We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central location with easy access to airport and the city”
Review of Abbey Court

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Abbey Court
Ranked #8 of 106 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Tucson
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Central location with easy access to airport and the city”
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Overall, worth the price. Not the cleanest but certainly not the most unkempt place I've stayed in either. Staff was nice and helpful. Stayed in the 12 bed female room. Had a bathroom ensuite which was worth it. Very centrally located to nearly all of the major tourist attractions. Also very close to the major pickup sites for the airport bus and nearly all tours. Wi-Fi does not work in the bedrooms so it was hard to plan things for the next day from the convenience of my room. All in all, for the price, it was definitely worthwhile.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank NikeJav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    324
    190
    75
    77
See reviews for
47
136
247
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vaasa, Finland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Our group of five booked two private 4-bed rooms with toilet + shower ensuite. The rooms were very small with only the beds and a minimal drawer, but clean, and breakfast included (toast and jam, coffee/tea, cereals, fruits). No luxury anywhere, but that is not to be expected from a hostel. We were the only middle aged persons among a lot of young people, and were astonished that there was no noise or trouble of any kind at any time during our stay. Very centrally located, all the main sights are within approx 1 km. Recommended if you don't want to pay high hotel prices only for sleeping.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margit16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
81 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

For my recent trip, I decided to look at hostels, instead of pay a lot for hotel, where I barely spend any time (other than sleeping). I booked a room at Abbey Court for three nights and had overall, a really pleasant experience.

But, I will preface that I booked a private room and was not in a dorm or shared space, so my experience here is only based on that.

My room was really spacious (even for two people) and the bathroom was great. Good shower, small sink, but overall, clean and comfortable. It did face the street so you could hear some street traffic in the mornings, but it wasn't completely disrupting. And because the private rooms are in a separate, but attached part of the hostel, noise from other guests wasn't loud at all, except when suitcases would be dragged across the floor in the mornings, but that's not awful.

Location is great, right across O'Connell Bridge, and before it gets a little shady. Easy access to Temple Bar and all other parts of Dublin, and very walkable and safe at night and early morning.

My only quibble was the staff. Some were very nice and helpful and some were really rude, but you'll find that anywhere.

I would definitely stay here again, but only in a private room as I did before.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Bayjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I stayed at Abbey Court hostel for 10 nights in September with my sister.We had a private room with a double and a single bed,en-suite with a modern shower(room 33).The towels were changed everyday and the room serviced to a high standard.It was well worth paying a little extra for privacy and comfort.
Abbey Court is so central and great to return to after a long day out.The facilities were second-to -none:free internet,a healthy choice of fruit,cereals and toast & good quality jams for breakfast and a large,clean kitchen fully equipted for cooking your own food.
I would have liked some more hooks in the room to hang our clothes on but we managed with some coathangers on the shower rail.
The staff were very helpful and friendly(thanks Bobby!)and stored our luggage safely on our check-out day.
I would rate it 110% and would go back there next time I`m in Dublin.

Room Tip: Room 33 was at the back so quieter,but up 3 flights of stairs.Small window,but fine for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelfanherts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The hostel is located in the middle of Dublin: if you just cross the bridge you are in temple bar and it's a five minute walk from the Spire. I slept there with some friends for one night; we had a 6-bed-room, which was very small, though very clean. Toilets are separates from the showers and there are a lot of them on each floor. The staff is very friendly and we had the chance to leave our bags in the luggage room for the whole day, even after the check-out. I think that it was a bit expensive though.

Room Tip: 6 bed-rooms are quite small, double rooms may be bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lo_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed here last year and it was brilliant, the location was great, the staff was friendly, and we had our own private room with a bathroom for about 10 euros a night!!!! The only negative was we had no view but who really cares we were only there to sleep, I would 100% recommend this hostel!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank victoria f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I started to stay at the Abbey Court on Sunday, 1st of September. ~25 minutes taxi drive from the airport, the hostel is in midtown Dublin 1, on the Bachelor's walk next to the O'Connel-Bridge and -street.
I stayed at dorm 21, which is a 6-bed-room, together with a friend and we where alone in there most the time. As usually in hostels, most people only stay for one night and do not make any trouble, so if you can deal with dorm rooms, Abbey Court is good choise.

There is a lot of free stuff, if you decide to stay at Abbey Court: free Wifi, free breakfast of good quality, free computer terminal, free TV, Smoking area, free to use fridges, free projector room concidered to be a cinema room and a safe room for your baggage.

In general, the hostel is a very nice place to stay, clean as a hostel should be and a nice place to meet people from all around the world. Staff is nice and helpful, too.

But anyway: during my stay, there was a day without wifi, the toilets on the hallway are very tiny and not clean all the time. Additionally, the beds are not as comfortable as I'd wish for (and only 1.9meters long) and the in-room bathrooms are even tinier than the hall ones.

Room Tip: If you get the chance to choose your room, stay away from those with a window to the street (i.e. 11...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Turindo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#40 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,172 reviews
Isaacs Hostel
#6 of 106 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Court

Property: Abbey Court
Address: 29 Bachelor's Walk, Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 106 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Abbey Court 2*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Court hostel and Apartments are located in the very centre of Dublin City, just at O'Connell Bridge and within walking distance of all the popular city attractions. It is a family-run business and we pride ourselves in the warmth of our welcome. With private rooms and dormitories ranging from four to twenty-four beds, we cater for lone travelers, couples, groups of friends and larger group bookings. Included in your stay is free breakfast, free skype landline calls and free WIFI through out. There is always something to do as there is a games room, cinema room, hammock room, large common area and plenty more. Staff are available 24 hours for any advice needed and there is no curfew. Its cleanliness, great friendly vibe, location and low prices make it the best hostel in Dublin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Abbey Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Court Dublin
Abbey Court Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing