We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Picturesque Dublin Townhouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Griffith House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Griffith House
Ranked #113 of 162 Dublin B&B and Inns
Cork, Ireland
1 review
“Picturesque Dublin Townhouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

I stayed in Griffith house with a few friends of mine last summer and had a fantastic time.The house itself is a very typical and cosy irish family town house with a relaxed and welcoming atmosphere being provided by the hosts. The bedrooms themselves are kept to a very high standard and are nicely decorated. The beds are also extremely comfortable! The location was also surprisingly convenient (given that the property is not directly situated in Dublin city centre) the next busstop is only 100m. From there, busses can take you directly to the city centre and to the Guinness store-house. Taxis to the city centre cost about 10 euro per person.

All in all, great value for money!

Room Tip: Guinness Store House!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James20Alan20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    24
    23
    9
    5
See reviews for
20
32
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

I am handicapped and require first floor or a lift. We reserved the cottage in back requiring no stairs. We reserved two nights, however we were informed we would be moved to upstairs the 2nd night. I assumed we would then be helped with our luggage, as the young lady had told us we would be. Upon encountering the owner he informed us we had to move our own luggage. I told him that was impossible for me, he was very rude and said I had to and left. The young lady did finally help me. When I asked the owner if I could use the phone to call a taxi to get to the airport he yelled he had a bed and breakfast, no phone and refused. After a heated discussion about help being available to the guests he finally called a taxi. Another review had said he was rude to them, we should have heeded this warning. We had no problems in the other 7 places we stayed on our trip to Europe.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rjc621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Lebanon, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Griffith House served as our introduction to Irish hospitality. Eugene and his daughter took good care of us,letting us parkour rental car off the street securely, giving us great options fort dinner and ensuring we got on the correct bus (with exact change!) to get to and from Dublin, The location is great, too: about halway between the airport and Dublin. Everything was cozy and well kept. Excellent full Irish breakfast.

Room Tip: Steep steps to the rooms upstairs ... Ask for the larger ensuite behind the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosewiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We wanted a b&b near Marino college whilst attending a weekend function. Griffith House couldn't have been more convenient. It was clean and comfortable with everything we needed, including free wifi, and a hearty breakfast. Our room was not ensuite but we seemed to be the only ones using the separate bathroom which was just across from our room so it was no problem and despite reading the warnings about the unfriendly staff we certainly had no problem, Eugene and his daughters could not have been more helpful. This is not a hotel, it is a B&B and it was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginger086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We found we needed to stay an extra unplanned day in Dublin on a recent trip, as the B&B we were in could not accommodate us for that night. Some quick work and some generous help by other B&B owners led us to Griffith House, and we could not have selected better ourselves. Charm everywhere in this place, great folks there to help, comfy beds and private bathrooms, and a tasty Irish breakfast!

Room Tip: Any room is good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draperstown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

we were in chalet. Good size and clean, bed very comfortable. En suite very small and could do with decorating, biscuits on hospitality tray would be nice . Breakfast good but very little staff interaction.Good base for Dublin city centre.

Room Tip: Chalet was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 22marian68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
99 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

We travelled to Dublin last month and the temperature was unseasonably cold. Our room at Griffith house was freezing! I slept with 5 blankets and woolen socks but was still cold. The radiators were turned off after midnight. Aside from the cold, I have no other complaints. The rooms were clean and comfortable. You can easily catch the bus to Dublin city center. However, if you are only staying in Dublin for a night or two, I would recommend finding a hotel closer to city center since the buses stop running at 11.30 pm and cabs are rather hard to find after that.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cwmmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.3 mi away
The Regency Hotel Dublin
The Regency Hotel Dublin
#116 of 153 in Dublin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
0.1 mi away
Auburn Bed & Breakfast
Auburn Bed & Breakfast
#58 of 162 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
1.0 mi away
Avoca House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cashel Lodge Bed & Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Almara Bed & Breakfast Dublin
0.1 mi away
Annandale Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griffith House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griffith House

Property: Griffith House
Address: Griffith House 125 Griffith Avenue | Drumcondra, Dublin Dublin 9, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 162 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This B&B built at the turn of the century, has been tastefully renovated with only comfort in mind; from its private gardens to its comfortable rooms. Approved by the Irish Tourist Board since 1994 and our family home since 1981. Located on Griffith Avenue in Drumcondra, which is 10 minutes by bus from city center (bus every 7 minutes), 15 minutes by bus from Dublin Airport, 10 minute drive from Dublin port with easy access to M50. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Griffith House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griffith House Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing