We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Your Home from Home - Southdock
Ranked #28 of 126 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here for a concert in the O2, the apartments were gorgeous. Really modern and had everything you need. Only thing was check out is early 10am so may not suit if you hit the nightclub the night before!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bheigue123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 112 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

I cannot praise these apartments enough. They were really spacious, with two balconies two bedrooms and two bathrooms. The bed linen and towels were of the highest quality, as were the fittings, furniture crockery, cutlery....I have never been in such spotless accommodation. We holiday at home every year and for the first time want to return to this property. Bus timetables would have been handy as the location is not very well accessible by public transport.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

My fiancé and I stayed at the South Dock
Apartments on Ringsend Rd for the first leg of our trip. We dealt with Louise with our booking who was very accommodating when our flight from London to Dublin was delayed. They require you to call when you arrive in Dublin and when you're about 10 minutes away. That's a bit of a hassle, especially since our cell phones didn't work over seas so we had to use pay phones which were fussy with our credit cards. So that was a pain, and expensive. When we arrived at the apartments the duty manager was there waiting for us and was very friendly. He helped us with our bags and showed us how the key cards work and showed us our room. He also showed us how to adjust the heat in the rooms. The best thing about our apartment (we rented a two bedroom apartment) was the bathroom floors were warm! So nice! He recommended bus routes and told us about the texaco that's nearby. However, that's only a little convenience store. There's a market west of the apartments (just before the bridge before the apartments) called Fresh. It's expensive but it's the closest. I recommend doing your grocery shopping at Dunnes, they are all over the city, but they are alot cheaper. City centre is a 15-20 minute walk from the apartments, and Connolly station is a 15 minute walk north of the apartments, super easy to get to. There were a few issues with our apartment, our phone in the apartment did not work, and the machine to scan the key cards for the main door and the second door were broken, so we were unable to call them to tell them. The bathtub in the second bathroom had a huge leak in it. It leaked a huge puddle on the floor. Also, the oven in our apartment looked like it had never been cleaned, we turned it on thinking it would be clean, opened it, and a ton of smoke came billowing out. Not impressed with that at all. Another downside is you have to buy your own dish washer detergent, and laundry detergent. The washer/dryer takes FOREVER to wash and dry anything. That's another downer. There is no salt or pepper in the apartments either, so we had taken some from a fast food place one evening. When we had returned to the apartment and were putting things away in one of the cupboards, there were salt and pepper packets in there from the person before us, they had the same idea we did. Overall, it's a good place, but it would be alot better if it was maintained.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMBullock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I stayed there with my boyfriend's family during 3 nights and I must say that everything was perfect. At the begining I was worried because the house is located just in front of the railway, but everything is prepared to avoid the noise as much as possible. Besides, the train stopps working at 23:30h, so there's silence at night. Ballbridge (where the house is located) is a residential neighborhood and is full of houses and green areas.

The house has 2 floors and a roofterrace (that we couldn't use because it was freezing). The highest floor has a living room with 2 sofas, a television and an electric fireplace.
The lowest floor has three bedrooms (two with double bed and one with twin beds), the kitchen, a dinning area and two bathrooms (one ensuite).

It is very close to the Lansdowne Road DART station and in 5 minutes you are in Pearse Street, the city center.

The only thing is that the water deposit was a bit noisy and that we couldn't close the door when we were inside the house, we just could close a security fence.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MargaCV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I really enjoyed staying at this apartment. The location was perfect as we were over for the 6 Nations Rugby and the stadium was only a 5-10 minute walk from the apartment.

Check in wasn't available until 2pm and even though I requested an early check in because the game started at 3pm they couldn't say either way and said I just had to call on the day. Luckily for us the apartment was ready from 12.30pm, was just a little inconvenient not to have been able to confirm this till the day.

Check out was also very early at 10am which I think is the earliest I've ever had to check out of an apartment/hotel.

The TV didn't work either.

On the plus side thought...

the apartment itself was lovely. The kitchen area and living space was great for the two uf us and sleep wise we didn't have any noise. The bathroom had a bath and shower and was really clean.

I would stay here again but would probably consider other places first due to the check in/check out times.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yourhome53, Manager at Your Home from Home - Southdock, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Niki,

Many thanks for your review of our South Dock apartments. We appreciate your nice comments about our apartments.
Regarding arrival times, our check in times like many hotels are after 2pm, if guests are arriving before this time we do our best to accommodate them but sometime are unable to inform the guest of this in advance due to cleaning of the apartments and late check outs. If we are unable to give access we are more than happy to store your bags and give you access later in the day, particularly as you were going to the match. I'm sure our reservation team would have informed you of this in advance.
In relation to the doors in the apartments, these are fire doors and are mandatory in all newly built apartments in Ireland, they need to have a spring mechanism built in to close for this purpose.
You would have been given the duty managers contact details on check in and he would have been more than happy to look at your tv whilst you were at the match in order to fix it for your return.
Regardless, thank you for your comments, they are most useful in order to continually provide a great service to our customers going forward. Hopefully you will stay with us again in the future, perhaps on a day when Ireland mange to win the match!

Kind Regards

Donal Mc Ging

Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely perfect stay, superbly placed for Dublin City Centre (20 mins walk), Aviva Stadium (10 mins walk). The apartments were of an excellent standard, clean and tidy, queen size beds and very well equipped. Hair dryer, iron, ironing board, tea/coffee and toiletries all provided. Excellent stay and would certainly come back if the price is equivalent. Of course the first English win for 10 years in Ireland helped.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank RObbo60_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed at the Southdock apartments for two nights and we had a great experience. It was our first time using Southdock apartments and it was clean and warm. It is certainly your home away from home and we will stay there again. It is perfect if you are attending a concert in the O2 as it is only a ten minute walk.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XJR1300_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,677 reviews
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#71 of 150 in Dublin
1,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#35 of 150 in Dublin
2,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Your Home from Home - Southdock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Your Home from Home - Southdock

Address: Ringsend Road, Dublin Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 126 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Price Range: $152 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Your Home from Home - Southdock 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Your Home from Home - Southdock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Your Home From Home - Southdock Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing