We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kingfisher Townhouse
Ranked #68 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
uk
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed February 11, 2009

We stayed for 2 nights over a 6 nations rugby weekend. We had one of the 2 bedroomed apartments. The were modern, spotless and perfectly functional.

A big bonus is that the windows are soundproofed, this is great as in previous visits to Dublin, traffic noise is unbearable in most city centre hotels.

Location was superb, breakfast was excellent. All in all a great place to stay.

  • Liked — Location and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank deanoleggio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    142
    52
    14
    4
See reviews for
72
188
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Heredia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2008

Knowing nothing at all about Dublin while we were visiting some friends, we stayed at the KingFisher B&B. We found a great, clean, spacious place where to stay.

It is just around the corner of O' Connell St, which is a great location to walk around the city.

Administration was very friendly and helpful. Food on the restaurant was very tasty and good serviced.

Would recommend it.

  • Liked — Clean, professional, excellent location
  • Disliked — There is no elevator. Tough to move luggage around.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ninikah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2008

Staff is unfriendly and unwelcoming. Rooms are clean and efficient, however, not real comfortable. It was nice to have a mini fridge and sink in the room. The restaurant was great. Good service and great breakfast every morning.

  • Liked — The location to downtown Dublin and the included breakfast.
  • Disliked — The unfriendliness of the staff and comfortableness of the beds.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jcaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2008

stayed in the kingfisher at the end of may, rooms very clean and pefect for a cheap stay in dublin, just off o connell street in the heart of dublin city, perfect for croke park, breakfast was great,lovely irish fry up, if your on a budget but want to be sure your staying somewhere cheap pick this place well worth the 55 euros for a saturday nite

  • Liked — location and price
  • Disliked — shoers are just a tiny bit small,nothing major
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank cork_m30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2008

I stayed here for a 4 night stint, followed about a week later by a 1 night stay (in order to catch my flight, the next day). I had a mixed experience. The location is fabulous. It is on the Northside of Dublin, but it is less than a five minute walk to O'Connell street. The help was great and helpful. This includes the help at their take-away food stand & their restaurant (where breakfast is served). They have someone at the desk, around the clock and you can always obtain help, if necessary. Even though I travelled alone, I was given a larger room (3 beds) for a single price, on my 4 night stint & a self-service apartment, on my 1 night stay, once again, for a single price. The beds were comfortable, the rooms were spacious and the bedding & towels were clean. Everything was clean. Here are my complaints; 1. their wifi didn't work (which is one of the main reasons I chose to stay there), 2. their showers are a joke. The water pressure is almost none existant. Any woman with thicker or longer hair is going to have a hell of a time trying to wash her hair. Both units had terrible showers. 3. Their kitchen appliances in the self-service apartment are a bit rustic, but not terrible. 4. They have a serious shortage of outlets in their units. If you need to charge batteries & a laptop, or whatever; once you have plugged in your tea maker, you aren't left with much for outlets. Overall, the price is fair, for what you get. Word to the wise; if you are travelling with another person and you eat at their restaurant, you might only need to order one meal. The portions are very big! Good value for your money, which is hard to find in Dublin, where dinner prices soar after 5:00 PM.

  • Liked — Location and help
  • Disliked — showers and wifi
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MickieMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2007

We stayed in Kingfisher apartments for a few days in August at th beginning of our European trip. Overall, the apartment was clean, decent layout (2 bedrooms) and well furnished/modern enough for our needs.

My complaint is this. In our rush to leave and catch the next flight, we accidentally left behind a few articles of clothing in the bedroom closet. A few of the items were really expensive ($250 silk dress) and had a lot of sentimental value (worn on wedding anniversary). We contacted the hotel as soon as we left and realized what had happeneed and were told by management that they had our clothing and would mail it to us back at home. We again called a few days later and told the staff that we would be back in Ireland in one week and would be happy to pick up our stuff if needed; they told us to not bother as it had been sent. After arriving home and never receiving the package, we contacted them by phone 2 more times, each time being told that the pkg had been sent. We again offered to give a credit card# to pay for postage, etc, but had been told it was sent. It is now October and we still don't have our clothes. Now, Kingfisher is not responding to my multiple emails asking if there is a pkg tracking # or if the clothes were sent.

I had expressed to management how much sentimental value these items had to us and how we were willing to pay to get them back. On several occasions I was assured that they were sent but obviously they were not.

I wish someone in the management staff would be honest with me about my missing property or just have told me from the beginning that they had no intent to ever return the articles to us.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank apothecary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2007

A recent stay at the Kingfisher was a mixed bag for me. The place was in a very decent location - it was easy to get to and from the airport via an express bus stop right around the corner and it was walking distance from everything in Dublin. But the place itself was small and shabby with dirty carpets and bed linens. The front door to the place slammed very hard ( and about every 5 min) and made the doors and windows in our room rattle, which was very annoying. By the time you were done with your shower, you were standing in 3 inches of water. It was convenient to have a coffee maker and fridge in the room and the complementary breakfast at the Kingfisher Restaurant was very good.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Slamming front door
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sunnys_Day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Dublin Central Inn
Dublin Central Inn
#79 of 151 in Dublin
1,121 reviews
North City Centre
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#104 of 151 in Dublin
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 151 in Dublin
4,476 reviews
Dublin Citi Hotel
#76 of 151 in Dublin
1,017 reviews
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#90 of 151 in Dublin
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfisher Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher Townhouse

Property: Kingfisher Townhouse
Address: 166 Parnell Street, Dublin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#45 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingfisher Townhouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kingfisher is a family run business for over 38 years. The Kingfisher is located in the heart of Dublin, ideal when visiting Dublin . Our recently refurbished boutique rooms make it the perfect base for exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kingfisher Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingfisher Townhouse Hotel Dublin
Kingfisher Hotel Dublin
Kingfisher Hotel Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing