We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Donnybrook Hall stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Donnybrook Hall Hotel
Ranked #5 of 150 Dublin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My Fiancée and I stayed here on 13/01/13. We arrived in the evening and were greeted by a girl who checked us in and showed us to our room. The room layout was very unique and the room was clean although the bed was a little small for 2 people. The breakfast was exceptional for a guest house with lots of options ( full Irish, omelettes, eggs Benedict, cereals and healthy options). The owners are very friendly and really shows off a proper Irish Welcome.
At a very reasonable price for the location we would be glad to return.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eddiefunf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donnybrookhall, Front Office Manager at Donnybrook Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear Eddiefunf,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor about our house. We are so pleased that you had a pleasant stay with us and especially that you enjoyed our breakfast choices and our hospitality. We take on board your comments regarding the bed and always appreciate honest opinions. Once again thank you for your review and you are more than welcome to return to us at any time.

Best wishes

Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (469)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

237 - 243 of 469 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2013

My husband, myself and our two older girls stayed here for one friday night on the 11 Jan 2013. Everything was perfect. Friendly, clean, comfy beds, great shower and so much choice for breakfast. As we stayed in family room there was plenty of space and girls were delighted we had a dividing wall. Thanks to Terry for the directions and chat. Will certainly be hoping to stay here again when next in Dublin.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Crow2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donnybrookhall, Front Office Manager at Donnybrook Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Dear S Crowley,

Thank you for taking the time to write up a review on Trip Advisor. We are so glad that yourself and your family enjoyed your stay with us and especially glad that your daughters appreciated the dividing wall :-) We would be delighted to accommodate you all should you return to Dublin just call Terry and he will look after you. Once again thank you for your review.

Best wishes

Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Myself and my husband stayed here for one night on the 12.1.13 and had a very enjoyable stay. Room and bathroom very clean and comfortable. Very nice decor, free wifi connection. Owners very friendly. Breakfast delicious and all tastes catered for. Far better than most hotel breakfasts. The owners were especially helpful and gave good advice on eateries and bars in the locality that suited both our pocket and our age group. We will definitely go again to this bed and breakfast in the next few months. EllenO

Room Tip: Room two, whilst upstairs, is only a few stairs up. Twin room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nell045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donnybrookhall, Front Office Manager at Donnybrook Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Dear Ellen,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. It was our pleasure to have had you stay and to have shared our advice and knowledge of the area with you, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and would be delighted to have you stay here at Donnybrook any time you decide to return to Dublin.

Many Thanks

Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

My partner and I stayed at Donnybrook Hall in November 2012 for one night on a visit to Dublin. Overall, the B&B is pleasant, with the best features being the owners (who are lovely and very accommodating). I feel a bit harsh giving it only 3/5 (my partner would rate it 4/5), it just depends on what you're after. The pro's/con's are:

Pro:
1. Very accommodating owners.
2. Nice rooms (decor, spacious)
3. Location - perfect for us because we like walking! Its relatively close to the city centre (20-30 minute walk) and is a pleasant walk in.

Con:
1. No hot water available in our room (number 4) - grimaced through a cold shower in the morning!
2. Depends on how you like your breakfast - there's no menu, the owners just say 'what would you like' in the morning when you're at the breakfast table (which is great in one sense, they'll make you anything), but for me I felt a bit 'put on the spot', and you don't want to ask everything that they've got as it seems a bit rude.
3. Parking - it IS available, but is a bit weird setup; B&B is in a residential area where most people park on the street. The B&B has space for two cars to park off-street, but in order to do this you must drive up a massive kirb face-on (destroying your front tyres), and it's a VERY tight squeeze! All other cars are parked on the road.
4. Tea/coffee facilities in the room are limited - I had a dirty mug, two tea bags and two sachets of coffee. Could just be presented better/avec biccies?

I would recommend this B&B to couples who just want a weekend away, families with older children and businessmen/women. Would be less inclined to recommend for those looking for a romantic getaway/families with young children.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oreo_jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donnybrookhall, Front Office Manager at Donnybrook Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Dear Oreo_Jo,

Thank you for taking the time to write up a review on Trip Advisor and taking the time to recommend us to fellow guests and travellers. We are glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and would also like to let you know that we appreciate your criticisms and welcome them as this gives us a chance to improve and take note of anything we can improve on in the future. We would be more than delighted to have you stay with us should you return to Dublin/

Many Thanks

Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Myself and my wife decided to travel up to Dublin for a pre Christmas get away. I cannot recommend Donnybrook Hall highly enough. Terry the owner was very warm and helpful and was a really good host making sure we had everything we needed during our weekend stay. In fact all of the staff at Donnybrook were really helpful. The B and B itself is located just outside the City in Donnybrook. That isn't hazardous at all as there is numerous of buses that go into the city from just outside the house and it takes all of 5 minutes to get into the city. The breakfast was really good and if I'm being honest was the best part of a great stay. Thanks Terry and all of your staff. I hope to see you again soon when I'm next in Dublin.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donnybrookhall, Front Office Manager at Donnybrook Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Dear Alan,

Thank you for writing such a lovely review on Trip Advisor. We are so glad that you had a great stay with us and especially delighted to hear your kind words about all of the staff being so helpful. The most important part of our job is ensuring our guests have the most relaxed and enjoyable stay as possible and it is always a pleasure to hear positive feedback. Once again thank you for your kind review, should you decide on a return trip please contact Terry and he will be only delighted to look after you.

Many Thanks

Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Very friendly and helpful staff, great breakfast - unfortunately during our 3 days stay, we had a very 'sour' smelling room, problems with broken toilet and lack of warm water for shower in the morning and difficulties parking - but maybe we were just unlucky...

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaneKbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donnybrookhall, Owner at Donnybrook Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Dear Tine,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We are glad that you enjoyed our hospitality and breakfast however would like to address some issues that you have brought to our attention.

Firstly as advised when you were here the toilet was NOT broken, we did in fact have plumbers in working on the boiler the night you arrived and they forgot to turn on the cold water supply to your toilet after finishing up, this issue was resolved in less then two seconds as it just involved opening a valve which was explained to yourself and your partner. At the time you accepted our apologies and in your own words it was "no problem at all".

Secondly I would like to address the issue of the sour smelling room and the parking. You stayed with us for 3 days and none of these issues were brought to our attention when you arrived or through out any time of your stay with us, quite the opposite in fact we sat with you discussing your trip and advising you where to go and what to do, surely if any person staying in any establishment had such issues with a room these would be immediately brought to the attention of a member of staff so that the issue could be resolved for the customer satisfaction however you did not deem it appropriate to bring any of this to our attention.

While we welcome customer feedback negative and positive and accept that we do not always get it right. We do feel that if something is not to the customers satisfaction perhaps it would be more appropriate to bring it to our attention during there stay and afford us the oppurtunity to rectify any concerns they may have

On behalf of myself (Terry) and all of the staff at Donnybrook Hall we thank you for your custom and wish you a very merry christmas.

Thanks & Kind Regards

Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I recently stayed in Donnybrook Hall for 3 nights with my parents in December 2012. The room was very comfortable and the breakfast excellent. However what impressed me most was the friendliness of the staff specially Terry. My parents felt very welcomed and they definitely enjoyed the stay there. This B&B is located in the lovely village of Donnybrook and very well connected to Dublin City Centre. In my next trip to Ireland I will definitely try to stay there again. Bruno

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrunoFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donnybrookhall, Front Office Manager at Donnybrook Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Hi Bruno,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Donnybrook Hall on Trip Advisor. We are so glad that you and your parents enjoyed your stay in Dublin with us. We are especially delighted that we made all of you feel welcomed and at home, this is very important to us that our guests feel relaxed and comfortable in our home. We would be delighted to accommodate you on your next trip to Dublin and please pass on our best wishes to your parents.

Once again thank you for your review.

Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
3.3 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,237 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 150 in Dublin
1,652 reviews
4.5 mi away
Almanii Bed & Breakfast
Almanii Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 150 in Dublin
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Leeson Bridge Guesthouse
1.7 mi away
O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse
0.9 mi away
Aaron Court
Aaron Court
#3 of 150 in Dublin
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donnybrook Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donnybrook Hall Hotel

Address: 6 Belmont Avenue | Donnybrook, Dublin D4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range: $94 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Donnybrook Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Embassy Belt of Dublin 4, our Bed & Breakfast is centrally located to University College Dublin, the RDS Showgrounds, Lansdowne Road Rugby and Dublin City Centre. Donnybrook Hall is a family owned and run Bed and Breakfast. We offer clean, quiet and comfortable accommodation in the central Dublin neighbourhood of Donnybrook. Nine of our bedrooms feature ensuite bathrooms, wood floors and restful furnishings.Three of our bedrooms open onto a lovely garden. A comfortable sitting room is available to all our guests. Donnybrook Hall in Dublin has 10 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Donnybrook Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing