stay in the hotel. Staff was very friendly and our room was great. It was nice and clean and so much more than what we expected. It was worth paying little bit more. And the continental breakfast was great. I would stay here again the next time i'm go Dublin.

Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
Thank HeidiN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2009

We stayed in the Maldron the week between Christmas and New Year's. The rooms were very clean and were decorated with a modern flair. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. Guests should take advantage of the full Irish breakfast.
The only drawback is the location. It is a bit of a walk to the main attractions, but you will able to walk off the fish and chips!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beccaww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2009

The low rating is mostly due to bad service of the staff and location of the rooms.

The room we initially got was across the elevators. After a night of little sleep, we complained about the location, but it was not possible to change rooms. Only after another night of little sleep and again complaining, did they find another room for us.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Piranja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2009

This is not a destination hotel -- basic services, but a perfect base for our stay in Dublin. Very nice staff. Modern rooms, comfortable and clean. Bus stop outside takes you just about anywhere. About a 15 min walk (or 6 euro cab ride) from Temple Bar. Great deal online, excellent for what we paid.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AVRLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2009

We have just returned from a stay at the Maldron. It was a great hotel overall, really nice and stylish rooms. The bed was the most comfortable I have slept in.

We had a problem with the window not completly closing which let in a draft and some noise and despite us complaining about this it wasnt fixed but it was no major problem and didnt affect us to much as the hotel is in a great location to go out and explore the great city of Dublin.

Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank JohnnyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.3 mi away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 150 in Dublin
4,615 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
0.2 mi away
The Belvedere Hotel
The Belvedere Hotel
#62 of 150 in Dublin
1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Maldron Hotel Smithfield
0.1 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#57 of 150 in Dublin
2,024 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. George
Hotel St. George
#83 of 150 in Dublin
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Parnell Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Parnell Square

Address: Parnell Square West, Dublin D1, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Dublin
#25 Business Hotel in Dublin
#38 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#42 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $91 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maldron Hotel Parnell Square 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Parnell Square Dublin 1, Maldron Hotel Parnell Square offers guest contemporary and stylish accommodation right in the city centre. Close to all tourist attractions including Hugh Lane Gallery, James Joyce Centre, Trinity College, Christchurch Cathedral, and shopping and entertainment. Nearby business districts at IFSC and Eastpoint Business Park are both a short driving distance. Free internet access, onsite parking (€fee), spacious bedrooms, 3 meeting rooms and Stir Restaurant and Cafe Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Maldron Hotel Parnell Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maldron Hotel Dublin
Comfort Inn Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing