We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location, great price!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Glen Guesthouse
Ranked #110 of 149 Dublin B&B and Inns
Panama City Beach, Florida, United States
1 review
“Great hotel, great location, great price!”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We loved this hotel, it is centrally located within walking distance of Temple Bar, Trinity College, restaurants, museums, shops etc. Right across the road from the Glen Guesthouse hotel is bus stop for the airport bus, which is very convenient if you have a lot of luggage. The hotel was very clean, staff friendly, the Irish breakfast was large and very filling AND included in the price. Given the location of the hotel, the price is reasonable. Will definitely stay there again on my next visit to Ireland.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-MT21, Public Relations Manager at The Glen Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Hi Ellie P

Thank you for your kind review of The Glen Guesthouse, we loved having you stay with us and we look forward to your next stay. Please LIKE us on Facebook to stay up to date with special offers and free draws and always BOOK DIRECT on our website for your stay in Dublin.

Regards
Management and Staff, Glen Guesthouse, Dublin City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    103
    121
    55
    38
See reviews for
41
153
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
140 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I think we were lucky to make a booking in Dublin beforehand. This hotel was full on monday evening and I think the others were too. The lady in reception was very helpful, after seeing all our luggage she arranged a new room for us, in lower level. The room was very spacious and everything worked well, including wifi.

The parking house is about 300 meters from the hotel, but during night time you can park free in front of the hotel, until 7 am.

Good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask a room in lower levels, there is no lift in the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank golfaten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ra'anana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The Glen Guesthouse had very nice, clean, comfortable rooms and is centrally located. We were very pleased with the rooms and the cleanliness. The price is definitely reasonable especially since it also includes the standard Irish breakfast, which is very filling.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALKALC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I stayed at this location twice recently on a business trip. The location is about the only positive thing about this hotel. The Airlink bus stop from Dublin airport stops in front of the hotel, and it is within walking distance from popular spots such as Temple Bar, O'Connell Street, Trinity College, St. Patrick Cathedral, and the National Gallery. The hotel itself is very old and run down, the rooms I stayed in had very dirty carpet, poorly patched dents and holes in the wall, shower faucet leaking and wrapped in a cloth etc. Although the rooms were quite large and bathrooms were generally clean, but the overall shape of the hotel is pretty bad. However, the breakfast is decent with toast, egg, bacon, sausage, juice and coffee. Overall I would not recommend this hotel unless location and convenience is your only concern.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Pros:
1. The Airlink bus stop is pretty much right outside the door - very handy!
2. Fairly inexpensive.
3. Irish breakfast in the morning wasn't spectacular but was okay. There was also a choice of 4 cereals as an alternative. No fruit though, which was a pity.
4. Bathroom was clean and the shower was good with excellent water pressure.
5. Beds were comfortable with clean sheets and blankets.
6. Room at the rear of the guesthouse was quiet at night.
7. Staff were all polite.
8. Tea and coffee in the room was a nice touch, which my mum especially appreciated!
9. Excellent location - we walked everywhere for the whole stay.

Cons:
1. Room was mostly clean, however the carpet needed vaccuuming and the whole place could have done with a little more attention.
2. The room had a moth problem - I must have killed about 15 while we were staying there and there was tell-tale evidence of previous occupants' killing sprees on the walls and ceiling as well. I kept finding them in my clothes and in the towels.
3. Our shower screen was broken, actually trapping me in the shower on the last morning!
4. The communal areas were pretty shabby and run down, but this wasn't too much of an issue to us.
5. The extractor fan in the bathroom didn't work, so we (my mum and I) had to keep the bathroom door open when we showered so that we didn't steam up the whole place.
6. The balcony was inaccessible due to the sliding door being unable to slide open. It only opened a fraction, which allowed for fairly poor ventilation of a room that got very warm with the sun on it.
7. On our last evening the water went off and didn't come back on until early the next morning. This was obviously not a regular occurrence, but was an inconvenience to us all the same.

Overall, none of the cons were deal-breakers but this is very definitely a case of getting what you pay for.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emthgypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johns Creek, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Wow, I was pleasantly surprised. for price of $60 this was a great value, ALink from airport stopped right in front making getting to and from airport a breeze,10 euro return. half mile to Temple Bar, .25 miles to DART station, room was clean, bed was comfortable, bathroom was tiled and clean and hot water, breakfast was great Irish breakfast with the baked beans (where'd they get that from?) Rosie was great, dining staff was feiendlty and great. i was in 4th floor walk up, stair carpet was old and frayed and satirways was old and ned paint, but who cares, all else was a real abrgain. room was on busy street with traffice, but hey aren;t most rooms in middle of a big city. not much late night street people and nosies which was great also. If I go again this will be a top choice. Didn;t pay for Ritz, didn;t get Ritz, but no complaints with anything.

Room Tip: convient location and clean with great included breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sailorjim1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

My gf and I stayed here for 1 night after an evening flight arrival on our way to Bray.
Grand location (Airlink bus stop practically in front of the door), good shower, lovely brekkie... but we got the shortest straw roomwise : we'd booked via the internet and were given a room in the basement. Never anyone's favourite place, I would think ;-)
On top of that, the room was right under the entrance hallway, so lots of noise of people coming and going. Thank God we were just here for 1 stopover night, dreadful thought ending up in a basement on a city trip.

I can imagine they wanna use these basement rooms but charging the same amount for them as the other rooms was a bit exaggerated, to say the least.

Staff were friendly, though, and the free pint o' Guinness promo in Ned Keenan's bar next door (with the equally friendly barman) was cool :-)

Room Tip: Avoid the basement ! Rooms 2-3-4 or so...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank wimsterino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Maple Hotel
#132 of 151 in Dublin
500 reviews
O'Shea's Hotel
#84 of 151 in Dublin
306 reviews
North City Centre
Dublin Central Inn
Dublin Central Inn
#79 of 151 in Dublin
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#88 of 151 in Dublin
612 reviews
Durban Residence
#83 of 149 in Dublin
140 reviews
North City Centre
Anchor House Dublin
Anchor House Dublin
#25 of 149 in Dublin
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glen Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glen Guesthouse

Property: The Glen Guesthouse
Address: 84 Lower Gardiner Street | Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Glen Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Glen Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glen Guesthouse Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing