We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, reasonable price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kingfisher Townhouse
Ranked #68 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Love the Kingfisher. It's very straight-forward. Chips, good breakfast and, if you're on for a special treat, a knickerbocker glory. Staff are consistently friendly. Definitely recommended for value and daysent food!! Me, pal and four kids today = €30

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Deidinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (416)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 416 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Frank W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We recently spent two nights in Dublin, the first of which was at the Kingfisher Townhouse. Easily located next to the family owned bar/restaurant ( where we had our breakfast the following morning ) we entered into a small but pleasant reception area, with a good display of local information ( buses, shows,attractions,maps,etc). We were warmly welcomed, and although we were quite early, our room was ready and we were able to leave our bags there before setting off to explore the City. Located on the third floor, up fairly steep steps, our room was stunning. It had just been redecorated in lovely shades of olive, blue and mocha, and all the furniture, the curtains and the headboard really complemented each other beautifully.Despite being on a busy street, there was no road noise whatsoever. The ensuite was immaculately clean, with an enclosed shower unit and complimentary toiletries. There were plenty of towels ( although these could have been a bit bigger ). There were tea and coffee making facilities, a flat screen TV with wide selection of channels, electric heater ( which was most welcome when the temperature dropped that night!) and ample storage space in the wardrobe. 24 hour reception assistance is available if there are any problems, and a 10% discount voucher given for use in their restaurant on a further visit at any time within the next year! After an excellent night's sleep, we had a tasty breakfast from a choice of several options. I had the cheese omelette, and my husband had the full cooked breakfast, plus fruit juice and hot drinks- all included in the cost of the overnight stay. The food was delicious and the ingredients are locally sourced each day. Service was prompt and friendly. We had a great time and would definitely recommend the hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed 1 evening at the Kingfisher Townhouse. It is very well located adjacent to the City Centre. We had a courtyard-facing room and had a very nice, quiet night's sleep. The staff were uniformly pleasant and helpful, especially as we showed up on their doorstep at 7 am to just leave our bags but instead were able to check into a room and actually take a brief nap before exploring Dublin. The cafe to the left is very good and worth a look. The restaurant with the same name to the right of the hotel had a reasonably good Irish breakfast (the white pudding especially is a can't miss) and I'm sure most of their other options would be fine as well. All in all for the price, location, and breakfast thrown in, you'd be hard-pressed to beat the Kingfisher. (Note: we didn't have a rental car to deal with at this location so not sure how parking or anything would be).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank profaloof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is not luxury accommodation but for the price it's hard to beat. The room, though small, was spotlessly clean. Pleasant decor & modern shower room with fantastic power shower. Staff were very helpful & friendly. Location at top of O'Connell is very good - easy access, short walk to main city centre sites. Breakfast was included in price & was available in restaurant next door & was very good. Again lovely staff.

I was down for a conference & many of my colleagues paid a lot more for accommodation that was much poorer. If you're on a budget I'd really recommend here.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madame O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

We arrived quite early, nothing was open. Check in was not for another few hours,but staff worked quickly to get us into our room so that we could nap and get over the jet lag.

The cleaning staff was superb, and the bathrooms were updated and immaculate. The rooms were small, but clean and sufficient.

The price was very reasonable and included breakfast at the restaurant next door. Breakfast was good and filling. It included a full Irish breakfast of eggs, black and white pudding, potatoes, mushrooms, and two sausage.

The location is good to the shopping district, and close enough to attractions, but not too close to the hustle and bustle. The area was generally quiet for a city. Most everything was walking distance, and the few things that weren't, we used the hop on hop off bus for. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wondering_Knowmadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Antony R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Castle Hotel
#54 of 150 in Dublin
2,074 reviews
North City Centre
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#106 of 150 in Dublin
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South City Centre
Stauntons on the Green
Stauntons on the Green
#64 of 150 in Dublin
834 reviews
Dergvale Hotel
#77 of 150 in Dublin
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfisher Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher Townhouse

Address: 166 Parnell Street, Dublin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#45 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $72 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingfisher Townhouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kingfisher is a family run business for over 38 years. The Kingfisher is located in the heart of Dublin, ideal when visiting Dublin . Our recently refurbished boutique rooms make it the perfect base for exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kingfisher Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingfisher Townhouse Hotel Dublin
Kingfisher Hotel Dublin
Kingfisher Hotel Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing