We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable stay & great value!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Acara House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Acara House B&B
Ranked #62 of 162 Dublin B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable stay & great value!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

Our stay in Dublin was most enjoyable!
Elizabeth, our B&B hostess was very kind and helpful with plenty of ideas for places to visit.
The room was very clean and comfortable and the full Irish breakfast was very tasty!
The B&B is ideally located for trips to the city, You can get to Dublin's main street on foot, O'Connell street, in circa 20 minutes or the closest bus stop is a 5 minute walk and very well served to/from both the airport and the city centre.
The cost of our stay was very reasonable considering we received a discount for cash payment and an additional discount for a 4 night stay. It was great value and we highly recommend a stay in this B&B.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fergal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    13
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
1
30
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

We had a very pleasant weekend stay in September in Acara house B&B run by Liz. We found her manner cordial and accommodating.
We were accommodated in a cosy compact 1st floor en-suite bedroom. The house is located on a quiet street within walking distance of the city centre (approx 20 min walk).

We were given the choice of a cooked or continental style breakfast each morning.

We availed of the selection of tourist information brochures on display in the entrance hallway. Liz sold us tickets for the hop-on hop-off bus tour of the city which includes airport transfers.

Our stay was very pleasant and we would be very happy to stay with Liz again next year !

Thomas & Lucinda

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thomas s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
münchen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

For our 4 day-trip to Dublin we were looking for a nice B&B, near to the city centre and to a reasonable price and finally we found the Acara House in Dublin. It's located in Drumcondra, which is about 5minutes away from the city centre by bus. The bus station is only a few minutes walk away from the Acara House.
For breakfast you could choose between a normal breakfast with toast or cereals or an Irish one with eggs, sausages etc. Both are good.
The room itself was small but very cosy. The bed was comfortable for two persons to sleep in and it was also very quiet in the night. The bathroom was also small but it had everything you need (shower, toilette, basin) and it was very clean. Every day our room and the bathroom were cleaned up and new towels were provided.
Liz, our host, was very affectionate and caring and made us feel very welcome at the Acara House.
We had a pleasant stay at the Acara House and would recommend it to everybody going to Dublin and looking for a nice place to sleep.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sammy186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Acara House B&B is our favorite place to stay while in Dublin.
We had a lovely stay recently at this B&B.
It was really comfortable and the breakfast was very good!
It was also in a good location for visiting Dublin City Centre and the Airport!
Everything was just perfect - thank you!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eamon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.0 mi away
Abberley House B&B
Abberley House B&B
#43 of 162 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
1.6 mi away
Almara Bed & Breakfast Dublin
0.2 mi away
Avoca House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Egans House
Egans House
#26 of 162 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marian Guest House
Marian Guest House
#44 of 162 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
1.1 mi away
Annandale Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acara House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acara House B&B

Property: Acara House B&B
Address: 5 Upper Saint Columbus Road | Drumcondra, Dublin DUBLIN 9, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 162 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Acara House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acara House is a Dublin family run Bed and Breakfast ideally located in the quiet residential area of Drumcondra, only 1 kilometre from O'Connell Street (5 mins by bus or 20 min walk),6 miles from Airport(30mins bus), 10 Mins walk to Botanic Gardens& Croke park museum & ethihad skyline tour & Glasnevin museum. Dublin sightseeing hop of hop off bus tickets available for sale. BOOK DIRECTLY WITH ACARAHOUSE AND RECEIVE SPECIAL DISCOUNT ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Acara House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing