We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Parnell Square
Ranked #47 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed her on a Sunday night. We arrived about 3pm,Check in was v busy.We were checked in by a male member of staff, who either was new to the job or was desperate to go on his break, either way he wav helpful, didn't inform us of meal times or any hotel facilities. He wrote the wrong room number on our card and when we tried to enter the room, there was already other guests in it!
The hotel is in a good location for walking in or about the city.
Our room was comfortable and clean.
Having stayed in Maldron Hotels before, this is probably my least favourite of them.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank csjIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipUzice, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Parnell Square, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay on tripadvisor.

I was very disappointed with the poor service you received on check in. This behaviour is unacceptable and not indicative of the levels of service we strive to offer here at the Maldron Hotel Parnell Square. I can assure you all members of the front office team will have full training regarding this to ensure this does not happen in future.

I do hope you will reconsider and return to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Philip Uzice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,055)
There are newer reviews for Maldron Hotel Parnell Square
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,165 - 1,171 of 3,056 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for three nights recently. It is fairly new and has all trappings you would expect of a city centre hotel, but oh! the location. Not situated in Parnell Square, but in Dorset Street, a few hundred yards further away, on the very fringes of the city. I was there to visit some Irish ex. business associates, they all advised me not to walk around that part of town after dark and ALWAYS get a taxi back to the hotel late at night, it is in a rather run-down part of town. If you can`t afford a taxi, try somewhere else closer to the centre of town.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peebee43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipUzice, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Parnell Square, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay on tripadvisor.

While the hotel is located on the junction of Parnell Square and Dorest Street we are only minutes walk to O’ Connell Street on a very busy road with traffic and pedestrians alike. While like in all big cities caution should be taken at night, we have in no way had any issues, concerns or incidents from staff or guests who walk to or from the hotel at night.

I do hope you will reconsider and return to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Philip Uzice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I recently stayed at the Maldron during my visit to Dublin. I stayed for 5 nights with a friend. It was in a great location- we were able to do most of our sight seeing on foot from the hotel. It was in good walking distance to Temple Bar, which is where the night life is. There were several pubs and breakfast spots just around the corner from the hotel. It was very clean and the room was surprisingly bigger than we had expected. There is free wi-fi throughout the hotel which was awesome, many hotels charge to use wi-fi in the rooms. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipUzice, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Parnell Square, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Dear Lynne,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay on tripadvisor.

We were delighted you enjoyed your time in Dublin and that you found the hotel location to be so convenient and the hotel to be so clean and comfortable.

We thank you once again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Philip Uzice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Just back from a 2 night stay at the Maldron and we will be back! We arrived early morning with luggage, reception staff were very welcoming and friendly and took our luggage for us so we could go off and make the most of our time in Dublin.
The hotel is pretty central, about 2 min walk from upper o'connoll street and about 15 mins from temple Bar area. We were able to walk to everywhere we wanted to from this hotel.
The rooms were spacious enough and nice and clean, massive king size beds were very comfortable. Room was very warm though, despite air conditioning.
We had paid for bed and breakfast and found this well worth the money, lots of choice at breakfast and a nice relaxing place to sit.
The staff here were extremely friendly and helpful, nothing too much trouble! One night I was unwell, had bad heartburn (too much irish whiskey ;-) lol) I sent my husband down to reception to get a glass of cold milk, fully expecting to pay for it, but instead the staff seemed more than happy to help, no charge!
Overall we felt it was comfortable, welcoming, well located and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipUzice, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Parnell Square, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Dear Lynne,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay on tripadvisor.

We were delighted you enjoyed your time in Dublin and that you found the hotel to be so convenient and comfortable during your stay and the staff to be so helpful.

We thank you once again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Philip Uzice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Given reviews, we expected more at this hotel. Staff in restaurant seemed uninterested in helping us with anything. We do not recommend paying for the breakfast, we regretted as poor service and food quality and selection was not a good value. Front desk staff was friendly, but not extremely attentive either. Room was just adequate and could definitely use some upgrading. We will pay more to get more when we return to Dublin.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Clyde H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipUzice, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Parnell Square, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Dear Clyde,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay on tripadvisor.

I was very upset to learn of your disappointing stay with us.

Currently during the winter period all rooms are being audited and upgraded with painting, carpet cleaning and new furniture where necessary.

With regards to the lack of attention by the staff, this comment has been taken on board and being used for training with the entire team. This attitude is not something that is indicative of the standards offered by the hotel and will not be accepted. I can assure you training is currently being carried out to ensure this does not happen in future.

Once again I thank you for your feedback which will be used to make improvements.

Kind Regards,
Philip Uzice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

The hotel is clean, comfortable, and all the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. Having a king size bed and air-conditioning is a major plus too. The restaurant/bar area is a bit small but totally adequate. Our rate did not include breakfast but the helpful staff suggested that we pay for breakfast the day before if we were interested. Appreciated the suggestion and saved a few Euros.

Pros: location and value. The hotel may not be in the city center but it's one block from the hop on/hop off bus. You can buy the bus tickets from the front desk. It's very close to O'Connell Street and about a 15 minute walk across the Liffey to most attractions. All the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. They even recommended pre-booking our taxi to the airport which saved us money. Thank you!

Cons: While the rooms are air-conditioned the flow and volume of air seemed a bit weak. It was fine for October but might be lacking in the summer. There are not safes in the room.

Overall we were very satisfied with the hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipUzice, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Parnell Square, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Barton.

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay on tripadvisor.

The team and I were delighted to receive such positive feedback, in particular regarding the friendly, helpful staff. The entire team strives to offer excellent customer service and we were delighted to receive such nice comments.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future and we thank you once again for your review.

Kind Regards,

Philip Uzice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

The location is slightly away from main stream Dublin. Only a block from Hop on Hop off bus pickup spot. Nice helpful staff. Good breakfast but be sure to order and pay for breakfast the night before. The restaurant is has good quality food and service at a reasonable price. This will save you a couple of euros each. The room was decent size, clean and comfortable. Pillows were typical European flat ones. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipUzice, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Parnell Square, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay on tripadvisor.

We were delighted you enjoyed your time in Dublin and that you found the hotel to be so convenient and comfortable during your stay.

We thank you once again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Philip Uzice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.3 mi away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 150 in Dublin
4,577 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
0.2 mi away
The Belvedere Hotel
The Belvedere Hotel
#62 of 150 in Dublin
1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Maldron Hotel Smithfield
1.4 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#38 of 150 in Dublin
1,950 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 150 in Dublin
4,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Parnell Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Parnell Square

Address: Parnell Square West, Dublin D1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Dublin
#25 Business Hotel in Dublin
#38 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#42 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $92 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maldron Hotel Parnell Square 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Parnell Square Dublin 1, Maldron Hotel Parnell Square offers guest contemporary and stylish accommodation right in the city centre. Close to all tourist attractions including Hugh Lane Gallery, James Joyce Centre, Trinity College, Christchurch Cathedral, and shopping and entertainment. Nearby business districts at IFSC and Eastpoint Business Park are both a short driving distance. Free internet access, onsite parking (€fee), spacious bedrooms, 3 meeting rooms and Stir Restaurant and Cafe Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maldron Hotel Parnell Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maldron Hotel Dublin
Comfort Inn Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing