We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$187
$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge(Dublin)(Great Value!)
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$248
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Mespil Hotel(Dublin)
$214
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$148
$143
Croke Park Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Brooks Hotel(Dublin)
$287
$252
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$267
$258
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$241
$204
Buswells Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Dublin Skylon Hotel(Dublin)(Great Value!)
$127
$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,053)
Filter reviews
1,053 results
Traveler rating
230
338
231
134
120
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
230
338
231
134
120
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdublin airporttravel lodgecity centresecure underground parkingbus stoproom was largestayed for one nightregenerationsupervalubuseschannels
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
877 - 882 of 1,053 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2009

Me and 5 other girls [ all 21] booked to stay at the hotel for 2 nights a while ago so only paid 39 euros per room per night! BARGAIN!

reading previous reviews we were a bit worried about the area as just 6 young girls could be dangerous however there is little to worry about as long as you keep safe as you would do anywere! the area surrounding the hotel is what i would call rough..... most of the people looked quiet scary and intimading. One night we wanted something to drink so popped to the tesco [ opposit the hotel] inside the center was very dark and full of wierd men however no one actually said anything to any of us . id reccomend staying in groups of 3 or more if you are going out at night.however in the daytime it is fine and much similar to regeneration/suburbs areas in most citys in Uk like bham and manchester.

we arrived at the hotel at 9am and asked to get early check in for one of are rooms[211] so we could go i get changed and go out ...this only cost 10 euros which is fab!!! [expecially divided by 6] the room as gorgeous!!!!!!!!! we were expecting the normal travel lodge standard of a sofa bed but there was a double and a single bed in the room , lovely and comfy!!!!! a thin screen tv , iron and ironing board, table and chairs etc.. lovely decorated!!!!!
&coffee and tea making facilities.The showers were always hot and really powerful. we all commented on how nice it was !!!
the heating in the rooms are fab you turn the dial to whatever level you want. :)


the only problem was each room only had 2 towels and 2 cups although we did book for 3 adults but a quick chat with the [very friendly!] reception staff and this was sorted in no time :) as well as extra teabags/milk etc

The second room[215] was as nice as the first one except it looked as if the irnong board had been ripped off the wall [ just screws left] but we just used the other rooms.also when you had a shower the water seemed to get alllll over the floor [ maybe a crack in a tile or something[?]

the staff at the hotel are soooo polite and helpful :):) i cant fault them at all!!! the young blonde short haired cleaner is a credit to the place she was so nice and even gave us her own mug from the staff room in the morning when we needed a spare! [ if the manager reads this please pass on are good review!]

the hotel was super quiet so you got a good nights sleep , and even though we came back at 4am one night probably a bit loud the staff remained lovely!!!

we did not use the food facilities or the bar so cannot comment on them.

the buses are regular and cheap we all bought a 25 euro 3 day pass from the tourist info for all dublin buses and the tour bus which usually costs 15 euros anyway! id reccomend it you learn alot about dublin and get to see the city :) the ticket can also be used on the night bus which we used the night we went out . the number 42 i think it was :) and runs all fri and saturday night [ much cheaper than a cab!] and on the air link so you save alot of money!


id reccomend the cafe in town for breakfast! 4 items plus toast and coffee or tea al for 4.95!!!!!! its on o'conner street opposit primark on the corner :) bargain and always lovely we went there every morning!


go to the Guinness storehouse it was one of the higlights of the trip even though none of us usually drink it haha! it is well worth the money! and the pints are cheaper in the bar than most places in dublin! after looking round we stayed in the roof top bar [ FANTASTIC views of the whole city- just amazing!] all afternoon and the women working on the bar even got everyone to sing happy birthday to us twice!!! [ 3 of us were celebrating turning 21] You recieve a free taster [ 1/4 of a pint halfway up the tour then another full pint at the top ....my friends commented how nice it tasted , much more smooth and light than in the uk!!

we gota taxi from the airport to the hotel and it cost us 60 euros[ only took ten mins!]! which we thought was alot but hey! you cannot get a bus striaght to this travel lodge but you could get a bus to town then gtet a bus from town to the hotel if money was tight.

overall we all had an amzing time in Dublin and many thanks to all the staff at the travel lodge :) we shall be back :)

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LuciePop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaWalsh, Travelodge Group Revenue Manager at Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2009

Hi Girls,

Thank you for taking the time to write your postive review about our hotel.
They are always welcome!

As you said in your review the Ballymun Area is currently under regeneration. In the last year there has been excellent work completed including a new gym, swimming pool and a shopping centre.

I've sent your comment regarding room 215 to the hotel manager. She advised me the Ironing board in this room has already been fixed. She will ensure our maintanace man checks the shower tiles.
Thanks, we can not improve unless we get feedback from our guests.

Thank you for your kind words about our staff. They are greatly appreciated.

Finally, Did you really get charged Eur60 from Dublin Airport to our Hotel? Usually the most it costs in a taxi is Eur14.
If you would like me to look into this further for you please do not hestitate to contact me at the hotel.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2009

A group of 5 girls aged 19 to 23 stayed at this hotel for a cheap weekend away. Couldn't find anything to complain about! When we arrived, the check in was fast and the receptionist was really nice! She even re-arranged the rooms so our party were next door to each other. The rooms were beautiful and well sized. Couldn't believe it was a travelodge. You can get the number 4 bus from Dublin City centre for 1,60 which takes about 20 minutes and drops you off pretty much at the door! If you're getting a taxi into the centre, will cost about 15,00. Receptionists are very patient with drunk people - even giving out takeaway menu's so you can order in! Thanks for the great stay!!

Oh by the way... if you're going to Dublin City centre from the airport, you can get the public bus for 2,20 rather than paying 6,00 for the coach. Much cheaper!!!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank happycampers23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaWalsh, Travelodge Group Revenue Manager at Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2009

Hi Guys,

I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
All our staff really apprecate your kind words.

See you again soon,

Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2009

I must preface this review by saying that we've spent ten days in Ireland and everywhere we've stayed so far has been wonderful. Until, that is, we arrived at Travelodge Dublin Airport Ballymun. This was the only place we booked throughout our stay without checking reviews prior. Be warned. We were lured by the cheap rate and it's proximity to the airport as we had a very early flight the next morning. If you stay here, whatever you do, do not follow the directions on the hotel website. Totally inaccurate. So inaccurate that we ended up in the back of beyond and had to stop off at another hotel to ask directions. Hilariously, we bumped into two other couples who were experiencing the same problems (all of us brandishing the directions we'd printed off the internet). We then drove in convoy after deciphering our own directions. We arrived at Ballymun to quite disinterested service 'making a note' of our feedback re directions. It took us over one hour to get to a place which is only ten minutes away from the airport! Granted, the rooms are brand spanking new and lovely, which is one point in it's favour, but the water in our (first) room was undrinkable, although the one we were moved to was absolutely fine. The bar/restaurant was gougingly overpriced (not to mention low on atmosphere with dreadful service), which is fine if you've got the money - but if you have....spend it at the Radison SAS which is GENUINELY a hop skip and a jump away from the airport (and where we had a very pleasant meal). The location was also pretty scary. There was a random horse wandering the streets outside the hotel! There were also lots of aggressive young people who were totally 'out of it' and pretty dire flats right behind the Travelodge. I felt for the staff, as for the most part they were pretty friendly and were having to deal with a lot of flak from unhappy customers both as we checked in and when we checked out. It was a very disappointing last night in Ireland for us - but fortunately we're big and ugly enough not to let it taint our view of an otherwise gorgeous country!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lipstie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaWalsh, Travelodeg Group Revenue Manager at Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2009

Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.
We can never improve unless we get feedback from our customers.

Can you contact me at the hotel and advise me what website you took the directions from? I will ensure the information is corrected immediately. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused to you.

The Ballymun area is part of a milti billion euro regeneration project. The flats you seen are due to be demolished soon.Over the past couple of months there has been excellent work completed. The area itself has come so far over the past couple of years. We are really looking forward to what is to come in the future.

Please contact me if you would like to discuss further.

Kind Regards,
LIsa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2009

We stayed in this hotel on the last night of our visit to Dublin as it was closer to the airport than our other hotel. It is a new travelodge so everything was clean and pleasant. We had an early flight in the morning so we were able to book a taxi from the free phone at reception which was ideal. Our room and bathroom were spacious and clean with fresh towels and bedsheets. Had a great sleep as there was absolutely no noise at all from outside which was nice. The area surrounding is obviously undergoing redevelopment so I think when it is finished, it will make a large difference. It was ideal for getting to the airport and I would maybe consider staying there and travelling into the city centre in future as it was cheaper and better quality than the accommodation offered in the city.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank lovetotravel10099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaWalsh, Travelodge Group Revenue Manager at Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2009

Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to write your postive review.

The Ballymun area is part of a Multi billion euro regeneration project. There have been a lot of fantasic work already completed in the area in the last year. Ballymun Regeneration Ltd is working with the community to develope and implement the Masterplan for the physical, economic and social regeneration of Ballymun.

See you again soon,
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2009

I booked this for a one night stay as we had an early flight the next morning so we could get a taxi to Dublin Airport.

It did the job we wanted it to. The area around it isnt perfect, but its a 15 min, very cheaply priced, bus ride (number 4) from Dublin City Centre.

Good:
- Reception, Information and Restaurant downstairs
- Rooms - very clean, plasma T.V
- Bathroom - very nice!
- Price comparable to other Dublin places
- Location to airport (about a 10 minute drive)
- Very good standard travellodge - newly done

Ok:
- Location to City Centre - 15 mins by public bus

Not so good:
- Breakfast not included in price(which we were expecting)
- Area around if staying and wanting to walk to dinner
- Taxi to the Airport cost us 17 euros for a 10 min drive


I would reccommend it if tempted

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank swansearule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaWalsh, Travelodge Group Revenue Manager at Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2009

Hi there,

Thank you for writing you review about your stay at our hotel.

I'm glad our hotel met your standards.
We sell our rooms at a room only basis. Our attached restaurant offers great value for money with their Brekafast, Lunch and Dinner menu's.

We are hoping to sell you again soon.

Regards,
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews