We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly budget accomodation close to Dublin centre”
Review of Fatima House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dublin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fatima House B&B
Ranked #126 of 149 Dublin B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 16, 2012

My partner had stayed at Fatima House last year for 5 days whilst attending a course and he 'warned' me that it was basic but clean (he stayed in an economy single room - shared toilet and shower room).
We stayed in Room 6 which had a double and single bed which were really comfortable. There was a small en-suite containing a shower and loo in one corner of the room. It was clean and certainly adequate. There was also a wash basin in the room itself. Having read the reviews about having to wait for hot water we left the shower running for 3 or 4 minutes before getting in and the water was then hot and plentiful.
The room was situated at the rear of the house and so we had no problems with street noise and slept soundly both nights we stayed.
We enjoyed the breakfast on day 1 - the porridge was lovely, as was the fresh fruit bread. We didn't try the full fry. We had to leave very early on day 2 so Niall arranged to leave us some milk and cereal which was very helpful.
We would have liked a kettle in the room but we were out most of the time and so never asked. I suspect it would not have been a problem if we had!
The walk into the city centre was 15 - 20 minutes and straightforward.
All in all a really friendly B&B. It is cheap and cheerful and we will be staying there again on our next visit.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear avoid street noise. Ask for an en-suite.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helganog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (366)
There are newer reviews for Fatima House B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 366 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2012

My husband Bill and I recently stayed at Fatima House in Dublin. Our host Niall was fabulous and turned out to be the best tour guide. Lily and the staff in the kitchen made the best hot, made to order, full Irish breakfasts that we looked forward to each morning. Just a short walk to the City Centre and our accomodations were great and didn't hurt the pocket book at all!!
We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and would return if we ever get the chance..
thanks again Niall for taking such good care of us!!
L&B from Niagara Falls, Canada

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank huckster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

I stayed in fatima house with afew of my friends, it was okay and it was reasonably priced. Our room was abit small and the ensuite bathroom was really tiny(rm.2), there wasnt much privacy as the sliding door between bedroom and bathroom wasnt working the best. We thought our breakfast (full irish fry) was abit disappointing - 1sausage, 1 bacon, 1 egg and 1 cherry tomato. Not really your typical full irish but it was nice all the same and we got toast and cereal too. Bathroom and bedroom was clean and i was happy with that. It is about 10minutes in a taxi away from the city centre which will cost you about €10 approx. and it is about 15mins walk to croke park.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clairebear1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

this b/b is a really lovely place to stay myself and partner stayed there in room 12 it was lovely and cosey we would stay there again nial duffy is a lovely man he made us very wellcome very homely place staff are lovely and nials daughter is also a lovely person all in all we would recomend fatima b/b to anyone it really is the place to stay im nt a very good sleeper myself but the bed was so comfortable i slept really n breakfast was great

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank valerie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Very cozy small hotel almost in the heart of Dublin. With lovely Victorian style design. I think, my (not ensuite) room was nicest in the hotel:))
Very friendly and welcoming stuff, always ready to help. Breakfasts was hearty and delicious.
I like this place, and my friend who came to see me said, that next time she is sure to stop here. And I hope visit it next time.
Greeting from Anastasia))

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annstas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nelly001, General Manager at Fatima House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2011

It is nice to hear a guest praising one of our basic rooms. Anastasia is correct, of course, Room 11 is a very nice and cosy room. We describe it as 'our garden-level basic single room'. Many people will not be aware that we have a small city garden to the rear of our Georgian house. Those who occupy Room 11 or Room 12 will be right beside the garden. There is a glass-panelled door in Room 12 which leads directly into the garden!

Thanks to Anastasia for praising the Fatima House breakfast and the staff!

Anastasia is a student of Gaelic who hails from Moscow.

Beir bua...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We had heard from our friend Cathy in Tasmania about Fatima House and
several other places to stay in Ireland.

We liked what we heard about this Dublin city centre location. We also
had read reviews about the owner who goes out of his way to entertain
guests. We loved it from the minute we arrived. It was clean and
comfortable - breakfast wonderful.

Cathy assured us that we would be happy basing ourselves in Fatima
House while in Dublin and this was the case!

Will return again (maybe in two years)!

Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank TamzanDoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

the rooms were dirty and smelt, the ensuite bathroom was a toilet,shower/sink stuck in a corner of the room with a sliding door that was stuck so no privacy,the breakfast was ok, but its down in the basement so not a nice setting at all, although the owner was friendly and it was near the town its worth paying a bit more to stay in a better place,its on a busy main road so be prepared for a lot of noise all night long,the sheets were not changed in the 3 nights we stayed there so whoever said the linen is changed everyday is not telling the truth, and the towels were small and not nice at all, and they werent changed either!!
i would never stay here again, and its not good value at all.

Room Tip: no rooms are good rooms im afraid to say
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sandra195748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nelly001, Manager at Fatima House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2011

Since TripAdvisor came into being, Fatima House has been reviewed online many times. I am happy to report that our ranking has always been more than satisfactory. We have enjoyed an approval rating of 90% or thereabouts for many years. There are many other establishments throughout the world with similar rankings and I am certain that not one, at that level, would prepare a room for intending guests, that could be described as 'dirty and smelly'. I very much doubt that one of our rooms could justifiably merit a description like that!

The complainant goes on to describe what the en suite bathroom in Room 2 consists of - 'toilet, shower and sink in the corner of the room'. Isn't this the way all en suites are constructed?

In room 2, the bathroom door is a simple flush door of lightweight construction. With normal use, it can sometimes become derailed. It is a very simple matter for the door to be rehung again. We would have been happy to address this problem for our paying guests, as every comfort detail is so important to us.

We do not change the sheets on a daily basis in Fatima House except in very hot weather. It is usual for us to change the sheets every 3 days. The towels are changed daily, if used.

The complainant made a negative comment about the other rooms in Fatima House - how, I wonder?

Most of our guests agree that Fatima House is a value establishment - many have stated this online in the past!

Our dining room is in the basement but it has a view of the garden and is well-lit. The walls are covered in original artwork! Many of the paintings are by the Spanish artist David Agenjo whose work (Dublin scenes etc.) is normally acrylic on canvas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
0.0 mi away
Harvey's Guesthouse
Harvey's Guesthouse
#74 of 149 in Dublin
146 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marian Guest House
Marian Guest House
#49 of 149 in Dublin
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Abbey Court
Abbey Court
#8 of 120 in Dublin
1,061 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clifden Guesthouse & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Parkway Guesthouse
Parkway Guesthouse
#19 of 149 in Dublin
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fatima House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fatima House B&B

Address: 17 Upper Gardiner Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Budget accommodation in a centrally located B&B - period building with 15 rooms (basic and en-suite). All with TV/radio etc. Breakfast included. Free WiFi. Free access to desktop PC. Car parking @ rear (small charge in high season). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fatima House Hotel Dublin
Fatima House Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing