We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but expensive meals”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Dublin Kilmainham
Ranked #20 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2013

My daughter and I landed in Dublin just as a heat wave went away, for which we were grateful. The Hilton here is nice. The beds are comfortable and there is a spa, which we took full advantage of almost every day of our stay.

We bought LEAP cards and used local transportation to see the sites. On the day before we left we had to do laundry. There is a laundry place nearby. Once we had that task accomplished, we visited Kilmainham Gaol, then spent the rest of the day soaking in the spa.

My only beef about our stay here is the expense of the meals. The breakfast was 18 euros, which I felt was excessive. We got a 6 euro break for our first breakfast because I am a HHonors member. I believe this should have been extended every day of our stay. The food in the restaurant is good, but expensive. Nearby there is an Irish pub, an Italian restaurant, Chinese food, and pizza. Having the mini fridge in the room made it easy to bring back leftovers from our lunches to have for dinner or even breakfast the next day.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,408 - 1,414 of 2,168 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in the Hotel as we were taking part in the Rock N Roll 1/2 Marathon, we could have stayed longer it is the perfect hotel. From our arrival at the Reception area we were met with friendly, professional staff, the bedroom was perfect. We had our evening meals in the Cinnamon Restaurant which served excellent food by lovely staff who made us feel very welcome and relaxed. We also enjoyed our breakfast which was a selection of fresh fruit, bread, hot and cold foods it was 1st Class. We used the leisure facilities which were also 1st class and very well maintained and kept clean. The hotel is a little way out of the city but we didn't mind the walk as the weather was excellent and we got to see another part of the city which we wouldn't have otherwise. Perfect location for Phoenix Park, The Guinness Factory and the Kilmainham Prison Tour. We have no fault with this Hotel we will be back and will definitely recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Conor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin Kilmainham, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Conor S
Thank you for sharing your positive feedback. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our breakfast buffet has recently been upgraded with extensive food options and we are happy you enjoyed it .Our location is great as many tourist sites are within walking distance from the hotel, such as Kilmainham Gaol which is situated directly adjacent to the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you in the future.
Kind regards
Jennifer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Good value for money, clean , efficient and very convinient for our needs. Parking a bit limited on a busy night. Also bar service was inexperienced and poor , could not deal with a reasonably busy bar.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from one night here.

It's a lovely hotel, immaculately clean and maintained very well.
The room was very nice, kind of what you expect of a Hilton really though. The mini-bar was broken in our room, so no drinks etc, which was awful to discover at 4am & dying for a drink of water!

Pool area was fab, well worth a visit to.

We had dinner in the restaurant and this was where I really felt it wasn't up to standard. We reserved the table for 9 o'clock & it wasn't ready so we waited, nice couch area for waiting. Nobody took drinks orders let us see a menu etc while we waited. When we did get seated it was a lovely quiet table for two but they were so slow, took ages to take our order, probably 9.45 before we ordered food, we ordered wine at the same time - it didn't arrive until after we got our starter, little things like butter being put on the table & breads arriving 10 mins later - just not what you would expect from a hotel like this. Still they were friendly & the food was very tasty. I really enjoyed the ambiance just service took away from it.

Breakfast was lovely, same thing of waiting for somebody to come and seat us though! Great selection for breakfast, not just Irish breakfast, lovely fruits, pastries, muffins, yoghurts cereals etc.

All in all we had a lovely time and couldn't fault the actual hotel but would probably head into the city for dinner if I were staying again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Driscollll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed here for one night and have to say it was perfect from start to finish. Excellent rooms great food and brilliant staff. Leisure centre is up there with the best of them. Will definitly be back and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin Kilmainham, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear Noel O

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review on Tripadvisor.
I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and you got the opportunity to experience LivingWell HealthClub. It really is a bonus for our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind regards
Jennifer Dalton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This is a really nice hotel, especially by Europe standards. Plenty of room, in a nice location for tourists but not right in the middle of the congestion. I especially like the concierge, Brian O'Reilly who also provides tours and other helpful info. He was so awesome. There are not a ton of restaurants around which is the only downside but I would definitely stay here again. Be sure to check out the Kilmainham Gaol right across the street. A can't miss tourist stop.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I always stay with Hilton Kilmainham whenever I visit Dublin. :) It always feels like home. Each time is always good. I highly recommend it. Their beds are good, the facilities are all working and clean.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Terri-Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin Kilmainham, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear Terri-Ann D

Thank you for kindly taking the time to leave such a lovely review on Triapdvisor.
I am delighted to see you enjoyed your stay with us and that we are your number one choice in Dublin for your home away from home.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Kind regards
Jennifer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.6 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 151 in Dublin
4,662 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#13 of 151 in Dublin
4,673 reviews
2.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
4.5 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
4,164 reviews
3.1 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#33 of 151 in Dublin
2,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Dublin Kilmainham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Dublin Kilmainham

Address: South Circular Road, Kilmainham | Kilmainham, Dublin D08 XAK3, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Kilmainham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#30 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#33 Family Hotel in Dublin
#35 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $125 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Dublin Kilmainham 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the most accessible edge of Dublin city centre, the Hilton Dublin Kilmainham hotel is the perfect base for both business and tourism. Guests can look forward to having some of Dublin's top visitor attractions on their doorstep, including Kilmainham Gaol, the Guinness Storehouse, Phoenix Park, Dublin Zoo, the Royal Hospital Kilmainham and Old Jameson Distillery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Dublin Kilmainham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Dublin Kilmainham Hotel Dublin
Dublin Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing