We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem, just a few bus stops from Dublin City Center”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Donnybrook Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 151 Dublin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed at the Donnybrook Hall B&B over Christmas break, 2013... and it was a joy. Terry and his staff were SO gracious, the breakfasts were incredible, the rooms comfortable, and the location was just great for us. A block from a major bus stop, and an airport bus stop, it was a short ride into city center, for the days we did not want to walk. We stayed in a family room, which was divided into two spaces; each had two beds, and a wardrobe, as well as a small chest and a table. The beds were comfortable, there was in room coffee and tea, and the shower in the bathroom was a good size. The lounge was great on a cold morning, and the breakfast room was bright and pleasant. Did I mention the breakfast and the attentive staff? Plus a nice pub, a Tesco, a kabob place, and an Eddie Rockets are just around the corner. Don't spend a fortune to stay in the city center... stay in picturesque Donnybrook, and use the bus or a taxi on the days you don't want to walk up Morehamton to St. Stephen's Green, and just around the corner to Trinity College and Grafton steet.

Room Tip: Room 2, just up the stairs, is a family room to sleep 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RCraigCollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2784, Front Office Manager at Donnybrook Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Hi R Craig Collins,

We are absolutely delighted that you have described us as a hidden gem, nothing means more to us than to know that our guests have left Donnybrook Hall satisfied and taken a piece of us with them :) I am so glad that you appreciated and enjoyed our hospitality as much as you did and we hope that when you return to us again this year you feel just as at home as your last trip.
We look forward to meeting with you again.

Best wishes

Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (472)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

195 - 201 of 472 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2013

I stayed here with family and was very impressed with the room: one bathroom and two bedrooms (one with two twin beds and the other with a queen and TV.) Extremely cozy and Terry and the staff were very accommodating. Breakfast every morning was delicious.
The hotel is a short walk from Dublin center so in bad weather, we took a taxi, but in nice weather, it's perfect.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank R J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2784, Front Office Manager at Donnybrook Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Hi RJ,

Thank you for your lovely review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and especially glad that you liked your room so much. We love the cosy atmosphere at Donnybrook Hall where theres always a fire glowing and candles lit so its nice to know that these little touches are enjoyed by our guests.
We welcome you back at Donnybrook Hall whenever you decide on a return trip to Dublin.

Warm wishes

Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

In general, given that Donnybrook Hall is not too far from downtown Dublin, it’s a fairly nice place to stay. However, details matter. My room (#4) was on the 1st floor just above the street entrance. It was good and enjoyable, with a private bathroom outside. But my mom’s room (#8) on the ground floor had quite a strange configuration and was very small. It had a glass door facing the courtyard passage and no windows (though Terry claimed the opposite, probably calling the door itself a window?). Bed frame was higher than the mattress at some points, hence a bit uncomfortable sleep. Besides, it was quite cold there. My conclusion is that this room was definitely overpriced (Euro 65 per night).

On a positive side, I would note interesting breakfast options (like black pudding omelette), ease of getting to the Dublin central districts (bus stops nearby and buses running frequently) and nice area around.

Room Tip: I do not recommend room #8 (see the review).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirill_Muradov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2784, Front Office Manager at Donnybrook Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Hi Kirill,

Thank you for taking the time to write up a review on Donnybrook Hall. All feedback is welcome to us and gives us a chance to take note of our guests views. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked your room in house. Breakfast is an important part of what we offer at Donnybrook Hall so knowing that you both were satisfied with our selection means alot to us. Room 8 out back is a single en suite room overlooking our garden area/conservatory, it has a large patio door to open onto the garden and a pane of glass on either side of the door which is indeed a window, this may have been overlooked and it would have been our pleasure to show your mother this should it have been brought to our attention. Should you decide on a return trip to Dublin we would love to have you stay here with us again and would be delighted to look after you.

Best wishes to you both

Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

We had such a wonderful stay here for 3 nights in November at the start of our Ireland trip. Terry and his team were amazing and made us feel right at home, giving us lots of travel advise , booking cabs and those delicious breakfasts! The guest house is located just off a main road with a selection of shops (most notably a Tesco on the corner), pubs, resturants, phamacy and bus stops into the city centre (only €2.15 one-way, exact change needed). Access to the motorway is close-by, which was great for our day trip into the Wicklow Mountains, and a taxi back from the City Centre after hours, was a very resonable €10. Parking was also available. Our room was huge, and super comfortable and cleaned daily. Great value for money and such a personal service, I would highly recommend a stay here!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Christi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

I traveled to Dublin and London with my boyfriend in May 2013. We stayed at Donnybrook Hall for 3 nights and it was EXCELLENT! Our flight arrived really early (before check-in time), but we emailed Terry in advance to make arrangements for dropping our bags off. The hotel was super easy to find. We showed up as soon as they opened, and Terry greeted us with orange juice and homemade Irish soda bread. Terry explained where all of the best attractions were located, how to get around, and most importantly: how to get back to the hotel! This was extremely helpful for us as this was our first time in Ireland. The room was clean, warm, inviting, and comfortable. Also, the hotel is located in a really nice part of Dublin and is about a 2-3 minute walk from a bus stop on a main route that gets you into town in < 10 minutes (btw: bus is the best way to travel in Dublin...no need for a rental car!).

I strongly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Dublin. Also - for anyone planning to stay at Donnybrook Hall or anywhere in Dublin really, I recommend purchasing an AirCoach ticket. The AirCoach bus took us from the airport to a bus stop close to Donnybrook Hall. There really is no need for a car Dublin.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mallory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Donnybrook hall really blew us away, this place is seriously better than most hotels. The level of customer care is amazing, they all made us feel so welcome. We arrived late in the evening and Debbie gave us her mobile number to ring when we arrived. So lovely and friendly.

The place is spotless, our room was really spacious with 2 double beds, tv, wifi and ensuite. Could not fault it at all. Warm, cosy, comfortable and quite.
Well rested when we woke up and went down for a delicious breakfast.

A really beautiful spot, excellent value and highly recommend to all.
Keep up the good work

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ladyop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I spent some of my holiday time travelling for the first time in Ireland back in August. During the trip I had a chance to stay in a few different places one of which was Donnybrook Hall where I was for one night. Even though I have only now found time to share my experience of what it was like there when quite some time has passed since, I fondly remember how friendly, helpful and polite the staff were, how clean, tidy and well-kept the premises were and the delicious breakfast that seemed more like having dessert. I was really happy with my room which had everything I needed and some good interior design to top it up. There I had a peaceful sleep before an early morning journey towards the airport. As for complaints, I cannot recall anything I did not like and so I can say I do not have any. All in all, I was impressed with the high quality of service and I would not have any doubt about choosing Donnybrook Hall as my preferred accommodation on any future visits to Dublin.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Augustinas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2784, Front Office Manager at Donnybrook Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Hi AugustinasG,

Thank you for your kind review on Trip Advisor. We are thrilled that you have such fond memories of your stay here with us and that we were able to be apart of making your trip to Ireland so enjoyable. We are especially glad that you appreciated our hospitality and customer service as it if very important to us that our guests leave here feeling like they have enjoyed all of our personal touches. We would love to have you stay with us again should you decide on a return trip.

Warm wishes

Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
3.3 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 152 in Dublin
4,299 reviews
0.9 mi away
Leeson Bridge Guesthouse
4.5 mi away
Almanii Bed & Breakfast
Almanii Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 151 in Dublin
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Aaron Court
Aaron Court
#5 of 151 in Dublin
256 reviews
1.7 mi away
O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse
2.8 mi away
Tipperary House
Tipperary House
#9 of 151 in Dublin
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donnybrook Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donnybrook Hall Hotel

Address: 6 Belmont Avenue | Donnybrook, Dublin D4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range: $107 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Donnybrook Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Embassy Belt of Dublin 4, our Bed & Breakfast is centrally located to University College Dublin, the RDS Showgrounds, Lansdowne Road Rugby and Dublin City Centre. Donnybrook Hall is a family owned and run Bed and Breakfast. We offer clean, quiet and comfortable accommodation in the central Dublin neighbourhood of Donnybrook. Nine of our bedrooms feature ensuite bathrooms, wood floors and restful furnishings.Three of our bedrooms open onto a lovely garden. A comfortable sitting room is available to all our guests. Donnybrook Hall in Dublin has 10 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Donnybrook Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing