We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Your Home from Home - Southdock
Ranked #20 of 106 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I really enjoyed staying at this apartment. The location was perfect as we were over for the 6 Nations Rugby and the stadium was only a 5-10 minute walk from the apartment.

Check in wasn't available until 2pm and even though I requested an early check in because the game started at 3pm they couldn't say either way and said I just had to call on the day. Luckily for us the apartment was ready from 12.30pm, was just a little inconvenient not to have been able to confirm this till the day.

Check out was also very early at 10am which I think is the earliest I've ever had to check out of an apartment/hotel.

The TV didn't work either.

On the plus side thought...

the apartment itself was lovely. The kitchen area and living space was great for the two uf us and sleep wise we didn't have any noise. The bathroom had a bath and shower and was really clean.

I would stay here again but would probably consider other places first due to the check in/check out times.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NikiHindmarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yourhome53, Manager at Your Home from Home - Southdock, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Niki,

Many thanks for your review of our South Dock apartments. We appreciate your nice comments about our apartments.
Regarding arrival times, our check in times like many hotels are after 2pm, if guests are arriving before this time we do our best to accommodate them but sometime are unable to inform the guest of this in advance due to cleaning of the apartments and late check outs. If we are unable to give access we are more than happy to store your bags and give you access later in the day, particularly as you were going to the match. I'm sure our reservation team would have informed you of this in advance.
In relation to the doors in the apartments, these are fire doors and are mandatory in all newly built apartments in Ireland, they need to have a spring mechanism built in to close for this purpose.
You would have been given the duty managers contact details on check in and he would have been more than happy to look at your tv whilst you were at the match in order to fix it for your return.
Regardless, thank you for your comments, they are most useful in order to continually provide a great service to our customers going forward. Hopefully you will stay with us again in the future, perhaps on a day when Ireland mange to win the match!

Kind Regards

Donal Mc Ging

Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    36
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
36
18
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
359 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely perfect stay, superbly placed for Dublin City Centre (20 mins walk), Aviva Stadium (10 mins walk). The apartments were of an excellent standard, clean and tidy, queen size beds and very well equipped. Hair dryer, iron, ironing board, tea/coffee and toiletries all provided. Excellent stay and would certainly come back if the price is equivalent. Of course the first English win for 10 years in Ireland helped.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank RObbo60_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed at the Southdock apartments for two nights and we had a great experience. It was our first time using Southdock apartments and it was clean and warm. It is certainly your home away from home and we will stay there again. It is perfect if you are attending a concert in the O2 as it is only a ten minute walk.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XJR1300_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stayed here with friends so much more practical than a hotel. Appartment was clean and well maintained.
Kitchen was ok - no trays or bowls that could be used in the oven so unable to use. Other than that great being able to store drinks in the fridge, make a cuppa and make snacks.
Bedrooms small but great - for sleeping given that you have a living space
Appartments no in the city centre but public transport was close at hand and if you choose to walk takes 25-30 minutes to walk.
Would defiantly use again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megg092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Myself and friends booked an apartment for a rugby weekend in Dublin, and were given a 2 bedroom apartment on South Dock.

Clean, spacious, comfortable, everything you could wish for really, and a lot cheaper than a hotel of similar quality would have been too. Will definitely use again when in Dublin.

Excellent location, 15-20 minutes walk from the Aviva Stadium and Royal Dublin Showgrounds. Staff incredibly helpful when called upon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian_lockyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Your Home Away from Home at South Dock exceeded expectations. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and extremely spacious including two bedrooms, two bathrooms (including toiletries), living room, full kitchen equipped with dishwasher, clothes washer, fridge, stove, kettle, cookware, dishes, and utensils. Only downside was that it was extra for internet and phone. Also, if you don't have a cell phone, it can be challenging to meet up to get the keys for the apartment. However, once that's all sorted out, everything just falls into place very nicely! I would certainly stay at this place again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M3Lbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment in late August, 2 adult couples and 2 kids. Much cheaper option than hotels for us, great location. The apartments are incredibly clean, simple but well appointed with the basics. Outstanding security. Easy access to the bus system and a reasonable walk for fit people to City Centre. Excellent location for Aviva Stadium The managers are gracious. They should provide better directions if driving there as we had a hard time finding it (Simply providing a GPS address would be helpful). The major downside was the charge for Wifi, and only one computer could be logged on at a time. We had to buy two internet packages at 39 Euro each for 4 days which we felt was a ripoff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dulacdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.5 mi away
Maldron Hotel Pearse Street
0.5 mi away
Ferryman Hotel
Ferryman Hotel
#96 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#39 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,950 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Shipwright Guesthouse
The Shipwright Guesthouse
#82 of 150 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
1.0 mi away
O'Donoghue's
O'Donoghue's
#29 of 150 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Your Home from Home - Southdock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Your Home from Home - Southdock

Property: Your Home from Home - Southdock
Address: Ringsend Road, Dublin Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 106 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Your Home from Home - Southdock 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Your Home from Home - Southdock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Your Home From Home - Southdock Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing