We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful find!”
Review of Griffith House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Griffith House
Ranked #105 of 149 Dublin B&B and Inns
Akron, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“What a wonderful find!”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We found we needed to stay an extra unplanned day in Dublin on a recent trip, as the B&B we were in could not accommodate us for that night. Some quick work and some generous help by other B&B owners led us to Griffith House, and we could not have selected better ourselves. Charm everywhere in this place, great folks there to help, comfy beds and private bathrooms, and a tasty Irish breakfast!

Room Tip: Any room is good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    24
    23
    9
    5
See reviews for
20
32
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Draperstown, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

we were in chalet. Good size and clean, bed very comfortable. En suite very small and could do with decorating, biscuits on hospitality tray would be nice . Breakfast good but very little staff interaction.Good base for Dublin city centre.

Room Tip: Chalet was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 22marian68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We travelled to Dublin last month and the temperature was unseasonably cold. Our room at Griffith house was freezing! I slept with 5 blankets and woolen socks but was still cold. The radiators were turned off after midnight. Aside from the cold, I have no other complaints. The rooms were clean and comfortable. You can easily catch the bus to Dublin city center. However, if you are only staying in Dublin for a night or two, I would recommend finding a hotel closer to city center since the buses stop running at 11.30 pm and cabs are rather hard to find after that.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cwmmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildura, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

The room was adequate although the 'ensuite' was obviously and afterthought and more like a broom cupboard - nowhere to hang towels or put a bar of soap even.

Walls were paper-thin, so if you're a light sleeper I'd recommend ear plugs or sleeping pills!

The owner was not exactly rude but definitely not up for a chat! It felt a bit like you were intruding if you needed to ask a question.

Breakfast was, as breakfasts go, rather average indeed.

Price is ok but considering the negatives not really worth it. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeborahMildura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dublin hotels

flpisces67
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Griffith house - we chose this because our travel agent personally stayed there and recommended it and it had good reviews online but we were sadly disappointed because there was no Irish welcome here.  The good was they let us drop our bags early.  He seemed rushed to get us out.  Said go down street two blocks for bus and he proceeded to leave.  Didn't say which side of road or the fare. So we waited only to find out we were on wrong side.  We crossed over and waited to only then find out the fare and the exact change required from a waiting passenger.  We ended up having to walk to a store just to make change to catch the bus.  He also didn't tell us which bus to take back.  When we finally got back around 5 from sightseeing there're was no one to be found.  We found the interior at the entry to be rather shabby and dirty as was the hall toilet across from the dining room.   We went to our room where he had placed our luggage. We had room 4 and it was small. The bed took up most the room. Barely enough room to walk around bed.  Bathroom small. Shower can only fit thin people.  Mold and such around shower. Non functioning light over bath mirror.  Bed was comfortable. Walls very thin.  Be prepared to hear other guest watching tv or talking in their rooms. Breakfast was good.  Thought we would at least see owner then.  He stayed in kitchen while daughter served. Overall I expected better. Internet spotty at best and the password was provided on a small sticky note. Two flimsy bath towels and two hand towels, and no washcloths. Room was poorly decorated with lavender sponge painted walls old looking bedspread and rather unattractive sheets. Big ugly fan on the wall.  Small bars of soap but no shampoo.  Great water pressure though.  The room did have a travel plug in the event you forgot one and a nice flat screen tv and an alarm clock.  I won't stay here again because there must be better places than this one.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flpisces67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2011

Stayed at this B&B with my three teenage boys. It is conveniently situated beside the city centre, which the boys loved for the nightlife. The daughters of the propieter recommended various pubs and nightclubs for them, and were very helpful in general. Eugene was very welcoming, and gave us a wide choice for breakfast. The house was spotless, and the rooms were spacious. The wi-fi in the bedrooms was very useful aswell. Its a 10 minute walk for the bus to the airport and a 5 minute walk to the bus into the city centre. There are various restaurants in the vicinity, catering for thai, italian and western food. Would definitely come back on our next trip to Dublin.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GalwaySharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 22, 2011

We stayed in Griffith House over the St Patricks Weekend. We really enjoyed our stay there. Location is perfect. Near the M1 and Drumcondra Village. There are a choice or restraints within 10 mins walk along the Tree lined Beautiful Griffith Ave. We went to guest house owners Local. The Goose Tavern. What a pub. No music, a mature clientele, and out of the blue a sing song. The singer "Happy Gilmore" a local neighbour sang many tunes. Great craic.
A great breakfast each day set us up, especially after a few to many the night before. Great value, very clean and a personal touch. We will be back

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerenceVincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.5 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#39 of 151 in Dublin
1,920 reviews
1.5 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,965 reviews
0.1 mi away
Auburn Bed & Breakfast
Auburn Bed & Breakfast
#56 of 149 in Dublin
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Annandale Bed & Breakfast
Annandale Bed & Breakfast
#10 of 149 in Dublin
269 reviews
0.6 mi away
Almara Bed & Breakfast Dublin
2.2 mi away
Sycamore House
Sycamore House
#57 of 149 in Dublin
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griffith House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griffith House

Property: Griffith House
Address: Griffith House 125 Griffith Avenue | Drumcondra, Dublin Dublin 9, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This B&B built at the turn of the century, has been tastefully renovated with only comfort in mind; from its private gardens to its comfortable rooms. Approved by the Irish Tourist Board since 1994 and our family home since 1981. Located on Griffith Avenue in Drumcondra, which is 10 minutes by bus from city center (bus every 7 minutes), 15 minutes by bus from Dublin Airport, 10 minute drive from Dublin port with easy access to M50. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Griffith House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griffith House Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing