We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value spacious accommodation but in need of a lick of paint” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Your Home from Home - Southdock

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Your Home from Home - Southdock
Ranked #23 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
irl
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good value spacious accommodation but in need of a lick of paint”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2010

The apartment was extremely spacious, huge actually 2 bedrooms on 3 different floors with balconies, it was clean, parking was free. It is a bit hard to locate if you are not familiar with Dublin. it seemed to be well equipped but as we were only staying 1 night we only gave a quick scan. There was a strong smell of smoke in the living area and the place could do with a lick of paint but it is good value

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank concannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    36
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
36
17
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2010

Just returned from two nights in the Home away from home apartments in Dublin. I was there with two friends but i think i will return with my girlfriend. The apartments wre very clean and secure. A walk to the temple bar area and centre takes about 15 minutes and the national history museum is about 5 minutes. The surrounding docks and riverfront is great and the national lansdowne stadium is close by.

Great find and a very good price.

Stay here and don't listen to the moaners on this site.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joeyoungglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishon Lezion, Israel
Level Contributor
216 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2009

The hotel is located in a rundown eastern section of Dublin. In the middle of nowhere, but a 10 minutes bus hop (no. 1, 2, 3) from the city center (Temple Bar, Trinity College, O'Connell street).
The price was well bellow centrally located Dublin self-catering units. Consider buying a day bus pass from any supermarket.
By foot it's a half an hour tiresome walk on the ugly Pearse street. We rented a double bedroom with a twin and a double bed rooms.
The double bedroom was very small and a deformed U-shaped mattress; I and my wife unwillingly ended sleeping in a tender embrace. The rest of the furniture was OK and well kept, with a large fridge and all you need for a kitchenette.
We were greeted by a very amiable clerk that was expecting us by prior coordination.
We didn't see any staff afterwards.
There is no reception to speak of, notably during the weekend; you are given a mobile phone number for emergencies.
There is a well-stocked grocery just behind property.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fane_Babanul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yourhome53, Manager at Your Home from Home - Southdock, responded to this review, May 25, 2010
Our apartments are located on the Ringsend Road, beside Shelbourne Dog track, in Dublin 4. The area is a very new area in terms of apartments and has a more traditional residential feel. In the area you will find some of Dublins best entertainment attractions: The O2 Music Venue, The AVIVA Stadium, The Conference Centre,The Grand Canal Theatre and The RDS. These are all with a few minutes walk of our apartments. In addition, all our units have been renovated in that last 12 months. The apartments at The Moorings have been replaced by more modern and spacious units located at South Dock, Spencer Dock and Baggot Rath. I look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Thanks. Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2008

We stay regualrly in apartments all over Europe (London, York, Paris, Stockholm, etc) and this property was not up to the standards of these others, many of which we stay in year after year, and despite a fairly good rating. The space was more than adequate--that was the best part (we had a two-bedroom/two bath). There were no amenities (soap, dish soap, paper towels, etc ) furnished except two rolls of toilet paper--nothing, Even for self-catering, that is not what we typically find in well run properties. The towels were threadbare and the carpets stained. The hallways and elevator constantly reeked of cigarette smoke and you couldn't open the sliding glass doors without smoke coming in from other units. Our unit was non-smoking, but only if we kept it shut up. There were noise problems at night when a theatre cast staying there retuned around 1AM.. Management did get them to tone down after several complaints from us and others, but again we still had to keep the windows closed and use a sound machine to be able to sleep. One other point--my wife and I are runners and athletic, and it was about a twenty minute walk for us to the city centre--okay for us, but something to consider. We would not stay there again.

  • Liked — The spaciousness of the apartment
  • Disliked — The overall run down feel of the place
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank runnerkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yourhome53, Manager at Your Home from Home - Southdock, responded to this review, May 25, 2010
Thank you for your review. I was disappointed to see you had not a great experience. As part of our ongoing attention to the quality of our apartments, we are no longer keeping guests at The Moorings Apartmenst. We have a new selection of apartments located at South Dock, Spencer Dock and Baggot Rath. We look forward to looking after you future needs in these modern and spacious apartments. Thanks. Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2008

The Moorings is one of a group of three or more locations managed by “Your Home From Home”. We booked at Baggot Rath (one of their blocks of apartments). In the evening when we landed, we called from Dublin Airport for the rep to meet us there, but when we arrived by taxi, no one was around. We called again only to find out that the rep’s booking was listed as being at The Moorings. We reloaded our luggage, and the cab driver took us to The Moorings. When we showed the rep our printout clearly stating Baggot Rath, he professed to know nothing about it and told us we’d have to wait until the A.M.

We took our luggage up to a two bedroom apartment next to the street and a construction zone. It was decently furnished and equipped but it was set up for two couples, not our family. The next morning we were awakened quite early by local workers having a chat and a smoke in the shelter outside our window. My wife went to check with the office who told us there had been a mistake and that we should have been met at Baggot Rath but that they could move us to another “quieter” apartment with better sleeping arrangements in The Moorings complex. We packed up and moved to one of their 4th floor units with a much better view.

Our apartment was nicely furnished along with having a great view from the living room. Had the place been clean and decently maintained I’d have no hesitation in recommending it. Unfortunately it wasn’t clean and it wasn’t well-maintained. The carpets were stained and dirty, the walls were damaged, the doors squealed loudly whenever they were moved, and some items listed as being included in the apartment were nowhere to be found. The bathroom door had no lock, and no working fan. A visit to the on site office produced apologies but nothing else. (check the pictures)

  • Liked — The view and easy bus access
  • Disliked — Check the pictures
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank SilverL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.5 mi away
Maldron Hotel Pearse Street
0.5 mi away
Ferryman Hotel
Ferryman Hotel
#97 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#39 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
0.4 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,742 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Shipwright Guesthouse
The Shipwright Guesthouse
#71 of 161 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Your Home from Home - Southdock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Your Home from Home - Southdock

Property: Your Home from Home - Southdock
Address: Ringsend Road, Dublin Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Your Home from Home - Southdock 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Your Home from Home - Southdock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Your Home From Home - Southdock Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing