We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Our Trip to Dublin” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Leesonbridge Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Leesonbridge Guesthouse
Ranked #8 of 160 Dublin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
South Hadley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Our Trip to Dublin”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We travel to Ireland each year for our anniversary. This year we stayed the entire week in Dublin at Leeson Bridge Guesthouse. The accommodations were charming. The entire staff minus one, was extremely friendly and helpful. In fact they were more than helpful in giving directions, modes of transportation recommendations and local dining referrals. I'll let the minus one go, not worth the comment. Especially helpful were Mary and a young lady that had desk duty on weekends. I should have gotten her name since she was extremely friendly and knowledgeable. The food was excellent and the ladies who prepared and kept the buffet stocked were the best.

There are however a few things you should be aware of. The basement room 105 can be quite noisy from the room/s above. Simple walking and door slamming can be heard at night as well as hearing water draining in the wall behind the beds.. While WiFi is advertised, it was non existent in the room we occupied. We had to go to the communal lounge whenever we wanted to go on line. The room closes at 9 P.M. so that could be a bit inconvenient. The lounge could use a an update. It isn't as comfortable as one would expect. It was the path to a Real Estate office. That didn't cause much of a problem but you could sometimes hear telephone calls coming from the office as you did your email, watched TV. It was also used as luggage storage for those coming or going that day.

We would leave each morning and return each afternoon around 3 PM. A number of days our room hadn't been made up as yet and we had to wait in the lounge while the room was being done. I guess not a big thing but there really aren't that many rooms that this should happen. We stayed for 7 days and they could see us coming and going so our return should not have been a surprise. Our room was never vacuumed our entire stay yet we could hear vacuums running in other rooms.

The area in Dublin is very nice. It is situated along a canal and it's a treat to watch the barges go from one level to another in a Panama Canal style set of locks raising the barge to a different level.

We don't want this to sound like a negative review. The items mentioned kept us from giving
four or five star rating. We think it has the potential to be much better with just a little more attention to detail.

Room Tip: There is a lift so there is no reason to stay in the basement room unless there is nothing else avai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klfitzpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    326
    114
    42
    36
See reviews for
119
412
71
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great location, lovely and helpful staff but unfortunatly we landed ourselves in a damp basement room with no natural light and a very suspiscious wet patch on the floor by the bed accompanied by an 'odd' smell!

When asked for another room however the lovely lady on the front desk was extremely understanding and empathetic and offered to book us into a different hotel because they had no alternative rooms available!

I am sure the other rooms were FAR nicer than this one - JUST MAKE SURE NOT TO BOOK ECOMONY VIA LATEROOMS.COM!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Francesca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We have just returned from Dublin. Had a great time. The guesthouse is well located. It's a lovely 15 minute walk, through St Stephens Green to Grafton Street and the shops. It's close to some good pubs and a few nice eating places too.
As our purpose was to attend the Heineken Cup Final the guesthouse was located at the right end of the city and was a lovely 15-20 minute walk.
This was our second visit to Dublin and the second time we stayed here - we must have liked it enough first time round and we weren't disappointed the second time round.
They serve a nice breakfast with plenty of choice to satisfy most people.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Homburg, Germany
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

I stayed here with my wife, while my colleagues stayed in the Burlington. Room at the Leeson Bridge was "small but big enough". Room was very clean.
Breakfast was one of the best Irish Breakfasts I ever had - everything was available in plenty and good quality.

Room Tip: Get a room on 1st floor or higher up
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GarfGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Being on the Grand Canal was a plus as it has been cleaned and is very attractrive nature way. Hotel people are extremely accomadating and interested in your good stay. Plus being within 5 minutes walk to Grafton Street or 10 minutes to Docks area makes this a neat site to spend in Dublin. Rooms are not luxuerious but the prices are also not of that scale. Small but adequate for me.

Room Tip: Has a lift but can ask for a room viewing the Grand Canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank windyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

This guesthouse is in a lovely spot on a corner at Leeson Street Bridge. There is a lock on the canal and you can watch the boats going up and down the canal which is an extra bonus! We stayed in an apartment with it's own kitchen facilities which would be handy if you were staying for a longer length of time. Bathroom was a bit small and it was a wet room which I don't like but it was fine. Would be helpful if they gave you a squeeze mop to get rid of all the water! The room was clean but dated - the chairs were old and broken. Perfect location for a short 10 min walk to St Stephens Green and the centre of town. The Aircoach bus from the airport stops on Lower and Upper Leeson Street and the bus back to the airport stops right outside the door! The staff are friendly and helpful and they even assisted with online check in and printed boarding passes. Breakfast is buffet style and plenty on offer to set you up for the day. We paid €102 pn for B&B and for a family of 3 I think we got value for money!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the canal will be noisy because of the traffic so you need to decide how to balanc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ls3370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Booked the triple room which had plenty of room for the three single beds. Very helpful, friendly staff who looked after our luggage both before and after we checked out. Breakfast was delicious and a great range. Only 5-10 min walk to centre of Dublin. Only downside was that our room felt a little dated but didn't mind due to the great value

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellenf0508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#14 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 150 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,176 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,592 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#40 of 150 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leesonbridge Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leesonbridge Guesthouse

Property: Leesonbridge Guesthouse
Address: 1 Upper Leeson Street | Dublin 4, Dublin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Leesonbridge Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We pride ourselves on offering affordable accommodation in our comfortable rooms. We offer free parking in our secure on-site car park-a real bonus in Dublin city centre! We are within walking distance of Dublin's many sightseeing attractions, business locations and sports stadiums. You can easily sample the vibrant nightlife and then come home to relax in our calm guesthouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Leesonbridge Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leeson Bridge Guesthouse Hotel Dublin
Leeson Bridge Hotel
Leeson Bridge Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing