We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Dublin Kilmainham
Ranked #26 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Ballymena
Level Contributor
78 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“relaxing stay”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

A very good sized room - very clean - beds were great and so so comfy - we slept like logs!
Bathroom and toiletries very good. Staff were attentive and helpful throughout. Pool area disappointing - not for swimming in really! Bar lounge area was very nice to sit in in the evening. Only had breakfast here - provided a good choice of food and as much as you wanted. No complaints - would use it again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NomadBallymena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,956 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    981
    655
    199
    88
    33
See reviews for
411
776
100
356
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Good hotel. The location is a bit further out however there are constantly taxis outside the hotel and most tourist hot spots are a short cab ride away (10-15mins). It is also opposite the Kilmainham Goal which was an interesting, worthwhile place to visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin Kilmainham, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear KateH
Thank you for sharing your positive feedback. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location is great as many tourist sites are within walking distance from the hotel whilst the hustle and bustle of the city is just 5 minutes away.
We would be delighted to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind regards
Jennifer Dalton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
173 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed 4 nights durning a long weekend to Ireland. The room was huge compared to other European hotels we have stayed at and very quiet. There was a big window which let in a lot of light. I found the bed to be hard. The bathroom was spacious with plenty of counter space & shelving. I did have an issue with the shower. The water would change temperature at least 6 times while showering. It would be fine then it would go from freezing to burning in a matter of moments then return to normal tempurature. It was the same cycle everytime. My biggest complaint about the room was that we had no control over the air temperature. Yes, there is a thermostat but it didn't matter where we set it, the room was always stuffy & made for very uncomfortable sleeping.

We found the operating hours of the gym & breakfast is be very inconvenient. For a hotel that seems to cater to business travelers & tourist, the hours should be more in line for those guests. Breakfast was just ok nothing special. We were glad the price was included since we are Diamond HH members.

Location is pretty good. It is right across from the Kilmainham Gaol and Royal Kilmainham Hospital which now houses the Irish Modern Museum of Art. You can also catch the hop-on hop-off bus right at the Gaol. We used the red bus with no complaints. FYI - cash only. We walked to Guiness which was about 15-20 mins. I would not walk to the city center. Taxis will run $9-$15. We found it more expensive to head into town since the driver has to go north of the river.

Over, all it was a good stay. The complaints were minor inconveniences & did not impact the enjoyment of our vacation. I would consider staying here again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrsomalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dungannon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 25, 2013

a wonderfully relaxing time was had by all.. the kids loved it. the staff were friendly and helpful. the pool well worth a visit..The card use in the lift was a little confusing but understandable for security. overall a fantastic choice.i will definitely book again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin Kilmainham, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Patricia M
Thank you for taking the time to shareyour positive feedback. We are delighted you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel "relaxing". Our Livingwell and Health Club’s hydrotherapy pool is a great place to sit back and unwind. We hope to welcome you and your family back in the near future.
Kind regards
Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at this Hotel for three days whilst flat hunting. I was a little apprehensive on entering the lobby as it appeared dark and gloomy but that really is the only criticism I can come up with and on reflection, it was actually very stylish. Once you work out how to use the lift (a clever security device to deter non-residents, though it would be helpful to let the guests in on the secret!) we arrived at our room and were very pleasantly surprised. The room was massive, very well equipped with both a bath and a separate shower. The beds were comfy our view out over the gaol was good, breakfast was excellent with a great selection, though the staff weren't that friendly or helpful, maybe they were busy. The spa was nice though the steam room was out of order when we were there. The first two days we used the spa it was lovely and relaxing, unfortunately on the last day when we were really looking forward to unwinding after another day of flat-hunting, the spa was noisy and very busy with at least ten children all dive-bombing each other and shouting which echoed throughout the spa. Should kids be in the spa or am I just getting old and grumpy? We obviously didn't stay too long on that occasion. We had room service on the last night and I must say it was excellent. I had the fish and chips which was freshly cooked my daughter had the pasta which she said was very good also. All in all a very good experience. I shall definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the gaol gave a good view also keep out of the spa on the weekends and summer holi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janicewilliams38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscommon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is a fantastic Hotel with lovely facilities. The rooms are very modern and the bathroom was spotless. The staff were very nice and helpful. Food in the bar was lovely and breakfast facilities were excellent. Handy location from the city centre.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseRoscommon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin Kilmainham, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear LouiseRoscommon

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location is great as many tourist sites are within walking distance from the hotel. I am delighted to see you enjoyed the Hilton breakfast and that you got to sample the menu in the bar.
We look forward to welcoming you in the future.
Kind regards

Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maine
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

We arrived after a frustrating trip into Dublin and trying to find the hotel during rush hour, with one way streets and the lack (all over Ireland) of street signs. We were tired, we got into the elevator and became "Charlie on the MTA",riding up and down in the elevator and not being able to open the doors to our floor. Got off in lobby and asked for help....."did you use your key". We weren't told about that necessity...good safety protocol but....it would be nice to know. Then we rode to our floor and tried both keys and neither worked. Back down to front desk......had to figure out that the key was needed to operate lights. Back down to desk to inquire why the other employee had taken 2 of the "tickets" of the 4 given to us on check-in (to use wifi) from our key folder. Never was an apology offered. Maybe we were bumpkins from the country but on one of my many trips I was with a new "check-in" and asked him if he knew how to operate the elevator....blank look. I'm sure he thought i was nuts but when I showed him how to make it work, he was as mystified as we had been. Note to Hilton...not all of your hotels have the same safety or "green" capabilities. BUT the morning staff was much nicer and way more helpful. The room was nice ,the bed very comfortable but what is the deal with the pillows in Ireland. Everywhere it was like sleeping on a cement block.Even the Hiltons pillows were flat and hard.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank stjojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.2 mi away
Hilton Dublin
Hilton Dublin
#53 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,859 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#16 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,314 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
1.8 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
3.1 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#34 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Dublin Kilmainham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Dublin Kilmainham

Property: Hilton Dublin Kilmainham
Address: | Kilmainham, Dublin D08 XAK3, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Kilmainham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#30 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#33 Family Hotel in Dublin
#35 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Dublin Kilmainham 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the most accessible edge of Dublin city centre, the Hilton Dublin Kilmainham hotel is the perfect base for both business and tourism. Guests can look forward to having some of Dublin's top visitor attractions on their doorstep, including Kilmainham Gaol, the Guinness Storehouse, Phoenix Park, Dublin Zoo, the Royal Hospital Kilmainham and Old Jameson Distillery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Dublin Kilmainham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Dublin Kilmainham Hotel Dublin
Dublin Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing