We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amberley Guesthouse & Apartments
Ranked #32 of 150 Dublin B&B and Inns
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

On of the best things about this hotel was the location. €20 by taxi from the airport and right near shopping and good eateries.

The room was a bit small for a 4 person (group of girlfriends) room but value was good.

Free bottle of wine on arrival was a nice touch, and cleaners very good for what was not a tidy room!

A good base for a long weekend.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Connie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    105
    49
    25
    20
See reviews for
60
89
36
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Based on the reviews, I thought this place would be more charming. The décor is shabby, the bathroom is NOT user-friendly and the location, while convenient, is in a seedy area of town and VERY NOISY at night. The walls are paper thin. I can hear the people next door splashing while taking a bath and talking. It's just kind of a strange place! The breakfasts are delicious, though, and it is not expensive, so I guess you get what you pay for. Fine for business or couples.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natchittychat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Always a bit wary of booking a real budget place but we found this little place really quite exceptional and very well located as we were on a last minute visit with our adult children for a midweek break.

The Guest House is well located about five minutes from O'Connell street and about fifteen mins walk from Temple Bar. The Airport bus stop literally at the door and the return opposite side of the street. Fare £10 Euro ticket bought at airport at bus stop. Excellent start!

The rooms were OK for size showers a little small if you are a big fella like me. The linen etc was spotless and it looks as though the place has been or is being spruced up.

All in all for a very budget price of £50 per night per room a £200 two night break for four adults can't be beaten.

Yes there were a few little things like the odd missing lightbulb but hey, £200 incl a cooked breakfast is hard to beat whatever. Enjoy the place and the city "WE DID!"

Room Tip: Try to book a room at the rear of the place. Our kids were in a room front of house which windowed o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We stayed in a 5person apartment for two nights during half term! The staff we're friendly and helpful! They let us store our bags before and after check in free of charge no fuss. The apartment was in a separate block than the guest house, so no one could show us around but we found it easily. The apartment was clean and well equipped. All pans cutlery, plates, even cereal, oil and little extras such as tea, coffee and sugar provided. We only stayed there two night and we got fresh towels each day. The location is brilliant 2 minutes walk to O,Connell street where all the tourist buses run etc. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kezminda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 31, 2014

I have stayed in Amberley House on several occasions and have always had a great stay. The staff are always super friendly and accommodating. The rooms spotless and the decor has been tastefully updated since the most recent traveler photos, I must take some on my next stay. Great value, lovely staff and a clean large room with free wifi and a nice little touch of a sweetie jar. Super comfy bed and pillows too! Always my first go to place when overnighting in Dublin.

Room Tip: rooms in the newer part of the building are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yummynom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Excellent stay. Great location. Helpful staff. Quite sleep. Would do again.
Near the center of town and walkable or rideable to oldtown if desired. Also, near metro and easily navigable area just off the main strip near office for quiet stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkkerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We stayed in a double room apartment with 5 people, this was for a combined birthday weekend. The apartment was located in a separate building away from the hotel with a private entrance, staircase and a number of locked doors to get through. You wouldn't find it without the instructions of the lovely receptionist! It was adequately furnished, the beds were comfortable and in most places it was clean although some wear & tear was visible in the bathroom & kitchen. Some of the furniture may look dated but when exploring Dublin you're most likely not going to spend days in the lounge area of the apartment.
The room was a bit chilly with the corridors/staircases leading up to the apartment particularly chilly. Wifi worked perfectly and the location is very good just down the road from O'Connell Street - you can walk into central Dublin in minutes.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martijn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#84 of 151 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
North City Centre
Anchor House Dublin
Anchor House Dublin
#28 of 150 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Kildare Street Hotel
#50 of 150 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkway Guesthouse
#18 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amberley Guesthouse & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amberley Guesthouse & Apartments

Property: Amberley Guesthouse & Apartments
Address: 34 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Amberley Guesthouse & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amberley House B&B is located on Lower Gardiner St Dublin 1, only 2 min walk to O Connell Street, the centre of Dublin. The main bus and rail terminals are also only 5 min walk away. We offer en suite bedrooms, double, triple and quad beds. Each room is equipped with TV, tea/coffee, telephone and ironing facilities. Continental and full Irish breakfast is included in the price. 24 hour reception available with our friendly staff willing to assist you with any queries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Amberley Guesthouse & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amberley House Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing