We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big thanks Tara and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kildare Street Hotel
Ranked #52 of 162 Dublin B&B and Inns
ballymoney N ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Big thanks Tara and staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

spent a night here, myself/husband and 3 teenagers...absolutely wonderful!!!

Hotel very central and clean, Tara on reception was wonderful and went above and beyond duty to ensure our teenage guests' visit was all it could be and more, thanks again Tara.
Would definitely stay again, ANY time visiting Dublin.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kate m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    148
    87
    47
    36
See reviews for
75
74
44
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
219 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

I stayed here last week and also a few months ago. It was bad a few months ago but the service was great and things were beyond their control like no TV working and no WIFI. But this time the room cost twice as much and was half the size. Third floor, with screaming and laughing on the halls at 4am which went on for over an hour. I didn't get a wink of sleep and checked out at 6am where I walked up and down the streets of Dublin looking for a taxi as no one was on reception. I just threw the keys on the counter and left. Awful. Despite its great location sadly I wont be back.

Room Tip: there is no lift and its 3 floors so if this is a problem rethink it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandraorourkeglynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter-ORiordan, Manager at Kildare Street Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you once again for booking with The Kildare Street Hotel and thank you also for your review.
We appreciate and encourage all feedback from our guests as your perspective is essential to achieving and maintaining the best possible standards.
I am very disappointed and sorry for your experiences with us. The price difference relates to the time of year and room type reserved. My apologies also for the disruption during the night. We do encourage all guests to contact us at reception for any reason to ensure we can resolve any issues. The absence of a receptionist in the morning can be explained but thank you for highlighting this and we have adjusted our procedures to ensure this will not happen again.
We hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future and help us improve the experience through your very honest and constructive comments.

Regards,
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

We took this hotel because of its great location--steps from national museums, Book of Kells, St. Stephens Green, big shopping streets, etc. We were not disappointed. Mgmt says that because they are designated a historic bldg they cannot add elevator, but they did carry our bags to our room and refused a tip for it, due to elevator situation. Our room, though on the small side, had a pleasant though simple decor and a nice bathroom and good light. Also was spotless every day. Staff was super friendly and accommodating. I do not recommend paying in advance for the breakfast (as we did). There is nothing wrong with the breakfast, and they offer a pretty good variety and good value, and will do things not listed on the menu, upon request, such as poach the eggs, or give cheese and ham. It is just that if one is there for several days, as we were, it is nice to sample the many good option in the neighborhood, such as the French cafe (Cocotte) across the street, or KC Peaches, around the corner. So I would recommend buying breakfast in the hotel for part of your stay, to get samples of the traditional Irish breakfast and also unlimited amounts (such as free refills on coffee), and then step out a few times as well. P.S there is a great Italian restaurant around the block on the street between Dawson and Kildare. It has two names in the title (Like Smith and Jones, but not that.) Finally, we stayed on the fourth floor (they call it third) , because we requested a quiet room, wanting to avoid noise from the pub.It was indeed quiet.

Room Tip: communicate your wishes to the mgmt before you come. They can be very accommodating. Even gave us e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesl2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

This hotel is great value in a fantastic city centre location. Only 2 minutes walk from Grafton Street, Dublins main shopping area.
The staff were extremely helpful & very friendly. The breakfast was surprisingly good. Our room was very clean & quiet.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter-ORiordan, Manager at Kildare Street Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you once again for booking with The Kildare Street Hotel and thank you also for your review.
Great to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us and we hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Kind regards,
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

All the staff go out of their way to be friendly and even opened the bar late at night especially for us. Excellent bar, great atmosphere, lovely breakfast all in all good value. Room a bit dated but clean and well maintained. Would recommend. Location perfect for accessing any part of Dublin.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neilc323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter-ORiordan, Manager at Kildare Street Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you once again for booking with The Kildare Street Hotel and thank you also for your review.
We appreciate and encourage all feedback from our guests as your perspective is essential to achieving and maintaining the best possible standards.
I will pass your comments on to the staff who, i'm sure, will appreciate the feedback.
All the best and see you soon,
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Will be staying again , staff were brilliant and helpful. Food and drinks as well as staff in the ATtached pub were great!

Price was reasonable and we were only minutes from the centre of Dublin , I will be staying again on my next trip

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamessnicheals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter-ORiordan, Manager at Kildare Street Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words. We are delighted that you had a good experience here and we very much look forward to your next visit.
All the best,
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlebury, Vermont
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Incredibly friendly and helpful staff, including the barkeeps at the attached pub. We asked for dinner recommendations and they were always right on. The location is ideal for seeing Dublin on foot. We walked everywhere. Stayed in a triple--two twins and a double--with our two teenaged sons and it was perfect. If you have a street view just be sure to ask the pub to turn off the outdoor speakers after 9 or it can be a constant soundtrack to your attempted dreams. We had a room overlooking the Trinity College green and it was great. Tea and biscuits were replenished daily--and munched within minutes--and the housekeeping was attentive if not always consistent in the timing each day. All we had to do was ask!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blairkloman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter-ORiordan, Manager at Kildare Street Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you guys for your very kind comments. It was great to meet you and i hope you will stay with us again. Maybe on the next lecture tour??;-)
All the best,
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.4 mi away
Drury Court Hotel
Drury Court Hotel
#26 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#24 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dublin Citi Hotel
Dublin Citi Hotel
#75 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Trinity Lodge
Trinity Lodge
#33 of 162 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lombard Townhouse
The Lombard Townhouse
#41 of 162 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.3 mi away
O'Donoghue's
O'Donoghue's
#30 of 162 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kildare Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kildare Street Hotel

Property: Kildare Street Hotel
Address: 47 - 49 Kildare Street, Dublin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 162 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kildare Street Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kildare Street Hotel is a budget hotel located in Dublin city centre. Our Dublin Hotel accommodation offers guests clean comfortable rooms at very reasonable rates. If you are looking for cheap hotels in Dublin our hotel is ideal, you'll find the hospitality warm and friendly; and the atmosphere bustling.The hotel has been recently refurbished; the reception area and bedrooms have all been redecorated with modern furnishings. More facilities are now included in the rooms – tea / coffee making facilities and bathroom toiletries. Wifi is available in the Hotel free of charge.Our staff will be happy to help you plan excursions, arrange taxis and help you with your luggage.Early & Late check outs available and FREE WIFI is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kildare Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing