We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:00 PM - 10:00 PM
  
Recommended experiences in and around Dublin
from $28.18
More Info
from $18.04
More Info
from $33.82
More Info
from $22.55
More Info
Reviews (601)
Filter reviews
571 results
Traveler rating
395
109
43
13
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
395
109
43
13
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews irish music lansdowne hotel talented musicians excellent musicians course dinner audience participation singing and dancing wonderful evening river dance great fun beef stew irish experience visiting dublin the pub temple bar instruments cd
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 571 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2019 via mobile

I do a lot of research when I go to different countries and read all of the reviews and wanted to do a family Irish dinner and show. I have 5 teenagers and wanted to reserve something that would be fun and entertaining for them. When you see the words “house party” you think of upbeat music, exciting, and people having a good time. Well that’s what we see in America, anyways. Ireland must have a different interpretation of “house party”.

We went to a nice hotel about 10 minutes from the main strip and sat in a nice dining room with about 30 other guests. We had 3 options for starters and 4 options for the entree. They also have a kids menu option. The meal was very good. Our table had the chicken stuffed with herb stuffing, baked salmon, Guinness stew, and chicken fingers. All were very good and large portions. Dessert was ice cream and chocolate cake. Also good. When finished you go downstairs to the bar and enter a hall that has theater type seating. When the band got on stage they were very solemn, didn’t smile, and felt awkward. There were three musicians on stage. The man was humorous at times but there weren’t any get up out of your seats and sing and dance moments either. The music was fun to listen to if you were 30+ in age. My teenagers thought it was extremely boring. The show could’ve been better if they were entertainers and not just simple musicians and interacted with the crowd.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whirlygig, Owner at The Irish House Party, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Jason. Thanks for your feedback. We were glad to read that you enjoyed the dinner. I will pass on your compliments to the chef. Your comments about the show have been discussed with the staff who were on that night. We have 4 performers at the house party not 3 but it seems the teenagers and yourself left the performance early so missed the ceili dancing and interaction. I was also made aware that the teenagers were on their phones from the moment they arrived and actually stayed outside the hotel while food orders were being taken. Our Maitre D asked an adult member of the party to ask them to come in so their food order could be taken. The lady photographed the menu and sent it outside to them by text which probably suggests they did not want to be here in the first place. Those who stayed commented very positively at the end of the night, interacted and participated in the singing and dancing in the spirit of people who wanted to enjoy themselves. I can appreciate the difficulty in getting teenagers these days to put down their phones and interact and it's just a pity you guys didn't stay to get involved in the ceili dancing. I'm sure your teenagers would have enjoyed that. Hope you all enjoyed the rest of your time in Dublin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2019

If your in Dublin looking for an activity to do I would highly recommend going to see the Irish House Party at The Lansdowne Hotel. I took my wife out for the dinner and evening show and it was well worth it. The dinner was limited but very good, and the show was second to none with what we have seen while in Dublin. The place was packed with people who were clapping along with the beat. The musicians and dancer are extremely talented personal and entertaining.
So if your in Dublin going through trip advisor like we were looking for some traditional Irish music book a couple of tickets for the Irish House Party, you will not be disappointed. Its also a family friendly show

Date of experience: June 2019
1  Thank Todd P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2019 via mobile

The Irish House Party is 3 musicians and one dancer. The musicians sing songs accompanied by traditional Irish instruments and the artists explain how the instruments are played, then they blow your socks off. Leah, the dancer, is a one woman river dance and she does several styles of dance, getting evermore fast as the music moves along. Of course, there is constant banter amongst the group and between the artists and the crowd, as you would expect with this fun group.
The dinner before the show is actually very good so save space because the portions are large.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Roxanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2019 via mobile

Dinner was delicious andthe children's menu perfect according tomy grandsons. Music was traditional and storytelling simply wonderful. The irish step dancing fabulous!!!

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank jryates71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2019 via mobile

What a wonderful evening! These musicians are so talented, world class, worth every penny! What an honor to spend an evening with them! I strongly recommend it for anyone interested in Irish music!

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank noreens340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews