We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location And Value For Money”
Review of Abbey Court

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Abbey Court
Ranked #8 of 126 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at this hostel. I stayed in the large female dorm and it was clean and comfortable. Excellent location, great free breakfast and under bed cages to store things. Free wifi and computers as well. However the one thing I was unimpressed with was the state of the kitchen a good portion of the time. Multiple burners weren't working and many guests left the area in disarray.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaraP9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

594 - 600 of 1,115 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stood 4 nights in one of the apartments (we were 3, but it was up to 4 people). It was clean, quiet, cozy, with a double bedroom (very comfortable), a fully equipped kitchen, TV, sofa, bathroom, heating and 2 foldable beds. The staff at the reception was very friendly, kind and helpful. We had a problem with the light of the bathroom and they fixed it the day after. The only cons: there's no wifi in the apartments and the checkout is at 10.30 AM.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank KiwiMiette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We only stayed here one night, but the facilities were good, the location was excellent and the staff were helpful (although one of the staff members was really not very attentive, which was a bit frustrating). However, on the whole it was fine.
For a one night trip, it was good and i would recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sian_E_T_1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

The place is very well facilitated, complete with a game room, computer room and even a hammock room! The rooms themselves are usually very clean and the staff working there are very helpful! The only complain I have is its Wi-Fi, which can be good or bad depending on where you are. Still, I highly recommend it to travellers and people looking for a cheap place to stay for a few nights.

Room Tip: Be sure to rent a lock so that you can keep your valuables safe in the lockers supplied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eamon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

i chose this hostel because it was central, the lockers were free and I could leave my luggage on the check out day. I wasn't disappointed, except for the fact that the cages underneath the beds couldn't be safely locked as it was said they would, so they were almost useless. However, there are some small lockers in the common area that can be used. Room and bathroom small and old;., matresses, sheets and duvet too (clean?), not the best. But great location, very friendly and helpful staff, good value for money and, since the hostel is big, easy to find accomodation. I loved the fresh pineapple and oranges in the morning.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valeria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

I stayed in abbey court yesterday and I loved it, I was in a 24 mixed dorm it was very clean and spacious
you get cages under your bunk that you can lock which is great so that your belonging are safe. FREE WIFI was available, I was really happy about that and their was also a computer room you could use for free
Abbey court in right in the Centre of Dublin, a few minutes walk to go shopping, get food, or a pub
The hammock room is cool too although I advise not to get in one if your drunk haha
The staff were very friendly and helpful
A hostel pub crawl is also a must you can buy tickets from reception and it's a great night out in Dublin
Never tried the breakfast though because we woke up too late but didn't really mind
Met a lot of lovely people also

Overall abbey court would be my first choice of a place to stay if I were ever in Dublin again, it's very cheap to stay in so it's well worth the money for all you get

Great place to stay and great place to meet a lot of new people

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eimaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

My room was a 12 bed mixed dorm, which for my first stay wasn't that great a plan. The bathrooms had hot water and were functional. However the hostel had a bit of an institutional feel in the bigger dorms and the bathrooms.
Hammock room was cool, and downstairs had plenty of space in the lounge and dining areas.
The staff weren't terribly helpful and when I arrived late on my first night it took a while for me to convince staff to unlock the courtyard so I could get to the luggage room.
The room was also quite cold.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Annastasia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#70 of 150 in Dublin
1,436 reviews
Jacobs Inn Hostel
#2 of 126 in Dublin
2,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Isaacs Hostel
#6 of 126 in Dublin
2,201 reviews
Sky Backpackers
#9 of 126 in Dublin
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Court

Address: 29 Bachelor's Walk, Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 126 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Price Range: $20 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Abbey Court 2*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Court hostel and Apartments are located in the very centre of Dublin City, just at O'Connell Bridge and within walking distance of all the popular city attractions. It is a family-run business and we pride ourselves in the warmth of our welcome. With private rooms and dormitories ranging from four to twenty-four beds, we cater for lone travelers, couples, groups of friends and larger group bookings. Included in your stay is free breakfast, free skype landline calls and free WIFI through out. There is always something to do as there is a games room, cinema room, hammock room, large common area and plenty more. Staff are available 24 hours for any advice needed and there is no curfew. Its cleanliness, great friendly vibe, location and low prices make it the best hostel in Dublin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Abbey Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Court Dublin
Abbey Court Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing