We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Location”

Abrae Court Guesthouse
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Abrae Court Guesthouse
Ranked #110 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed September 17, 2013

If you are looking for a place to sleep it's ok. Upon arrival, Monica informed us the credit card machine was broken and we would have to pay in cash. Would like to have known in advance. It's the tiniest room I've ever stayed in. The shower has no water pressure and the toilet was difficult to flush. The first night, someone left the emergency door open and it started banging in the wind about 5am.,waking us up. I finally got up and went down the hall to shut the door. The rooms are clean but, a bit rundown. Breakfast was good for the price but, definitely not as pictured in the brochure.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 526Grammy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 144 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed June 2012 for 2 nights for the Westlife Farewell Tour (Friday 22nd to Sunday 24th) on Trivago it's advertised as being in the Centre of Dublin (it's not) on arrival we were asked for payment before being shown to a small twin room, the rooms are very old fashioned but clean, didn't pay for breakfast or use the living room as it was a base while we explored Dublin & watched Westlife. The number 15 bus stop is near to the b&b & takes about 25 mins to get into Dublin or a taxi for€7. Rathgar has some lovely little shops & restaurants but sadly the b&b is rather far but if you don't mind being out the way & are on a budget its for you but i won't return however DUBLIN is FAB & can't wait to return :-)  

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jod_J86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at Abrae Court Guesthouse and had a WONDERFUL experience. Nina and Monica (sp?) were wonderful hosts! They were very accommodating with excellent service and assistance. We keep kosher and they offered a kosher breakfast option which really helped our trip. The room was nice and the bed comfortable. Everything worked rather well (we did have a slight issue with the hot water in the bathroom sink, but it did not detract from our stay). Though the rooms are a bit small, it didn't present a problem either. The living room area is a nice place to sit and relax as well. Overall this is an excellent place to stay if you need to be in Rathgar. There is a VERY convenient bus stop to bring you right into the Temple Bar area of Dublin... only about 10-15 minute ride away. I'd stay here again and certainly can recommend it to my friends and associates.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DCL613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I have only praise for this lovely, warm guesthouse. Nina, who took over management around 3 years ago, and Monica, are a wonderful combination and made us feel so at home and welcome, in their own gentle way, without being at all obtrusive. The guesthouse is a short bus trip from the centre of Dublin, the prices were very fair, the best we had in Ireland, and Nina and Monica felt like old friends within minutes. The guesthouse is clean and friendly with a lovely lounge for guests, the beds were very comfortable and the street was quiet. We slept so well. As observant Jews staying in Dublin over the Jewish Sabbath (we chose the guest house because of its proximity to the Synagogue and good reports on Trip Advisor), it was a pleasure to discover that Nina and Monica knew what to do to make our stay pleasant, like leaving an urn with hot water and tea, coffee and milk (This in addition to the tea and coffee and kettle in the rooms). Because we cannot eat a traditional Irish breakfast due to dietary limitations, Nina offered us the option of a kosher breakfast for E6.50 each, which we enjoyed. I cannot fault this lovely place. If we're ever back in Dublin, without a doubt, we'll stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LeonieIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have no issues with the place itself BUT it is hard to find if you are traveling by car. The good news is that once you get there, a bus stop is but a few yards (meters) away, and the bus drivers are very friendly and helpful. The heart of Dublin is only about 15 minutes away.
The room was older and smaller than some of we have used, but it was clean, comfortable, and the staff was friendly. I would go back there - if I can find it (again).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed here in may as part of a big family gathering for my husband's granny's birthday. We booked about seven rooms and the process was a bit ridiculous. My mother and aunts in law visited and booked in person on a trip home. We each confirmed our rooms by phone as requested. When my uncle in law called to confirm in April and there was utter confusion with our bookings. Apparently they have different systems (paper book) that don't always tally. Anyway, the ladies were really nice and it was all sorted.

When we arrived we found that some of us had much nicer rooms than others. Ours was nice but the hot water was non existent. We asked for it to be fixed but it didn't really work. But the room was clean and tidy. Everyone else had lots of hot water so we were unlucky.

The breakfast was amazing, really delicious, lots of choice and nothing was too much trouble. It was a birthday breakfast for granny and we had the whole dining room to ourselves with no rushing and all the service we needed. Delicious.

Overall, we would stay again due to convenient family location and good food, but be more specific about which room when booking.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Natalie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I've stayed here on 2 occasions, and can thoroughly recommend this hotel...very friendly and family run. The rooms are well appointed with very comfortable beds.

This hotel is located in a quiet residential area of South Dublin and is a short distance of about 20 minutes by a frequent bus service to the city centre. Off-street parking is available on a first come first served availability as spaces are limited, however there is ample on street Pay and Display parking adjacent. There is a very spacious drawing room on the hall level where you can relax to read or just chill out.

Breakfast is available in a dining area off the ground floor. The staff are very obliging and if asked, can provide food to meet your dietary requirements, e.g. kosher. For dining out, there are several local restaurants within easy walking distance. Also lots of local shops, a bank with ATM, and pubs.

Room Tip: Free Wi-Fi available, request password.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maurice2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Croke Park
#6 of 151 in Dublin
4,655 reviews
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#71 of 151 in Dublin
1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#32 of 151 in Dublin
2,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abrae Court Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abrae Court Guesthouse

Address: 9 Zion Road, Rathgar, Dublin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Rathfarnham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Hotel Class:3 star — Abrae Court Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Abrae Court Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing