We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A cracking (craic) good couple of days!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Dublin Kilmainham

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilton Dublin Kilmainham
Ranked #32 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A cracking (craic) good couple of days!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

From the day I booked this Hotel, primarily for its Kilmainham location, I'm glad that I did!
Excellent cooperation from the Events Manager, a great reception from the Front Desk Team, a good sized clean and well prepared room, superbly comfortable bed with excellent quilt and linen.
A good menu, varied choice, well presented, and not too long a wait between courses.
At the end of stay whilst taking one last look at the City map, even the Doorman approached us to see if he could offer any advice.
Just across the road from Kilmainham Gaol (!), a 10 minute walk away from a Tram stop with regular rides into town, one of the oldest pubs in Dublin just around the corner, and a great pint of the 'Black Stuff' to boot!
Enjoy.......

Room Tip: Go for a King View if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HMCSpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    921
    645
    196
    87
    35
See reviews for
392
750
95
345
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wylie, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Just got home from staying here for 6 days and still talking about what a wonderful time we had. From the moment we checked in, Ana took wonderful care of us-our room was ready early which was very unexpected but much appreciated after a long day/night of travel! She was also very informative and friendly in showing us places on the map and giving us suggestions. The room was well laid out and the queen bed plus twin for our daughter was perfect-not to mention a great view of the Gaol right across the street! James and Michael at the front desk were also helpful with directions and suggestions for dinner, etc. and Brian, the taxi driver was great as well. After walking around the city we enjoyed the pool and hot tub and we also looked forward to the delicious breakfast each morning. We are glad to be home in Texas but already missing this Hilton's hospitality!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RNjena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
411 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

It may be a favourite for hen parties and it may have good location but if you´re in Dublin on business, and belong to this group that I thought was Hilton's bill payer, this hotel may not be the best selection.
The "desk chair" is not suitable for any lengthy work period and a huge TV has been placed on the desk sideboard, effectively blocking the surface for any practical use. The desk lighting is insufficient! Why sacrifice ample lighting for worthless low energy lighting that produces barely more lighting than a wax candle? This is supposed to be a workspace!
At check in we opted for an upgrade in an attempt to get a good sleep. The upgrade landed us in an albeit larger room, but it was opposite the elevator, and a room facing the busy main road! This became apparent when it was time for rest (too late to go through the ordeal of swapping rooms). Police sirens, trucks and heavy traffic passed in a continuous stream making for a difficult sleep, which may not have troubled a guest that had spent the evening at the bar. In the middle of the night the late night St Patrick's Day celebrators arrived home, inconsiderately and loudly continuing their conversations outside the elevator before dispersing to their various lodgings.
We chose for practical reasons to have our dinner in the hotel but this was disappointing. Not that there was anything wrong with the Guinness, but the waitress argued that the helpings served were "tiny" encouraging us to order an extra course. When the food was served is was obvious the size was not as minimalistic. Instead, quite the opposite. Upon pointing this out, we were met by rude remarks that the size of the portions was the waitresses own observation and what she thought, with no relation to a unbiased opinion. This may also have been a misunderstand based on insufficient language, but we fail to see the reason to prove the guest wrong for asking!
Sorry Hilton Kilmainham, but yor effort to keep a business traveller happy failed.
Breakfast was mostly ok and busy, but the scrambled eggs were cold.

Room Tip: Ask specifically for a room AWAY from the road if you need to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tord E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

Stayed here with my boyfriend in March. We both absolutely adored it. Staff were so nice and very helpful. The meal we had was out of this world. Main course took a while to come out, we didn't mind though. We got a free desert without mentioning one word about it. We unfortunately didn't get to use the pool , which we had full access to if desired. No more than €12 in a taxi to town, 79 bus leaves you right outside if you're not driving, which leaves from city centre. The room was gorgeous which conveniently had a mini fridge and cooler with wine glasses. Bed was really comfortable, toilets very clean. We were late checking out, and not one word was mentioned about it, we were just advised that we could leave our bags in hotel free of charge while we visited Kilmainham jail. 10/10. Couldn't fault it at all. Perfect for anyone and everyone. Cant wait to go back!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Sinead M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

these ladies were very well informed helpful and pleasant. While we didnt need much info having researched in advance they were able to confirm what we knew and it was clear they knew about what was available locally, opening times etc

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Brigid C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a weekend. Check in and out was fab, girl was really friendly and did all she could for us. Nicely decorated room with a superking size bed. View of the Phoenix park in the distance.
Small lobby with the bar just off it. The bar was very quiet for a Friday night.
Went for a wake up swim. Not really a swimming pool. They have a hydrotherapy pool, a jacuzzi and a place to stretch your arms in the water. Swimming would be pushing it. Sauna and steam room all working fine. Didn't use the gym.
Car park €12 a night. Taxis was €10 in to town for the two of us. Bus stop around the corner though and Luas 500 metres down the road.
Location is pretty decent to be honest. Far enough away from the hustle of town and yet only five minutes away in a taxi. Nice coffee shops and Spar beside the hotel too.
All in all it's a decent hotel. To me, the bed was its best feature and to be honest that is never a bad thing.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin Kilmainham, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for kindly taking the time to leave such a wonderful review on Tripadvisor.
I am delighted to see you enjoyed your stay with us and found our bedrooms so comfortable. I was also delighted to see you found the hotel so convenient during your stay
Thank you again for your lovely feedback, we look forward to welcoming you again on your return to Hilton Dublin Kilmainham
Kind regards
Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

We had an overnight stay with bed and breakfast. Staff were very friendly and helpful throughout stay. We dined in the Cinnamon, very tasty food with good varied menu. Breakfast was delish. Beautiful hotel, very clean and modern.

Room Tip: we had front facing room over looking Kilmainham Gaol, very nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sorco27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin Kilmainham, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear sorco27

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback.I am delighted to see you enjoyed your stay and your meal in the restaurant. Thank you for your wonderful comments.I will make sure to pass on your kind words to the rest of our team.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.2 mi away
Hilton Dublin
Hilton Dublin
#54 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,789 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#17 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,176 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,265 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Dublin Kilmainham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Dublin Kilmainham

Property: Hilton Dublin Kilmainham
Address: | Kilmainham, Dublin D08 XAK3, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Kilmainham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#30 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#33 Family Hotel in Dublin
#35 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Dublin Kilmainham 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the most accessible edge of Dublin city centre, the Hilton Dublin Kilmainham hotel is the perfect base for both business and tourism. Guests can look forward to having some of Dublin's top visitor attractions on their doorstep, including Kilmainham Gaol, the Guinness Storehouse, Phoenix Park, Dublin Zoo, the Royal Hospital Kilmainham and Old Jameson Distillery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Dublin Kilmainham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Dublin Kilmainham Hotel Dublin
Dublin Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing