We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rip-off merchants”
Review of Hairy Lemon

Hairy Lemon
Ranked #16 of 286 Nightlife in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Best pint of Guinness in Dublin . Service with a smile !
Dublin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Rip-off merchants”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This pub is a complete rip off charging celtic tiger era prices when there is much better value to be had elsewhere nowadays.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    66
    17
    5
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
surrey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“a happy place to visit.”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

being a bit of a sceptic,when taxi drivers recommend a place I tend to run a mile,BUT,
he was right about The Hairy Lemon.
The food was simple and delicious,home cooking at its very best,everything was fresh and
bursting with flavour, and the staff,OH the staff,our waitress was a dream,she made us feel
more like old friends than customers.The Hairy Lemon is a must for anyone visiting
Dublin who wants to experience a real Irish welcome,,

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank missmabel64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful pub”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We had a great lunch at the Hairy Lemon, right near our hotel. Delicious beer and sanwiches. Would highly recommend to anyone visiting. The staff was great!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank jkjetsetters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food, Great Staff, Great Pub”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

The Hairy Lemon is a must if you’re in the Temple Bar area of Dublin. Not only was the food excellent but the service was incredible. Our waiter Simon took the time to tell us the most popular items on the menu. Even gave his suggestion on his favorites. One person in my party couldn't decide and suggested Simon surprise him with anything on the menu, he was not disappointed. The atmosphere is classic Irish pub just what you would expect to see. Simon even took the time to give us the history of the Hairy Lemon, as well as make several suggestions for things to do in Dublin (He even wrote them down). He couldn’t have been welcoming. The food was amazing and didn’t disappoint. Went back another night for a few drinks and the place was full, the drinks were cold and the space is beautiful, balconies and a beer garden. Can’t beat the Hairy Lemon if you’re in Dublin, check it out if only for a few drinks but I suggest getting a meal there as well.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Cara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
1 review
“Great first place visited in Dublin”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Random find after a walk from our hotel, good background music, great food, a good place to just sit,drink,and plan our visit to the city, staff couldn't be more quick to serve and very friendly

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hairy Lemon also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Hairy Lemon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing