We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Your Home from Home - Southdock
Ranked #24 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Washington, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Never again!”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Having previously stayed in the Spencer Dock Property, South Dock is a real disappointment. 'Luxury' this is NOT. From the dirty threadbare carpet in reception, to the dark, dingy, tired apartment - the place is a neglected eyesore. The (cheap) rug was torn, the furniture is old and battered. Light fittings are filled with dead bugs. Towels were old and grey. This is accommodation for backpackers and hen/stag parties, certainly not for anyone looking for comfort.
The one redeeming feature was the manager. Maurice was extremely helpful and tried to make the best of a bad situation.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PatriciaW506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Your Home from Home - Southdock, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Dear Patricia,

Thank you for your comments above. I have mailed you separately and await your reply. As you stayed with us before and were conversing with us via email regularly I would have hope you might have given us a chance to remedy your concerns during your stay.
We do not accept Stags and Hen parties in any of our apartments and if these groups manage to book on line we for the most part refuse to provide the accommodation on arrival.
We provide accommodation mainly for the corporate sector, mainly from the Dublin 1,2 and 4 areas, and we have very good feedback from these companies many of them are Fortune 500 companies.
I will agree that there is ongoing maintenance necessary in apartments, we have a complete repainting programme about to commence at South Dock and if we have issues where a customer is unhappy with the cleanliness of a unit (which is rare) we would immediately ask to be shown the apartment in question, and unhesitatingly completely re clean that unit. We would also talk to the staff member who was responsible for the cleaning of the unit also.
Like I mentioned above, I would really appreciate a response so that we can discuss your experience further.
Thank you in advance

Donal Mc Ging
Sales and Operations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    36
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
36
18
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom "luxury" apartment at South dock . The apartment was ok....but far from luxurious. Nice bathrooms I suppose (albeit small), but the furnishings were cheap and old and the linen was horrible...grey and smelly. It was nothing like the photos - no cushions, no throws on the beds and a very poorly equipped kitchen (not even a fry pan).
They supplied a filthy, broken high chair that was useless, and a broken cot with no mattress...say no more!
The welcome on arrival would be more accurately described as an "unwelcome". The very terse manager insisted we ring an hour before arrival ( as well as ring to advise our arrival time the day before) which we did, but there was still no one there to let us in. Not much fun waiting around for ages in the pouring rain after a very long journey! Overall the tone of the manager, and the way our booking was handled was appalling...so we wouldn't go back .
The apartment is ok, location ok (but you'll find much nicer places in Dublin ) but the service was so bad-therefore not recommended...there are better options around.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AngelaDickens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Your Home from Home - Southdock, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Dear Angela,

I'm very disappointed to hear of your experience posted here.
To answer a couple of your points-
We don't provide throws and cushions in our units for uniformity purposes, but all our linen and towels are laundered by a reputable company that supplies many hotels in Ireland. If a guest has an issue with these we would like to know immediately and we can contact this supplier.
In relation to the high chair, I sincerely apologise, this is not acceptable, with the cot it is the norm for our housekeeping to set this up with a sheet for arriving guests, if this was not set up I would like to know also. Our cots are standard travel cots that have the wrap around mattress that slot into the base of the cot when set up. We don't provide a separate mattress with these cots due to health and safety but are happy to proved extra linen to bulk up the bases of the cots on request.
As regards arrival times, due to the fact that we have a number of different apartment locations, we need to ascertain when guests are arriving in advance and also we ask that they call us 10 minutes before arriving at the given location. If the duty manager is occupied at another location it is possible that a guest might have to wait a short while before we get to them. This is not the norm as we try to have our guests met as soon as possible and with the weather poor on the day of your arrival, I would say it was unfortunate that you had to wait in bad weather.
Could I ask that you contact me on donal@yourhomefromhome.com to discuss your experience further as we appreciate all feedback both positive and negative. Also you might let me know the name your booking was made under as we don't have it registered as Dickens. thank you and looking forward to hearing from you.

Donal Mc Ging

Sales and Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 12, 2012

I am currently staying here and previously stayed with another apartment under your home from home in a different location. Their apartments all have different characters and south dock is definitely a modern apartment with very sleek finishes. No complaints about anything and everything is within quick access...the DART, supermart, business districts and even the scenic river/waters where I can sit on the docks to read or sit in a cafe/restaurant to chill.

Highly recommend and the folks who manage or welcome you are also very friendly and helpful. Great job guys!

Room Tip: If you could pick a room that faces the water, you would have a fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kellyliao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donegal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 21, 2012

I would highly recommend these apartments. we had two small children with us and the apartments are ideal for a weekend away very spacious ,very clean and modern, with safe underground parking they are so close to bord gais energy theatre were we were attending Disney live rockin road show we will definately stay here again!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glendalove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Our stay was in the perfect modern furnished apartment with all the amenities u could need for a short or long stay.
Walking distance to the restaurants, grand canal, n a short trip to temple bar area. The management are lovely and were more than accommodating for us and showed us every near to see n do.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrookeCav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Good size apartment with two bedrooms, two bathrooms, a sitting room and a large balcony (facing a railway, but anyway) says it all. Value for money is good and I would recommend for families or longstays, but for a short city break it is a bit too far from the sights for my taste. When that is said the trainstation is literally in eyesight of the apartment and taxis are relatively cheap (15-20 Euro to city center). One thing missing though - the advertised Faxmaschine which we were looking forward to remonaisse about.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bloklyset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gomel, Belarus
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

I had a business trip to Dublin with my colleagues in November 2011. We stayed there one week. Apartment was clean and comfy. I stayed on the 4 floor. There were 2 bedrooms (one with bathroom (shower), another one without it), one big bathroom with bathtub in corridor, large corridor, parlor with kitchen and balcony. Nice view from windows. Around 10 min walking to Grand Canal Dock.
There was a kitchen with fridge, toaster, laundry washer, kettle, dishwashing machine, the dishes, etc.
In general good impression and I would definitely recommend this apartments regardless if you have trip for business or pleasure, alone or with family/friends.

Only one thing confused a bit: there was no wifi. There is socket for internet cable in each room: in parlor and in bedrooms. When I tried to use it in parlor the cable was short and it was a question where to place notebook.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Alena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.4 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,026 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
0.6 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Maldron Hotel Pearse Street
0.9 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,193 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Your Home from Home - Southdock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Your Home from Home - Southdock

Property: Your Home from Home - Southdock
Address: Ringsend Road, Dublin Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Your Home from Home - Southdock 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Your Home from Home - Southdock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Your Home From Home - Southdock Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing