We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice folks, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Dublin Kilmainham

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Dublin Kilmainham
Ranked #33 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3,100 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3,695 helpful votes
“Nice folks, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Beautiful hotel in a great location. It’s walkable to most things, and there’s a hop on-hop off bus tour pickup right across the street at the Kilmainham Gaol, which I’d also recommend doing so you don’t have to walk around so much if you’d rather ride. They’re a little stricter on their procedures than other Hiltons where I’ve stayed, but the employees are nice. The gym doesn’t open till 8:00 on Saturday morning, FYI. ;)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QuickWhitTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    812
    599
    182
    80
    35
See reviews for
349
686
89
303
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed in a family room as an early Christmas present from my parents who live in Dublin 8. We stayed two nights, my husband, baby son and i. The staff couldn't have been more helpful on check in given that our baby desperately needed a nap after travelling they set our room up an hour early complete with travel cot, and not just any travel cot, a really good one with a nice firm mattress but deep enough to be comfortable. Those parents out there who are used to basic hotel travel cots will appreciate this. The room was nice and had all we needed although it was a little small for a family room. The products were nice and it was spotless clean. Front of house staff were always helpful, made reservations whenever we wanted them and were helpful and quick heating up our son's food in the restaurant. The swimming pool was perfect for us and the gym is small but well equipped. I would recommend this hotel also for proximity to Dublin city centre but also for the Gaol and Phoenix park which is fab.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Kilmainham Hilton. The rooms are very clean and up to date, the breakfast is outstanding (lots of selection of meat, yogurt, juice, eggs, cereal, etc), the front desk service is excellent and they were very helpful. It is in a great location right across from the Kilmainham Jail, about a 5 minute cab ride or 10 minute bus ride from the center of Dublin, or a 5 minute walk to the LUAS station. It is also an easy 20-30 minutes from the airport, costing about 25 Euro by taxi. There is a nice pub across the street with a good selection of pub food, beer and spirits. On our next trip to Dublin, we will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonS959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Director of Sales at Hilton Dublin Kilmainham, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Hello,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your positive feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We always try and do our utmost to provide guests with a pleasant stay. Our breakfast buffet has recently been upgraded with extensive food options and we are happy you enjoyed it. We look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Deirdre Moriarty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

We were visiting Ireland for the first time and like to stay near train stations so we can move onto our next destination easily. The walk to the hotel from the train station is a bit far with luggage, but a quick cab ride. It is only a five minute walk to the LAUS which takes you right into central Dublin. Next to the hotel is Kilmainham Gaol...an old prison. I recommend the tour there. Hotel was nice. Room was spacious and we had a wonderful view. Clean overall and service was decent. All in all a good stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DreamsPoetry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel for business and in a personal capacity and both times it was great.
My most recent stay was with my boyfriend for the weekend and the quality of our room and the food we ate there was incredible.
The only downside is that it is a taxi journey into the town which gets quite pricey if you are there for the whole weekend but apart from that it was an excellent stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurenericab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Booked 3 days for my wife's 30th birthday Was really pleased on arrival. Really nice. Was infuriated when visiting the hotel pool as "you must buy (€2) a swimming hat to enter the pool (not very good bearing in mind this s a 4* hotel). Also lockers involve buying an actual PADLOCK!

HOWEVER on night number 2 my wife complained of a beeping noise that kept her awake (I slept through it)

On evening three this same "beep" was annoying my wife. I called reception, the manager was sent up
WHAT A GUY! So polite. He spent 5 minutes in our room and cured the fault On leaving he asked 'is there anything else I can do for you? I jokingly said please could we have some complimentary champagne The manger (I could not believe it) agreed and told us he would send up two glasses of champagne (he did)

If we ever visit Dublin again I will Come Back to this hilton Some people complain this hotel is too far out However it's on the "HOp on HOp off bus tour meaning you can get anywhere in the city

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank simon4059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Wonderful hotel. Located conveniently to the airport. Has free shuttle to airport. Hotel staff was wonderful ! Clean and large rooms. Family room is ideal for 3 people. Great breakfast in morning and open early. Airline crews stay here.
Priced very reasonable. Reasonable priced taxi ride into Dublin City Centre.
Not located close to the city centre but closer to airport about 10 minutes. Glad we stayed here rather than the Radisson Blu which is very close to airport.
If we were in town for more than 1 night we would have most likely stayed in downtown Dublin. This is a business person's hotel.

Room Tip: Largest room I could find close to airport to accomondate 3 adults. Room was lovely w nice view at n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.8 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#16 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,819 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hilton Dublin
Hilton Dublin
#49 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 1,620 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#4 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
2.7 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dublin - Burlington Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Dublin Kilmainham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Dublin Kilmainham

Property: Hilton Dublin Kilmainham
Address: | Kilmainham, Dublin D08 XAK3, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Kilmainham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#30 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#33 Family Hotel in Dublin
#35 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Dublin Kilmainham 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the most accessible edge of Dublin city centre, the Hilton Dublin Kilmainham hotel is the perfect base for both business and tourism. Guests can look forward to having some of Dublin's top visitor attractions on their doorstep, including Kilmainham Gaol, the Guinness Storehouse, Phoenix Park, Dublin Zoo, the Royal Hospital Kilmainham and Old Jameson Distillery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hilton Dublin Kilmainham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Dublin Kilmainham Hotel Dublin
Dublin Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing