We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Faulty Towers”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Griffith House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Griffith House
Ranked #112 of 162 Dublin B&B and Inns
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Faulty Towers”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2010

Stayed for two nights at this B nd B and wasn't impressed at all. The main negetive was the cold room which was freezing and the ensuite which was more like a broom cupboard was llike walking into a fridge, but we thought when we got the shower going it would warm up, wrong! the shower would not work and only cold water would come out! we dreaded having to use the bathroom as this meant opening the door and making the already freezing bedroom worse.Desperate for bath or shower i headed off to the shared bathroom which was clean but the toilet wouldn't flush properly and there was no plug for the bath, furthermore the lock on the door was dodgy so the shower i had was a quick one as i anticapated someone walking in it was not a pleasent experience at all. On arrival we had to ask for soap and towels and that sort of set the scene for our whole stay.I brought my husband over to Ireland with me and it was his first stay, as i am from Ireland myself i boasted to him about how Irish B and Bs are the best in the world as this was my experience having stayed in many over the years so i was dissapointed as there was no real Irish feel at all about the place. The breakfast was nice served by a pleasent girl who was attentive but the dining room was freezing too!! I did pass on about the shower and the other bathroom to the girl and she said she would tell her father, he did not approach us about this even though he was milling about, the ladnlady did apoligise and said she had checked out the shower which was now working, Too late for us as we were in the hallway waiting on our taxi to the airport.
My expectations of Irish bed and breakfast are much higher than this the decor in the rooms was dreadful dreary and when we made a cup of tea we couldn't drink it as it tasted awful. Just to many things that were so wrong. the pictures look much better than what you get. sadly i write this review not for me as i won't be back but for you so you don't be dissapointed. I wish other reviews had of warned me but i suppose we all have our different standards.Positive points good location bus stop just down the road to get to the centre and a nice coffee house round the corner to get a decent cup of tea and a bit of heat and warmth.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saintmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    24
    23
    9
    5
See reviews for
20
32
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, MN
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2009

Relatively short drive from the airport and from Dublin's City Center, making it an excellent choice for people who don't want to stay in the city. Very convenient bus routes too. The bedroom was surprisingly spacious, but be careful in the bathroom; it isn't designed for the larger framed person. Evenings in the area are quiet, and sleeping with the window open, you'd never know a major city is just minutes away. Breakfast is delicious, just make sure you go for the "Full Irish".

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calliebartol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2009

Make sure you book here - we have twice & loved it both times. The location is perfect and the owners are wonderful people.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2009

We stayed in Griffith House on the day of our arrival and we're supposed to stay there on the last 2 nights of our stay in Ireland. When another B&B turned out to be a huge disapointment we couldn't wait to get back to Griffith House and we booked two extra nights. We felt very welcome, the room outback was superb, spacious with great beds and soft pillows. We found the breakfast outstanding and Griffith House is close to the city centre, just a 10 minute drive with bus 123. We had long conversations with Ou and learned lots about both the Irish and Thai culture. We had a great time with very nice people who were willing to do everything they could to make our stay a pleasant one. Give Pugsley a hug from Mat and Tosca (Amsterdam)

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thica70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hood River, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2009

When asked for a credit card to make a reservation, don't assume that you'll be able to pay by credit. Upon arrival, we found a "Cash Only" sticky note on the mirror. The room was clean enough, but the proprietor treated us as if we were an intrusion. The "private garden" turned out to be a depressing cement patio, surrounded by a cement wall. If you book this place, be sure to specify one of the rooms in the house, otherwise you might find yourself trundled out back (across from the "private garden"). Wonderful breakfast, if you like packaged cereal, a banana, and squatting down to find your own milk in the fridge. Of our three weeks B&B tour in Scotland, England, Ireland, and Wales, this was our only disappointment, and a big one at that. We'd never go back.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SceneSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Mpls, MN
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2009

We were thrilled with our stay at Griffith House! It was our first trip to Ireland and we would definitely stay there again. The rooms were beautiful and spacious - and when Eugene and Ou saw how tall my husband was - 6'4" - they moved us to a larger room so we would be more comfortable. The breakfast was great, and the ability to either have a Full Irish Breakfast or Continental with fresh fruit, toast, yogurt. and cereal was very nice. The location was convenient enough with the bus service. We also really appreciated the travel books they provided as we seemed to have misplaced ours.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Btaylormn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2009

This is the first guest house we have stayed in where there is no choice at breakfast. Cereal and juice is fine (although no fresh fruit offered to us), and we were then merely presented with a cooked breakfast. Not asked how we would like our egg cooked; no mushrooms, and cold tomatoes. Asked if we could have cooked tomatoes, only to be told that "we do not cook our tomatoes." When asked for them either to be cooked, or not presented at all, the half tomato duly arrived cooked the next morning. Cartons of long life milk in bedroom were out of date on day of arrival. There were other small niggles and I did not find the hosts very amiable, approachable or particularly friendly.
The house itself is situated in a quiet, pleasant tree lined avenue. However, I personally feel there is more superior b & b out there for approximately the same cost. This was not particularly cheap and was certainly not booked as "budget" accommodation. Perhaps my expectations were a little too high!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ziggy5621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.3 mi away
The Regency Hotel Dublin
The Regency Hotel Dublin
#117 of 153 in Dublin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
0.1 mi away
Auburn Bed & Breakfast
Auburn Bed & Breakfast
#59 of 162 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
1.0 mi away
Avoca House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cashel Lodge Bed & Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Almara Bed & Breakfast Dublin
0.1 mi away
Annandale Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griffith House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griffith House

Property: Griffith House
Address: Griffith House 125 Griffith Avenue | Drumcondra, Dublin Dublin 9, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 162 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This B&B built at the turn of the century, has been tastefully renovated with only comfort in mind; from its private gardens to its comfortable rooms. Approved by the Irish Tourist Board since 1994 and our family home since 1981. Located on Griffith Avenue in Drumcondra, which is 10 minutes by bus from city center (bus every 7 minutes), 15 minutes by bus from Dublin Airport, 10 minute drive from Dublin port with easy access to M50. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Griffith House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griffith House Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing