We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average B&B”
Review of Slievenamon Manor

Slievenamon Manor
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Slievenamon Manor
Ranked #60 of 151 Dublin B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Slievenamon Manor was rather average in comparison to all B&Bs we visited. The room was very small. We got used to bottle of water usually put in B&Bs, but here there wasn't any and the tap water was not really drinkable without boiling. There was no shower gel either. We asked for turning the heater on since our clothes and shoes were completely wet, but we managed to get it only for a couple of hours; hardly enough to dry them. It was rather cold that night. When we asked to use kitchen facilities (to cook something for ourselves) they were not available. The breakfast was rather big and tasty, no complaints here.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Anna_Maria_Estera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 92 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2012

For a B&B, everything was fine (location, keys working...). The room was "compact" for two twin beds: it's REALLY a room to sleep and not much else. The problem (also read in a prior Review) was the dirty bathroom. There was no toilet paper or bathsoap, and the Airwick freshener was a withered bean that was right on the sink and never changed. But we did find a 1/2 used mini-bottle of travel shampoo.

The next morning, we were running late and went to the dining area at 10:30. Maybe after 'normal' breakfast times, but it would have been nice to be offered something more than coffee and toast!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MikeJogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

We had a lovely stay here. My husband and I came here on our first stop to Ireland and everyone that ran the B&B was wonderful! We stayed for two nights and had a great Irish Breakfast both mornings. They were so sweet and we had great conversations with John. I wouldn't pay attention to the negative reviews because our stay was great indeed. We had a great view of the bay from our third floor window, everything was clean and tidy.

Bus was only a minute walk and we took that the entire Dublin stay since it is easy to get lost when driving.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Boadie2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

This was the first of a few B&B's my husband and I stayed at in Ireland and it was one of our favorites. We went to Ireland for our honeymoon. When we arrived, John's son was there to help us with our bags to the room. Later on we met John who was just nice as can be. Anytime we needed anything, we knocked on their door downstairs and someone was always available. The rooms were definitely clean. If you're looking to stay at in a larger room with larger bathrooms, then B&B's are not the way you want to go. For us, it was just perfect. Yes, the rooms are not large and the bathrooms are not large, but they were the largest of any of the other B&B's that we stayed in.

There are a few restaurants around the B&B. There is a bus stop a half block up that takes you straight into Dublin City. And about 10 minutes north is a fishing town named Hoathe. John recommended there for dinner and we had a fabulous dinner.

Overall, we were very impressed and would highly recommend it to others.

Room Tip: If you want to stay in one bed, make sure you request that ahead of time. They have several rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

We arrived early and John let us in early. It was great. John sat with us during breakfast, and gave a real insight into Irish Culture. No Complaints. Loved it!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

For good, honest and down to earth hospitality and accommodation, without any unnecessary frills and just outside Dublin, this the place to be.

Our room had a stunning sea view which was enchanting by night.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert_Hutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

My family and I (6 adults) roadtripped across Ireland in the fall of 2010 (September/October). We stayed in a different B&B each night of our 10-day vacation. Slievenamon Manor was our last night.

I have to say I was surprised to read negative reviews of this place. I might not have stayed here had I read the reviews beforehand, but I'm glad I didn't. We had a very pleasant stay. It's located on the northeast side of the city across from the water and on a main busline. The hosts were kind enough to allow us to check in early (late morning) so that we could leave our cars there (in free, off street parking) and explore the city. The city center is an easy 10-15 minute bus ride away. Our experiences with the buses in Dublin were great. They are clean, safe, convenient and affordable. Our room was on the second floor. It was clean, adequately sized, and had a bathroom ensuite with a queen-size bed. The bed was not overally comfortable, but we didn't mind. A traditional Irish breakfast was served the next morning in the first floor dining room. The host also helped us with directions to the airport that morning. We had no complaints about this B&B and would gladly have stayed here again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllycatMKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 152 in Dublin
4,299 reviews
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#38 of 152 in Dublin
2,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#69 of 152 in Dublin
1,463 reviews
The Croke Park
#5 of 152 in Dublin
4,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Slievenamon Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slievenamon Manor

Address: 302 Clontarf Road, Dublin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Slievenamon Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slievenamon Manor Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing