We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Hotel....extremely helpful staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Dublin Kilmainham
Ranked #23 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Brilliant Hotel....extremely helpful staff!”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

First of all I would just like to thank Brian at Reception for all his help. Myself and my friend had never been to Dublin before so were unsure of where to go but Brian was really helpful and talked us through all the best places to go and even outlined it all out on a map for us. Furthermore, I would also like to praise all the staff at the Hotel Dublin Kilmainham, I found them all extremely helpful and polite.

The actual hotel is wonderful - very modern and clean! The restaurant does a nice range of food and all at reasonable prices. They even do room service, which is available 24 hours a day, which was really helpful when you don't arrive till 11:00pm and are starving! We were really lucky with weather over the weekend and were able to sit out on the terrace at the restaurant, which was really nice.

We also had breakfast included with our room and it was an excellent spread. They had all your usual bacon, sausage, eggs and some local foods too. Then pastries, cereal, fruit, yoghurts etc. The breakfast is definitely worth the money in my opinion.

We had a standard twin room which was suprisingly spacious. The bathroom was really quite large and was immaculately clean. The room also had a TV which had all the standard channels. A safe was located in the room at no extra cost and air conditioning which came in handy. We were only there for two nights but the maids came up to clean our room.

I really couldn't fault the hotel and would highly recommend it. I plan on returning to Dublin next year and would definitely stay at the Hotel Dublin Kilmainham again . It is relatively close to Dublin town centre - a short taxi ride away and we walked to Phoenix Park both days and it took just under 30 minutes. The airport again isn't that far away from the hotel - roughly a 25/30 minute taxi ride and cost just over 25 euros which wasn't bad. The hotel even organised our taxi on the morning we left to take us to the airport.

Faultless hotel - excellent service!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank -x-HolidayGirl-x-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Director of Sales at Hilton Dublin Kilmainham, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Hello and thank you for your positive comments. I'm delighted you enjoyed the amenities of our modern hotel and the famous Hilton buffet breakfast. Brian is an excellent ambassador for Dublin and tourism and he provides a memorable start to any trip. I hope you have fond memories of your trip and we look forward to welcoming you on your return visit; do let me know if we can assist in your plans.
Kind regards,
Deirdre Moriarty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,031 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,027
    678
    203
    90
    33
See reviews for
435
805
105
363
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 4 days during a conference in late June. The hotel is right across the street from the jail, so you have access to all the hop on and hop off buses. Otherwise it is a good 10 minute drive to the temple bar area. It is close to the phoenix park and the zoo, but again not really within walking distance. We were able to take a 15 min walk to the guiness storehouse, but other then that you are not close to anything. There is no real option on food, except the restaurant, which was pretty good. There is a take away chinese place, pizza place and a pub across the street serving italian food. These are the only restaurants that you can find-so plan on eating while you are out and about.

The rooms are ok, and having to purchase 2 rooms for a family of 5 with a 3,5, and 7 yr old made the cost of the hotel in the high price range. They are basic rooms, and the air conditioning did not work the best in our room. The conversion plug for ipad/ipod/cell phones did not function and we were told that most did not work because of wiring issues. There is no benefit for being a diamond member, in fact out of the 5 rooms we booked that had a total of 6 children. We received one small complimentary can of chocolate shamrocks-a 5 euro gesture. So if you are a hilton honors member whether it be silver, gold or diamond-there is no real advantage.

I will tell you that the reservation person at the hotel was exceptional. She helped us arrange everything, and made sure that we had the right reservations and that the rooms were connecting. It was because of her that we would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimandthefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Director of Sales at Hilton Dublin Kilmainham, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Hello and thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you experienced some issues with AC and IT. We are currently working on remedying them and our apologies that they were not rectified during your stay. We are also in the process of reviewing our amenities for HHonors members and thank you for your comments on that. When catering for families, we believe in providing maximum comfort so for families we offer interconnecting rooms. I appreciate that this involves 2 rooms, but we try to provide the second room at discounted rates. It's encouraging to hear such positive feedback on my colleague in reservations and I am glad that her professionalism went towards redeeming our hotel. I do hope you will return to our hotel again and if I can be of any assistance when planning your next trip, I'd be delighted to hear from you.
Kind regards,
Deirdre Moriarty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York Harbor, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Very good staff. Very helpful and friendly, especially our friend Adam the bartender. Bar good, food good, breakfast and a dinner. The silly glass shower curtain merely redirected the water onto the bathroom floor. And the HVAC didn't wok real well, the thermostat was useless. But overall a nice clean quiet hotel.

The issue is location. It is well out of town. And there is not much around it. True, Klmainham Gaol, the most important site in the history of the Republic, is across the street. And the Museum of Modern Art is also across the street; sadly closed for renovations at the moment. Phoenix Park a bit of a walk to the north. But, aside from one pub with a so so restaurant across the street there is nothing else around.

It's a hike to Heuston Ststion and public transportation. Nice walk, but still a hike (kilometer?). One nicer pub and restaurant a hike the other way. I love to walk, and walked in all directions, and the weather was fair. But if it's raining, it's a taxi ride into town. At 6-7 euro each way.

So, nice place. Great staff. But a bit out of the way.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Director of Sales at Hilton Dublin Kilmainham, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Hello,
Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent stay and your positive comments on our team and hotel. I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy our location as much. The location is ideal for many, offering a quiet calm away from the hustle and bustle of the main city centre but still being easily accessible. But for those who want an array of bars and restaurants on the doorstep and be in the heart of the nightlife, we are a little removed. Regarding public transport, there are a number of public bus services that directly service the hotel to the city centre and there is a nearer Luas tram station than Heuston on Suir Road, just 5 to 6 minutes walk. I am sorry that my colleagues did not fully inform you of these options.
Kind regards,
Deirdre Moriarty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2012

I have just returned from a weekend in Dublin and i was delighted with this hotel, friendly approcahable staff, lovely room and everything you need, Our stay was also added to by the hotels recommendation of a local tour guide named Bryan who took us on a tour of the Wicklow Mountains, which was wonderful. I cant recommed the hotel and Bryan highly enough.

Room Tip: Request a 5th floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Director of Sales at Hilton Dublin Kilmainham, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Hello and thank you for your comments. It's encouraging to hear your positive feedback on the hotel's team as we believe the dedication and friendliness of our team is as important as the quality of our hotel. I'm glad your enjoyed your personalised tour of Wicklow with Brian and I hope you have fond memories of your trip to Dublin.
Kind regards,
Deirdre Moriarty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Within walking distance to the heart of dublin means its location is superb. Just a stone throw away from the old Kilmainham jail. Good food and helpfull staff. Ideal place to stay on a budget.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank niall h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portrush
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Everything you would expect from a hilton hotel, nice, clean, friendly and overpriced! Our evening meal in the bar was very good. The breakfast was good too, but a total rip off......just way too expensive. We stayed in the hilton junior suite which was the best room they had. It was nice, but we had a shared balcony and the shower was a wee drip of water! This hotel is more suited for business traveller's.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KerryLou2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Spent a couple nights with extended family ranging in ages from 13 to 78. Had a very good time and the staff was quite competent. Allowed for early check-in for several rooms when part of our group arrived at 7 AM after very long plane trip. Front desk staff could be a bit more knowledgeable about the immediate area, but Sara shined. Only real downside is location but not overwhelming. BRIAN O'REILLY ROCKS! Local driver who is not even a Hilton employee was a wealth of great information. Started a family vacation off very well.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Director of Sales at Hilton Dublin Kilmainham, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Hello and thank you for sharing the experience of your stay at the Hilton Dublin Kilmainham. I'm glad we were able to faciliate early check in following your trans-Atlantic flight and that you found our team helpful. I'm sorry that not all of the front desk team could assist with all your queries, but we have ongoing training and I'm delighted to hear that Sara was a star!
I agree that Brian can set the stage for an exceptional trip to Dublin,he is indeed an endless well of valuable information. I hope you are already planning your return trip and we would be delighted to welcome you and your family back to the hotel in the future.
Kind regards,
Deirdre Moriarty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.8 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#17 of 151 in Dublin
4,434 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hilton Dublin
Hilton Dublin
#49 of 151 in Dublin
1,904 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin City Centre
2.6 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 151 in Dublin
4,502 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Dublin Kilmainham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Dublin Kilmainham

Property: Hilton Dublin Kilmainham
Address: | Kilmainham, Dublin D08 XAK3, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Kilmainham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#30 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#33 Family Hotel in Dublin
#35 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Dublin Kilmainham 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the most accessible edge of Dublin city centre, the Hilton Dublin Kilmainham hotel is the perfect base for both business and tourism. Guests can look forward to having some of Dublin's top visitor attractions on their doorstep, including Kilmainham Gaol, the Guinness Storehouse, Phoenix Park, Dublin Zoo, the Royal Hospital Kilmainham and Old Jameson Distillery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Dublin Kilmainham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Dublin Kilmainham Hotel Dublin
Dublin Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing