We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“EXCELLENT B&B in Dublin/Rathgar area” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abrae Court Guesthouse

Abrae Court Guesthouse
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Abrae Court Guesthouse
Ranked #101 of 149 Hotels in Dublin
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT B&B in Dublin/Rathgar area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at Abrae Court Guesthouse and had a WONDERFUL experience. Nina and Monica (sp?) were wonderful hosts! They were very accommodating with excellent service and assistance. We keep kosher and they offered a kosher breakfast option which really helped our trip. The room was nice and the bed comfortable. Everything worked rather well (we did have a slight issue with the hot water in the bathroom sink, but it did not detract from our stay). Though the rooms are a bit small, it didn't present a problem either. The living room area is a nice place to sit and relax as well. Overall this is an excellent place to stay if you need to be in Rathgar. There is a VERY convenient bus stop to bring you right into the Temple Bar area of Dublin... only about 10-15 minute ride away. I'd stay here again and certainly can recommend it to my friends and associates.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DCL613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    57
    22
    9
    5
See reviews for
34
52
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashkelon, Israel
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

I have only praise for this lovely, warm guesthouse. Nina, who took over management around 3 years ago, and Monica, are a wonderful combination and made us feel so at home and welcome, in their own gentle way, without being at all obtrusive. The guesthouse is a short bus trip from the centre of Dublin, the prices were very fair, the best we had in Ireland, and Nina and Monica felt like old friends within minutes. The guesthouse is clean and friendly with a lovely lounge for guests, the beds were very comfortable and the street was quiet. We slept so well. As observant Jews staying in Dublin over the Jewish Sabbath (we chose the guest house because of its proximity to the Synagogue and good reports on Trip Advisor), it was a pleasure to discover that Nina and Monica knew what to do to make our stay pleasant, like leaving an urn with hot water and tea, coffee and milk (This in addition to the tea and coffee and kettle in the rooms). Because we cannot eat a traditional Irish breakfast due to dietary limitations, Nina offered us the option of a kosher breakfast for E6.50 each, which we enjoyed. I cannot fault this lovely place. If we're ever back in Dublin, without a doubt, we'll stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeonieIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have no issues with the place itself BUT it is hard to find if you are traveling by car. The good news is that once you get there, a bus stop is but a few yards (meters) away, and the bus drivers are very friendly and helpful. The heart of Dublin is only about 15 minutes away.
The room was older and smaller than some of we have used, but it was clean, comfortable, and the staff was friendly. I would go back there - if I can find it (again).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in may as part of a big family gathering for my husband's granny's birthday. We booked about seven rooms and the process was a bit ridiculous. My mother and aunts in law visited and booked in person on a trip home. We each confirmed our rooms by phone as requested. When my uncle in law called to confirm in April and there was utter confusion with our bookings. Apparently they have different systems (paper book) that don't always tally. Anyway, the ladies were really nice and it was all sorted.

When we arrived we found that some of us had much nicer rooms than others. Ours was nice but the hot water was non existent. We asked for it to be fixed but it didn't really work. But the room was clean and tidy. Everyone else had lots of hot water so we were unlucky.

The breakfast was amazing, really delicious, lots of choice and nothing was too much trouble. It was a birthday breakfast for granny and we had the whole dining room to ourselves with no rushing and all the service we needed. Delicious.

Overall, we would stay again due to convenient family location and good food, but be more specific about which room when booking.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I've stayed here on 2 occasions, and can thoroughly recommend this hotel...very friendly and family run. The rooms are well appointed with very comfortable beds.

This hotel is located in a quiet residential area of South Dublin and is a short distance of about 20 minutes by a frequent bus service to the city centre. Off-street parking is available on a first come first served availability as spaces are limited, however there is ample on street Pay and Display parking adjacent. There is a very spacious drawing room on the hall level where you can relax to read or just chill out.

Breakfast is available in a dining area off the ground floor. The staff are very obliging and if asked, can provide food to meet your dietary requirements, e.g. kosher. For dining out, there are several local restaurants within easy walking distance. Also lots of local shops, a bank with ATM, and pubs.

Room Tip: Free Wi-Fi available, request password.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maurice2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

We wanted to stay close to my elderly parents - who are too old to cope with us and the four kids. Abrae came up as perfectly situated. Although it was strange staying in a hotel in the neighbourhood where I grew up, Nina and Monica made us feel so much at home. Full marks for the cooked Irish breakfast, the coffee refills and the complementary scones! And for letting us keep our little dog (Nina took pity on us when she saw him and we were just about to leave him with my sisters). Free wifi and comfortable rooms, too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John_O_13_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights. The staff were really nice, helpful and friendly. The house was beautiful but definitely in need of a lot of refurbishment. Room clean but very old fashioned decor. Very quiet area so I had a great sleep. Lovely location in Rathgar. Not very near town so you would need to get a taxi or bus.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdpreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Kilmainham
BEST WESTERN Sheldon Park Hotel
West County Hotel
#78 of 149 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Maples House Hotel
#96 of 149 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tara Towers Hotel
#129 of 149 in Dublin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abrae Court Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abrae Court Guesthouse

Property: Abrae Court Guesthouse
Address: 9 Zion Road, Rathgar, Dublin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Rathfarnham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 149 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Abrae Court Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Abrae Court Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing