We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel staff & balcony views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Dublin Kilmainham
Ranked #21 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The Hilton Dublin Kilmainham is not only in an excellent location in the city (near Heuston Station and major bus routes), but has excellent customer service. "Paige", a trainee at the the front desk, may have been new at the hotel but made her best effort during check-in, check-out, and for all questions in between. The hotel front desk position is never an easy one ~ but a Paige's cheerful attitude and willingness to find the answer to any and all questions made our stay all the merrier. If you want an Irish stay with professionalism AND a smile - this Hilton is for you. The balcony view is worth the extra price - !

Room Tip: The rooms with a balcony are worth the price - you will have excellent views from you room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary12T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Director of Sales at Hilton Dublin Kilmainham, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback with us. I will be sure to pass on you kind words to Paige and the rest of our team.We do hope to get the chance to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Deirdre Moriarty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,689 - 1,695 of 2,221 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

Have just returned from a 2 night B&B & 1 Dinner stay at this hotel. The location was great, very central really whether you wanted to travel by foot or car/bus/luas etc. From the moment, my husband & i entered the hotel, i got a good feel for the place and how right that was. Every member of staff we encountered with were so friendly & helpful, food & drink and service for same was excellent. The hotel was spotlessly clean, and airy and spacious. Had a lovely weekend, cant recommend it any higher. Keep up the standards!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryFinn_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Director of Sales at Hilton Dublin Kilmainham, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Hello Mary,

Thank you for taking the time to share you positive feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and found our team so helpful. I will be sure to pass on your lovely comments to our team. I hope we get the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Deirdre Moriarty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in the hilton kilmainham and enjoyed it! Some people say its to far from the city center but there are serveral opportunities du get there in not more than 15 minutes. A cab ride is just 10-14 euro. The hotel is in a modern shape and the room was comfortable and had enough space. The breakfast in the morning was quite good for the irish standard.
The hotelbar in the groundfloor serves great food and was not even expensive the staff is very kind and helpfull.
The reception team was good aswell and especially i have to name rudolff and eric from the nightshift who gave us some great recommendations. These two guys are great for hospitality business! the health club is quite ok but the steambath was not looking good any more and the pool was nothing special. If you need a supermarket oder a good pub you will find them close to the hotel in walking distance.
I can recommend that hotel to any traveller going to dublin!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheWorldTravelerGER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Director of Sales at Hilton Dublin Kilmainham, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Hello and thank you for sharing your thoughts and positive feedback on our team, I will pass your kind words onto my colleague Eric and Rudolf.
Kind regards,
Deirdre Moriarty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed at this Hilton just after traveling all day by taxi, train, ferry boat, and taxi. The hotel is located on the western side of Dublin - just across from the Gaol - which unfortunately we did not have time to tour. Hotel is clean and rooms larger than expected. Check in was quick and efficient and staff very friendly, even directing us to a very nice pub for dinner.
Breakfast in the morning was buffet style. Eveything was fresh and kept nice and hot with coffee service efficient.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GAretiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Director of Sales at Hilton Dublin Kilmainham, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Hello,
Thanks for sharing feedback on your recent short visit to Dublin. I hope we get the chance to welcome you back in the near future, when a tour of Kilmainham Gaol Museum is a must!
Kind regards,
Deirdre Moriarty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I've stayed in this hotel twice before. Its always been very reasonably priced for a hotel of its quality. My room had a big comfy bed, was well appointed, a bath and a separate shower, flatscreen tv and laptop safe. Add to this good food in the restaurant and the spa pool/gym it really is a nice hotel. The hotel also has free wifi throughout, good if you need to keep your emails in check!

The compromise you make is the hotels location, Kilmainham is a good 40 minute walk from O'Connell Street and the main city centre. There is a good bus service (20 mins into town) and the tram (5 mins walk from the hotel). So, if you're happy to make the compromise, you'll enjoy the hotel, if you are looking for city centre, this isn't it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Director of Sales at Hilton Dublin Kilmainham, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Hello and thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you have chosen us a number of times already, thank you and I hope that we can welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Deirdre Moriarty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Spend a night here, and it it was ok, but it wasn't up there for a Hilton, or for the price.

My room was at the front, meaning it's at a road junction and must be close to an emergency services station, because I was woken a couple of times by sirens going by.

My room must have been close to the ventilation for the spa/pool as outside my room, as there was a very strong smell of chlorine outside my room (I could NOT smell it inside). Didn't bother me, but I could see it could bother some.

I could also hear a baby screaming in a room close by, so didn't get a good nights sleep.

The room was pretty good, spacious, desk and the bed was fine. Bathroom was fine, and it as all clean.

In room internet was terrible, I'd wanted to spend the evening working, and I needed the internet connection, but continually dropped out, got slow, needed to reboot and so on.

I don't think this is a hotel geared towards business travellers as it doesn't have the executive lounge, so be aware of this if it's important to you.

Breakfast was pretty good, there was a reasonable selection hot and cold, and it didn't run out.

I ate in the bar in the evening, and that was well priced, and good. It was a good choice to eat there.

Staff were all friendly and helpful, from the check in, bar, breakfast and checkout.

Room Tip: room at the back, so away from the road junction. Remember it's on the corner, so there are two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adriang68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at the Hilton Kilmainham for 3 nights last week. We picked it primarily because of the great price, which also included breakfast, and the new/modern look of the hotel (especially compared to others in Dublin). While the location is a little further out of the main areas of Dublin, once we figured out how to get around the city, it wasn't difficult at all or time consuming to get to the hotel. We are also runners, and really enjoyed running in the nearby War Memorial Park (there's a very nice running path near the river). The room was very nice. The bed was comfortable, the room was clean and large, and the bathroom was nice. Breakfast was also very good. The pool in the attached health club was amazing! I've never seen such a nice indoor pool at a hotel! The staff was also very nice and extremely helpful in answering my many questions about the area. The only less than stellar comment I have is regarding the restaurant for dinner. We did eat a late dinner in the grill/bar area one night, and I didn't feel the food was very good. Overall, though, a great stay. I would definitely stay here again if I return to Dublin!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelLover523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.8 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#13 of 152 in Dublin
4,778 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 152 in Dublin
4,765 reviews
4.5 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 152 in Dublin
4,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dublin Custom House
2.9 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 152 in Dublin
3,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Dublin Kilmainham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Dublin Kilmainham

Address: South Circular Road, Kilmainham | Kilmainham, Dublin D08 XAK3, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Kilmainham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#23 Family Hotel in Dublin
#30 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#35 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $138 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Dublin Kilmainham 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the most accessible edge of Dublin city centre, the Hilton Dublin Kilmainham hotel is the perfect base for both business and tourism. Guests can look forward to having some of Dublin's top visitor attractions on their doorstep, including Kilmainham Gaol, the Guinness Storehouse, Phoenix Park, Dublin Zoo, the Royal Hospital Kilmainham and Old Jameson Distillery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Dublin Kilmainham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Dublin Kilmainham Hotel Dublin
Dublin Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing