We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't walk....Run away!”
Review of Slievenamon Manor

Slievenamon Manor
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Slievenamon Manor
Ranked #60 of 150 Dublin B&B and Inns
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Don't walk....Run away!”
Reviewed May 6, 2011

I am still so shocked by how poorly run this B&B is, I can hardly think of where to start. The innkeeper is rarely there...he is constantly leaving notes for guests to go next door or wait for him to return in 10 mins (which turned into over an hour for one guest we encountered on returning from Dublin). No assistance was provided to help guests up multiple flights of stairs with suitcases, beds were lumpier than sausage gravy, cups in the bathroom still had toothpaste on the rim, and the breakfast was cold cereal and powdered orange juice. The towels have never come in contact with fabric softener, and he moved us to a different room, which was stuffy and overlooked the laundry hanging in the back garden.

The 130 bus to Dublin City Centre stops about half a block down , and the fare per person is 1.80. There aren't "loads of restaurants around, as he advertises, but the 1014 Restaurant a couple blocks up the road was quite nice. There is a chip shop next door.

Anyway, service was lamentable, cleanliness was suspect and it was a bitter disappointment.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meribor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    21
    6
    8
    13
See reviews for
17
33
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Springdale, Arkansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2010

Charming waterfront property within easy bus reach of the heart of Dublin. Quiet and picturesque, yet convenient to Dublin airport by taxi.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Briney_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worth, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2010

The service at this B&B was average at best. The building is old and the rooms are very small and not very comfortable. Bathroom is small and not really very clean. Location is far from Dublin cit center. It must be reached by City Bus or cab. We did not like this place that much and would look for other accommodations on returning to Dublin. It is a 28 to 30 euro ride to and from the airport.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank droehr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Dallas, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2010

The Slievenamon Manor is one of the worst places we stayed. while in Irela We spend 7 nights in Ireland staying at B & B's and this was the worst possible choice we could have made. The bathrooms were very dirty, dirt and mold all around the shower, the coffee pot was dirty and the milk had expired in April. Mismatched linens on the beds, we were so concerned with the cleanness that we were afraid to eat breakfast there so just asked for fruit. The young men did not seem to care that we were upset that everything was so dirty and unkept. Do not plan a stay here, they need to be inspected by the B & B association and taken off the places recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucille12393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Tyrone
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2009

My friends and I stayed here only last weekend (13th June 2009) we had a Take That concert in Croke park. From the minute we arrived John was very helpful, offering advice and bending over backwards to please, true gentleman.
The room was clean tidy and really lovely with an excellent view of the coast.
I would recommend this B&B to anyone I know who is travelling to Dublin for a stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2009

We also found the toilet not clean, the glasses in our room covered in finger prints and the cups sticky. I cleaned the toilet and my husband cleaned the cups. We decided to leave on good terms and so said we were just leaving a day early. The owner told us the next morning that this was not allowed. Had to give 24 hours notice according to the Tourist Bureau. So, we told him the truth about why we were displeased. He then proceeded to yell at my husband. I joined my husband and he yelled at us both saying we just wanted to leave and made it all up. He was cooking our breakfast at the time and so we were treated to overcooked food. On our return we stayed at Clontarf Castle which was a joy after this. This turned us off B&Bs for the most part. We tried to stay in Hotels and pubs after this.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Filidh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 16, 2009

I stayed in Slievenamon for a week with my family in August 2008. Our time there was superb from the moment we were greeted at the door by our host, John to our departure. The rooms were clean and comfortable with a breathtaking view of Dublin Bay to greet us every morning. The breakfast was also excellent with more than enough for any hungry guest. Our host was helpful, accommodating and an all round gentleman. Clontarf is a beautiful area with various restaurants and amenities nearby and the beach also a 5 minute walk. Buses run regularly into the City Centre from outside the door. Overall, an excellent holiday enhanced by staying in Slievenamon. I will definitely be back!!!

  • Liked — Host
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ETCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dublin
1.0 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,746 reviews
0.6 mi away
Avoca Lodge
Avoca Lodge
#100 of 150 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
4.0 mi away
Cornerville B&B
Cornerville B&B
#1 of 3 in Sutton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
St. Judes
St. Judes
#72 of 150 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bellgrove B&B
Bellgrove B&B
#61 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Artist Residence Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Slievenamon Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slievenamon Manor

Property: Slievenamon Manor
Address: 302 Clontarf Road, Dublin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Slievenamon Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slievenamon Manor Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing