We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thanks to all @ Donnybrook Hall”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Donnybrook Hall Hotel
Ranked #5 of 162 Dublin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Thanks to all @ Donnybrook Hall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

Lovely Guest House, great breakfast especially the fresh fruit and pancakes. Nice rooms well kept. Clean and friendly atmosphere. Terry & staff were great. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Penny2203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    97
    19
    10
    6
See reviews for
66
151
70
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

This is a well run family guesthouse. The staff are pleasant and helpful and I wouldn't hesitate to return there on my next visit to Dublin. It is in a great location for access to the city centre, right near a bus stop.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanarkshire
Level Contributor
80 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

Stayed for two nights as me, my two sons, and two of their mates were going to the Ireland v Scotland football match at the nearby Aviva Stadium.
I picked Donnybrook Hall as it's a 5 or 10 minute walk from the stadium, and also from the reviews it had on trip advisor.
Our arrival was delayed by about 14 hours because our ferry had a mechanical problem so we didn't arrive until nearly 02.00, but the owners ensured we got access to the house. My single room wasn't en-suite, but with the bathroom only a few feet away it wasn't a problem, the boys had a joined twin room with en-suite which looked very nice as well.
The breakast was superb, porridge with fruit, full Irish fry-up, toast and tea, a great way to start the day, and because the boys had slept in for breakfast, Terry, the owner made up breakfast sandwiches for them when they got up.
The house can be a bit noisy first thing in the morning, but you have to remember this place is fairly old, and it doesn't have the benefit of modern soundproofing, but it's all part of the experience of staying there.
Granted the district of Donnybrook is a bit away from the city centre, but there is a great bus service, or walk as we did, for about 30 minutes or so with lovely georgian townhouses lining the road until you get to St Stephen's Green.
Terry, Rosemary and their staff were helpful beyond the call of duty to ensure our stay was as comfortable as possible, so I have no hesitation in recommending their place to anyone. I can assure you the next time we are over in Dublin we will be staying there.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FORB's
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2011

I stayed at Donnybrook Hall with friends in May for a night. It was a reasonably priced guesthouse & therefore I wasn't expecting 5 star standards, however some things were just not up to scratch.

Pros
Location - 2 minutes walk from the bus stop into the City Centre - €1.65 brings you on the 5 minute trip to Dawson or Suffolk Street
Price - it was very reasonable for a single room
Parking - free at weekends

Cons
Rooms - I was given Room 7 which at first glance was clean and adequate, although the tiled floor was a bit offputting. The following morning, I realised that it was was right beside the kitchen which began breakfast prep at 7am. The soundproofing was non-existent so I was awake from very early which wasn't exactly what I had planned. I also faced into the garden which acted as a passageway to another room (Room 8?) located in the garden, so I got to hear all about their night out, whether I liked it or not. Very little privacy in this room, so I'd recommend you avoid it if at all possible.

Wifi : I asked for a code which was given to me on a piece of paper which I had to return to reception ASAP (surely giving each room a printout of the access code wouldn't be hugely taxing...). The wifi dropped constantly during my stay with very poor coverage at all times.

Room Tip: Avoid Rooms 7 & 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Babaduck71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2011

Location wise this was great, close to Donnybrook Village and the bus routes. Also the owners were very welcoming on arrival and friendly throughout our stay.

However given the choice I would certainly not stay there again. The main reasons being.

Due to a lack of ventilation there was an overwhelming smell of food (fried breakfast foods in particular) at all times.
As another reviewer mentioned the lighting was poor.
Hot water was not available at all times.
The initial room I was given (The Garden Room) was in my opinion, inadequate as it was basically a converted shed which felt very exposed and far away from the main house. I asked to be moved and was initially told no but after I pushed I was given a choice of rooms, however these were right next to the kitchen or to the front of the house which was quite noisy.
Though there were TVs in the rooms you were unable to change the volume (my friend and I were in separate rooms and both tried) so the TVs were either extremely loud or very low.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank siobhan07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2011

I received the warmest of welcomes, slept in a most comfortable bed, ate a hearty breakfast in a delightful, and sunny dining room, and was treated with the greatest kindness.
The decor is most charming, with a homely appeal which pervades all aspects of this hotel. Across the road is a splendid restaurant and on mentioning the hotel I was given a free glass of wine, and a good one at that.
I can not find any fault. Terry and his staff's whole purpose is to make my stay comfortable, and they succeeded. The Donnybrook Hall is a complete gem. Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DcnAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2011

We stayed for 5 nights here, and it was definitely worthwhile for the price. It's in a quiet and safe neighborhood a short bus ride from the city center. It also had free wi-fi. The first two nights were in a smallish room with a bathroom down the hall. Frankly, for what we paid, that was perfectly fine. We had a quality free breakfast (eggs, beans, and sausage, made to order) in the morning, and everything else we needed. We left Dublin for a few days, and then returned the next weekend. The staff were willing to store a bag for us during the time we were gone, and accommodated our very late check-in with absolutely no problems. When we returned, we had a much larger room with an en-suite bathroom, for the same price as before.

The guesthouse was very easy to get to via public transportation. It's about 1 block from the 46A bus to the city center (costing about 1.65euro), as well as the Aircoach to the airport (costing 8euro). The bus runs until around midnight each night, so we never had a problem.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janeses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.8 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,350 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#3 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,525 reviews
3.3 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,105 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aberdeen Lodge
Aberdeen Lodge
#7 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
1.0 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#9 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donnybrook Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donnybrook Hall Hotel

Property: Donnybrook Hall Hotel
Address: 6 Belmont Avenue | Donnybrook, Dublin D4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 162 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Donnybrook Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Embassy Belt of Dublin 4, our Bed & Breakfast is centrally located to University College Dublin, the RDS Showgrounds, Lansdowne Road Rugby and Dublin City Centre. Donnybrook Hall is a family owned and run Bed and Breakfast. We offer clean, quiet and comfortable accommodation in the central Dublin neighbourhood of Donnybrook. Nine of our bedrooms feature ensuite bathrooms, wood floors and restful furnishings.Three of our bedrooms open onto a lovely garden. A comfortable sitting room is available to all our guests. Donnybrook Hall in Dublin has 10 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Donnybrook Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing