We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Dublin Kilmainham
Ranked #25 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I'm not sure how a bad review of this hotel could be written, except that it's a little off the beaten path. My husband and I had a heck of a time trying to find it, but I would say that was more of a result of us having hard time finding street signs in Dublin, and we were walking from Houston bus/rail station. Once we got there, it was so worth it. The staff are really, really nice, and the room... Ahh... So nice! I booked this hotel because I wanted us to get a good night of sleep before heading back on a long plane ride, and this is just what we got. Nice sized room, big, cozy bed, and a nice warm breakfast in the morning to send us on our way. The bar downstairs is also a nice place to relax. We would definitely return to this place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Director of Sales at Hilton Dublin Kilmainham, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location is great as you get a quite night’s sleep, while the madness in the city centre is just a short distance away.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Deirdre Moriarty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,001
    663
    201
    88
    33
See reviews for
417
791
101
359
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
midlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Live in the vicinity and regularly visit the hotel. Lovely food and cosy ambiance massively let down by poor service standards. Every time I go back I say never again but It's not like the hotel has any decent competition!! We move at the end of the month and I really won't be recommending this place

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank noddyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed here on a 3 night supervalu break, e mailed the hotel to ask for a room with a view as it was my husbands birthday, we were given a free up grade, to the fifth floor. Check in was very friendly, room was very nice with a great view.A birthday card waiting for my husband. Found all the staff very pleasant and helpful. The food was great, had dinner in the bar the first and last night, there was a good choice including a roast dinner at a reasonable price. There was a dinner included in our package which we had on the 2nd night, the restaurant staff were brilliant making it special for my husbands birthday, including a free glass on wine for us both. The breakfast was good lots of choice. Though this hotel is a little away from the city center, there are buses into the city. I would definitly stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bredamv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Director of Sales at Hilton Dublin Kilmainham, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely feedback of your stay with us. We are delighted you and your husband had a great stay. Birthday parties are a special time of the year and we try to do our uttermost to make it one to remember. We hope to see you again here at the Hilton Dublin Kilmainham in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Deirdre Moriarty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Holland Province, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
702 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Booked a Diner B & B package for 1 night Sat. 3rd Nov. Although listed as a "City Centre" hotel it is in fact about 2-3 miles from the centre. It is a 8-10 minute walk beyond Houston train station where there is a tram & bus service to the centre. You could take a taxi from the hotel (approx 12-14 euro) or enjoy the stroll to the station where a taxi is approx 8-10 euro. Check in was speedy and effecient. Room was large and comfortable & clean. Bed big & comfy overnight. Bathroom clean and shower good. Breakfast on Sunday morning was very good despite the toaster getting jammed!. Food quality of the buffet items was very good as was the choice. Pot of tea also very good. They should really have HP as the brown sauce not that cheap Happy Chef muck! That was the only drawback.

See seperate review of the hotel restaraunt(not so good).

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms are on the side opposite the main road so may be not so prone to road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skinut79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here last night for one night B&B
I emailed the hotel asking for an upgrade an got a quick and friendly reply. I'd def recommend to everyone to upgrade.
Check in was quick and my room was great, I could not find a fault. All the staff were really friendly and always had a smile on their faces. Got room service for breakfast and it was quick and tasty. I will be down in Dublin quite a bit in the future now and I will definatly stay here. Well done to the staff and management!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelinspector4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We chose this hotel for a family celebration and were not disappointed. We booked a meal for a number of people of all ages and the staff were more than helpful. Sally, the event organiser, was extremely cooperative in helping us organise this event and Katherine looked after all our needs on the evening. The restaurant is really nice and the food was very enjoyable. I would recommend this hotel for any celebration.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Acrosstheuniverse66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Director of Sales at Hilton Dublin Kilmainham, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback of your stay with us. We are delighted to hear that Sally and Katherine were helpful throughout your event. I will make sure to pass on your kind words to both of them. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Anja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
163 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We had an excellent experience with this hotel. We arrived at the hotel at 8:30 am after an overnight flight from New York. Knowing that there was still hours away from check-in time, we just wanted to put down our luggage first. But the staff said our room was ready and checked us in right away! After a nice breakfast buffet at the restaurant, we even got to have a nap before went out to the Kilmainham Jail museum just across from the hotel. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The exercise room is among the best we had experienced. The restaurant offers good dinner menu. The hotel location may not be at the city center, but there is a bus stop 2 minutes walk away and 10-15 minutes bus time you are at the heart of downtown and closed to the major attractions. If you stay in the hotel with the same amenities at the city center, it will cost a lot more. Overall, we have a great time. Definitely recommend to everyone.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Director of Sales at Hilton Dublin Kilmainham, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Hello Mary,
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location is great as you get to enjoy a quite night’s sleep, while the madness in the city centre is just a short distance away. We hope to welcome you back to the Hilton Dublin Kilmainham in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Deirdre Moriarty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.2 mi away
Hilton Dublin
Hilton Dublin
#54 of 151 in Dublin
1,880 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#17 of 151 in Dublin
4,368 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin City Centre
2.7 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
1.8 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Dublin Kilmainham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Dublin Kilmainham

Property: Hilton Dublin Kilmainham
Address: | Kilmainham, Dublin D08 XAK3, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Kilmainham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#30 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#33 Family Hotel in Dublin
#35 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Dublin Kilmainham 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the most accessible edge of Dublin city centre, the Hilton Dublin Kilmainham hotel is the perfect base for both business and tourism. Guests can look forward to having some of Dublin's top visitor attractions on their doorstep, including Kilmainham Gaol, the Guinness Storehouse, Phoenix Park, Dublin Zoo, the Royal Hospital Kilmainham and Old Jameson Distillery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Dublin Kilmainham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Dublin Kilmainham Hotel Dublin
Dublin Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing